First of May

1 May

Happy May Day!  Blessed Beltane!  It’s the first of May.  That means, a progress report on what’s going on up north.  I actually have progress to report this month.

pasture_7880w

They came and tiled the corner where I want to plant pumpkins.

tiling field

They had to remove the fallen tree to do that.  My nephew also removed a couple of other old tree stumps.  It’s a lot easier now to see what a big space it really is.  I can plant around the corner to the middle tree in the background.

pasture

While they were tiling, they looked at my crop maps.  Productivity was not very good in this area of my corn/bean field, so they also ran a line of tile up into the field.  It should help my yields there too.

tiling crop land_7894w

Hopefully, by the first of next month, we’ll get this area disked and planted with pumpkins.

Sharing with Skywatch Friday and SOOC Sunday (all photos).

22 Responses to “First of May”

  1. TexWisGirl May 1, 2015 at 6:32 pm #

    nice to have the drainage in place!

    • Teresa May 2, 2015 at 7:55 am #

      It is a good job to have done.

  2. Jan May 1, 2015 at 7:38 pm #

    Exciting to think you’ll have a pumpkin patch! Hoping it’ll be a good year for them! 🙂

    • Teresa May 2, 2015 at 7:55 am #

      And I hope people will come buy them. 😉

  3. Freda Mans May 1, 2015 at 8:18 pm #

    Happy May day! I love the sun photo!

    • Teresa May 2, 2015 at 7:55 am #

      Thanks. It was a beautiful day!

  4. Margaret Birding For Pleasure May 2, 2015 at 1:49 am #

    great to have that work done ready for planting the Pumkins. Have a lovely wekend.

    • Teresa May 2, 2015 at 7:56 am #

      Yep. It’s so big now that I ordered more pumpkin seed. LOL

  5. Eileen May 2, 2015 at 5:25 am #

    Happy month of May! Looks like you are ready for planting. Have a happy weekend!

    • Teresa May 2, 2015 at 7:56 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. We’re getting there!

  6. EG CameraGirl , Canada May 2, 2015 at 8:34 am #

    Great way to start a new month – preparing for better crops. I look forward to seeing your pumpkin photos. 😉

    • Teresa May 2, 2015 at 8:59 am #

      Thanks. I’m going to give it a go!

  7. Mary Ann Yoder May 2, 2015 at 10:24 am #

    Teresa, do you do your own planting?

    • Teresa May 2, 2015 at 11:45 am #

      Well, I always have, but that was just a few hills. My nephew thinks he has it figured out how to plant with the planter since we’re doing about an acre.

  8. Pondside May 2, 2015 at 6:08 pm #

    I hope we’ll eventually see a before and after view of that field of pumpkins!

  9. Pat May 2, 2015 at 8:30 pm #

    Looks great. You’ll have a big pumpkin patch.

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 8:27 am #

      I hope so. And I hope people want to come buy their pumpkins directly from my pumpkin patch.

  10. Jeanne May 2, 2015 at 9:13 pm #

    That’ll be a nice sized punkin’ patch! I hope it goes/grows well!

  11. pattisj May 4, 2015 at 11:14 pm #

    May the pumpkins do well for you.

    • Teresa May 5, 2015 at 6:47 am #

      Thanks! I hope they do!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

