How Llenny’s Doing

30 Apr

Llenny the llama seems to be getting along just fine in his nice confined pen.

Llenny

Llenny

He’s mellowed out and gotten to sniff and inspect some goats through the fence.  He seems fine with them.  All of my goats but Wanda had been around Djali, my last llama, so they are pretty unimpressed.  Wanda was really checking him out though (Video HERE).

llama in a pen

I finally brought Jules out to introduce her.  I really was worried about how it would go.  I held her carefully with no feet in positions to claw me, so I could drop her if needed.  She looked at him and I told my mom that it was rather anti-climactic.  Then something clicked in her kitty brain and she tensed and moved, so I dropped her.  She ran face first into the fence and then blindly took off down the fenceline until she got to the garage.  I’m pretty sure she might never want to go outside again.

Jules

Jules

That cat.  Really.

Stella is still doing what she does, wandering the yard and barking each night.  Llenny has been listening to her and watching us pet her.  He just needs to not panic and go through the fence.  I never intend for them to be together.  I still need to fix that fence a bit.

Stella

Stella

If all continues to go well, this weekend I’ll try to get my son to help move Llenny back to where he was originally intended to be. Then I just have to get him integrated with the goat herd.  He seems anxious for that to happen.

Sharing with Good Fences.

24 Responses to “How Llenny’s Doing”

  1. TexWisGirl April 30, 2015 at 6:08 pm #

    glad he’s settling down and getting used to the sights and sounds and smells.

    • Teresa April 30, 2015 at 7:58 pm #

      He is. He has a couple more days before I can possibly move him, so he should keep settling down. It’s been a huge change for the poor guy.

  2. LaVoice April 30, 2015 at 6:10 pm #

    Great fenced in pets. Not a vat person, but love yours with that unique coloring.

  3. Pat April 30, 2015 at 6:12 pm #

    Glad Llenny’s settling in. Love that shot of beautiful Jules.

    • Teresa April 30, 2015 at 7:59 pm #

      We have a ways to go, but I think we’re getting close to the next step. I hope. 🙂

  4. Jan April 30, 2015 at 6:29 pm #

    Jules is such a beautiful girl;as is Stella! As far as Llenny; he is just “more than handsome”. He’s adorable! Hoping he continues to feel like this is his new great home & settles in with your whole group! 🙂

    • Teresa April 30, 2015 at 8:00 pm #

      He is settling down. He’s still nervous about Stella, but he’s got a couple more days before I can even think about moving him back up north.

  5. Patty Leonard Woodland April 30, 2015 at 6:42 pm #

    Llenny is realllly llovelly. I’m thrilllled he’s llearning to llove the herd

    • Teresa April 30, 2015 at 8:00 pm #

      He does seem to really want to join the herd. I just have to keep him from panicking over the dog in the yard.

  6. Margaret April 30, 2015 at 8:42 pm #

    Seems to be settling in well now.

    • Teresa May 1, 2015 at 6:50 am #

      Settling, but restless. I hope he can be moved to the bigger space soon.

  7. Erika April 30, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

    He is so cute though. Love that picture of Jules.

    • Teresa May 1, 2015 at 6:50 am #

      You mean the panic in her eyes? Silly cat.

  8. Eileen May 1, 2015 at 4:51 am #

    It would be wonderful if Llenny, Jules and Stella all became friends. They are all beautiful! Have a happy Friday!

    • Teresa May 1, 2015 at 6:51 am #

      Llenny is hardwired to kill Stella. Tolerating her nearby and not running through fences would make me happy.

  9. itsallaboutpurple May 1, 2015 at 9:43 am #

    awwwwwww, such sweetness and joy!! he looks happy!!!!!

    • Teresa May 1, 2015 at 9:53 am #

      He’d be happier in a bigger space, but I’m hoping to get him moved this weekend when I’ll be home.

  10. Freda Mans May 1, 2015 at 5:16 pm #

    Seems like things are progressing nicely, minus how Jules may feel about Llenny. 🙂 I’m sure she’ll come around sometime.

    • Teresa May 1, 2015 at 5:40 pm #

      The next step will be a big one. I really hope he doesn’t try going through the fence again.

  11. Jeanne May 2, 2015 at 9:10 pm #

    Things are sounding promising! I hope all goes well!

    • Teresa May 3, 2015 at 8:28 am #

      Me too. I’m going to be cautious about moving him. I’m still a bit nervous about having Stella just on the other side of the fence.

  12. pattisj May 4, 2015 at 11:10 pm #

    Somehow I missed Llenny! I’m glad you found another llama. Poor Jules!

    • Teresa May 5, 2015 at 6:47 am #

      I’m glad to have him too. Hopefully, I’ll have him fully integrated with the herd soon.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

