Sunday’s Scavenger Hunt

2 May

The items for Scavenger Hunt Sunday this week are:  alive, movement, starts with T, friends or family, and photographer’s choice.  Without further ado.

The Canada geese in the Back Forty are planning on starting a family.  It’s the first time I’ve actually had one nest back there.  I’m thinking they might be new at this because on top of the log in the wide open along the fence doesn’t seem like the best place to build a nest if you ask me.

Nesting Goose_8038ew

Then again, she has her hubby/gander standing in a tree (starts with T) acting as a decoy.  He was literally up there announcing to all predators that he was there and come get him.  Really.  I’m not sure how this is going to turn out, but we’ll see.

Gander in Tree_8034ew

In another tree, we have Snickers.  I hope this works for movement because he was definitely remembering that down is more difficult than up at this point.

Snickers

Snickers

Jules has not yet fully recovered from meeting seeing the llama.  In fact, she thinks she’s lucky to be alive.  She’s only ventured back out of the house once, and she was panicked and ready to go back in almost immediately.

Jules

Jules

Llenny doesn’t really look that mean, does he?  This one is my photographer’s choice.

Llenny

Llenny

Hopefully, my son is still planning on helping me move Llenny to a bigger space (and hanging out to make sure he doesn’t go through the fence again) in the morning.

I’m also sharing with Bird d’Pot, Camera Critters, and Saturday’s Critters.

 

38 Responses to “Sunday’s Scavenger Hunt”

  1. TexWisGirl May 2, 2015 at 7:39 pm #

    i like the gander at the top of the tree. goofy! 🙂 good lluck with llenny!

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 8:27 am #

      They always look so funny in a tree.

  2. Pat May 2, 2015 at 8:31 pm #

    Brave Father Goose.

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 8:27 am #

      Geese really are amazing with their devotion to family.

  3. Jeanne May 2, 2015 at 9:19 pm #

    Great photos, and story! It’ll be interesting to see how the goose story unfolds! Thanks for sharing. I’m surprised Jules was so frightened of Llenny.

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 8:28 am #

      Jules is not exactly a brave cat when it comes to anything.

  4. Margaret May 3, 2015 at 1:06 am #

    I look forward to hearing if you have goslings later on. Great shots. Hope you get the Llama moved safely

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 8:29 am #

      It should be about three weeks. I have an Embden on a nest that should hatch hers about the same time.

  5. Eileen May 3, 2015 at 3:18 am #

    The goose on the tree top looks rather proud..Jules and Snickers are cute! I all goes well with Llenny.. Thank you for linking up, have a happy day!

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 8:29 am #

      He was up there just squawking away. Silly guy.

  6. Stewart Monckton May 3, 2015 at 6:03 am #

    I do like the shot of Snickers going down the tree – very big feet! We are almost one week into our car owning adventures! We adopted an older cat from the RSPCA and I think my family is a little more crazy than the poor old cat is used to!!

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 8:30 am #

      Snickers is a big guy. Once your kitty adjusts, you’ll have lots of fun! Lots easier for a cat to adjust than a llama.

  7. Jan May 3, 2015 at 7:36 am #

    Such great pictures! Yea,the geese pick really unusual places to nest back by the pond. Oh Daddy will keep predators away! Love the pict. of Snickers,Jules & Lleny! Good luck with moving him! 🙂

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 8:30 am #

      I was surpised she built the nest on top of the rotting tree. I guess she knows the best place for a goose nest better than me though.

  8. Adrienne May 3, 2015 at 8:43 am #

    I’ve never seen a goose so high up in a tree! Great shot!

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 9:06 am #

      I guess he wants a “bird’s eye view” to keep an eye on his lady.

  9. Tamar May 3, 2015 at 9:17 am #

    Love how you tell a story – the cats are gorgeous.

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 10:37 am #

      Thanks. I like story telling. 🙂

  10. Gunilla May 3, 2015 at 10:45 am #

    So you have a guard goose as well as a guard llama. Llenny is very handsome.

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 10:46 am #

      I kind of think I might be what the gander is guarding against. 😉

  11. Nukke May 3, 2015 at 11:12 am #

    I like your movement and your choice photos most !!!!

  12. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© May 3, 2015 at 11:54 am #

    Snickers has quite the look on his face!
    ~

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 12:06 pm #

      He was concentrating very hard.

  13. Freda Mans May 3, 2015 at 12:18 pm #

    Llenny is so cute! That goose though…. not sure which is funnier, the female nesting or the hubby keeping six on the tree.

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 12:46 pm #

      I was a bit surprised with the geese back there. I’ve never had a pair actually decide to nest there. Too much going on, but I guess they can try.

  14. Anni @ I'd Rather B Birdin' May 3, 2015 at 2:56 pm #

    Oh my gosh….I enlarged them….the geese images are phenomenal. As are your sweet kitties…AND the llama….Lovin’ this post.

    • Teresa May 4, 2015 at 7:44 am #

      Thanks, Anni. She’s a pretty willing photo subject right now since she won’t leave her nest. I’m going to try to avoid that area for a while though and let her sit in peace.

  15. Marie-AZ May 3, 2015 at 3:00 pm #

    Amazing about the geese! Wonderful llama and cat. The llama has so much personality!

    • Teresa May 4, 2015 at 7:44 am #

      Llenny is certainly full of personality. I’m enjoying getting to know him.

  16. a spirit of simplicity May 3, 2015 at 3:58 pm #

    Love, love, love Llenny!!

    • Teresa May 4, 2015 at 7:44 am #

      Thanks. He is handsome.

  17. Ruth Anne May 3, 2015 at 7:34 pm #

    I love seeing your animal adventures 🙂 Really like the gander “standing guard”

    • Teresa May 4, 2015 at 7:45 am #

      He is a good gander husband/father.

  18. pattisj May 4, 2015 at 11:17 pm #

    Ducks and geese just don’t look right up in a tree! LOL I hope it all works out well for the couple and their future youngsters.

    • Teresa May 5, 2015 at 6:47 am #

      I know. It makes me laugh when I see those big things up there.

  19. Abrianna May 5, 2015 at 11:21 am #

    The pictures of Snickers and Jules are my favorites. Poor Jules-although maybe you don’t want her out of the house much anyway? Maybe she knows llamas spit and kitties don’t like to be wet :).

    • Teresa May 5, 2015 at 11:25 am #

      She’s rather impulsive (and was already stuck high in a tree once), so it isn’t a bad thing if she doesn’t want to spend a lot of time outside.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

