Llama Drama

27 Apr

My search for a llama took a turn for the better when I got a message about a llama that was advertised for sale in the next county (Thanks, Jan).  I called and set up an appointment to meet him the next morning.  It went well, and we brought him home last night.

Llenny the llama

Llenny the llama

They decided to sell him because he is a three-year-old intact alpha male that was beating on the other older male llamas.  In their own words, he is aggressive and spirited.

Llama Eye

We managed to get a halter on him and did a push-me; pull-me struggle to get him in the north paddock.  He was obviously nervous with the change in setting.  Then the drama started.

llama

He left his home where he was top dog with only llamas to a farm where he was the only llama and a lot of other animals.  I put him in the north paddock so he could meet the rest of the animals through the fence and get used to them.  It seemed like a good plan.

llama_7524ew

I never thought about Stella.  She’s just another animal to meet through the fence and get used to.  Because Stella is a yard dog, they would never be in the same area, so I didn’t give her much thought.

Stella

Stella

Well, he freaked out when she decided to take a barking stroll around the yard.  He ran and slammed into the fence and busted loose one of the cattle panels, letting him jump, or rather trip, over the bit that was left connected to the post.

Post_7543ew

Luckily, my son and nephew and mom were still with me, and I yelled for them to get Stella.  Of course, she was already safely hiding under the deck quivering with fear by then.  I raced over the fence and through the yard to find the llama. For some reason, he didn’t go over my yard fence or stomp on me when I stepped in front of him.  He turned back towards the barnyard, and I managed to catch him.

llama_7453ew

We haltered him again and then just stood there debating what to do.  Obviously my nice grassy area up north was not going to work.  Bless my mother who suggested the greenhouse.  I moved Sam Goodberry (the new Saanen buck) and Millie.  At least they appreciate the nice grassy area.

Sam Goodberry and Millie

Sam Goodberry and Millie

I put the llama in the greenhouse. It’s a solid building with a pen that is quite tall because I had chickens in there at one time.

llama_7438ew

He seems to feel more safe there, and he can get used to the noises and animals from the safety of peeking out the greenhouse door.  He got really nervous again when the goats came up from pasture, but he looked more curious than panicked and wanting to kill them.

llama watching goats_7497ew

Tonight, I’m going to see how he feels about cats because my kitties are not thrilled with being locked in the house.  He’s not feeling like such hot stuff right now, but I’m sure he’ll adjust and we’ll be able to get along..

Sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun.

44 Responses to “Llama Drama”

  1. Jan Prytz April 27, 2015 at 6:38 pm #

    OMG, you are one brave lady. I love this post, and forgive me I laughed!

    • Teresa April 27, 2015 at 7:02 pm #

      It is funny now that it’s over. I’m just glad everyone is safe.

  2. TexWisGirl April 27, 2015 at 6:38 pm #

    he’s very handsome, but spirited and aggressive…i’d be worried.

    • Teresa April 27, 2015 at 7:04 pm #

      Most of his aggression (in my opinion) was caused by the situation he was in. He was in a pen with two much older intact males with only a fence between them and the girl llamas. Removing him from the situation and (possibly) gelding him should take care of the aggression. I’ll be very cautious with introductions.

  3. Tamar April 27, 2015 at 6:46 pm #

    That’s a close up for sure!!

    • Teresa April 27, 2015 at 7:05 pm #

      He’s pretty friendly with humans. He was actually shown as a 4-H project when he was a yearling, so he’s had quite a bit of handling.

  4. Nicki April 27, 2015 at 7:00 pm #

    I can’t wait to hear more of your adventures with Drama Llama. He is handsome (there is at least that) and hopefully he can find comfort in his new home.

    • Teresa April 27, 2015 at 7:06 pm #

      I’m sure he’ll settle down. I just underestimated the amount of security he needed. My last llama was so easy that he spoiled me.

  5. Coloring Outside the Lines April 27, 2015 at 7:53 pm #

    Oh my- he looks like his middle name is Trouble! I bet he will calm down soon- and I hope all the other animals adjust and are safe.

    • Teresa April 27, 2015 at 7:58 pm #

      He has already calmed down. He just panicked when he saw Stella. He’ll stay in the greenhouse for a while, and I’ll slowly introduce him to the other animals. So far, he’s not shown any interest in Snickers and Bob.

  6. Freda Mans April 27, 2015 at 7:53 pm #

    Oh he is a beaute! Reminds me of a camel in the close up of his face!

    • Teresa April 27, 2015 at 7:58 pm #

      They are camelids. They both have that split lip.

  7. Mary Ann Yoder April 27, 2015 at 8:02 pm #

    Teresa, I don’t know how Djali was with dogs, but we never, EVER let our dogs in the pasture while we had our llamas for four years. EVER. We never had any trouble with coyotes while we had them, but to be truthful, they were a constant worry that they would get the dogs.

    • Teresa April 27, 2015 at 8:18 pm #

      I know Djali was in the yard once or twice with Mushu, but it was not common. I had no intention of the dog and llama being together. Stella is strictly a yard dog. I just underestimated him busting through my fence when he panicked.

  8. Patty Leonard Woodland April 27, 2015 at 8:24 pm #

    Poor Llenny. Are you going to fix him? I’m sure all those hormones aren’t helping either.

    • Teresa April 27, 2015 at 8:27 pm #

      I’d like to wait until fall when there are fewer bugs and he’s better settled, but I imagine I will have him gelded.

  9. Jan April 27, 2015 at 9:24 pm #

    Oh my goodness! When I first seen “your headline”; I thought “what did I do to T? ”
    What an adventurous night you had! Sorry Stella spooked him. I’m sure Stella seen something different too & wanted to check it out. I was reading this to Dave & he called your Llama “Rambo”.Ha! Love your name for your little buck;Sam Goodberry! Awesome! Hoping all will be alright!

    • Teresa April 27, 2015 at 9:31 pm #

      I’m sure it will all be fine. I just wish I had realized he needed the smaller, safer space to start with. I’m still grateful you told me about him. She had three more calls interested in him after I called her.

      • Jan April 27, 2015 at 9:36 pm #

        Then I’m so glad you called when you did! Wish I’d have read the paper sooner;but you got him;that’s all that’s important! 🙂 Someday I’d like to come out & see your kids & Him!

      • Teresa April 27, 2015 at 9:37 pm #

        I’m here all the time on the weekends. 🙂

  10. Margaret April 27, 2015 at 11:20 pm #

    Well what a drama but at least everyone is safe. It will be great hearing and seeing the llama as well as e goats now

    • Teresa April 28, 2015 at 7:47 am #

      Thanks. I do look forward to having him fully integrated as part of the family. It will take some time though.

  11. Little Wandering Wren April 27, 2015 at 11:53 pm #

    Wot drama indeed! I love that you’ve taken on ‘trouble’ and I have no doubt he will reward you in many ways, it sounds like you already have his measure – may you have long happy life together… and that you are able to let the cats out soon!
    Wren x

    • Teresa April 28, 2015 at 7:48 am #

      Jules is the only cat in the house yet because she’s a bit impulsive. Llenny is settling down, and I’ll start to slowly introduce him to the goats. No rush. I want him to be comfortable.

  12. Gunilla April 28, 2015 at 12:38 am #

    He’s very handsome. Sounds like a lot of drama though, but hopefully he’ll get used to you all quickly.

    • Teresa April 28, 2015 at 7:49 am #

      I think he’s fine with everyone except the dog. As long as he doesn’t panic and bust through the fence every time he sees her, we’ll be good.

  13. Gattina April 28, 2015 at 2:35 am #

    He is a handsome guy ! Of course he has to get used to his new environment and I think you did a very good job ! Poor Stella, she certainly will stay far now from the newcomer !

    • Teresa April 28, 2015 at 7:49 am #

      I wish I had put him in the smaller greenhouse to start with, but you never know. Stella was very scared of him. Poor girl.

  14. Eileen April 28, 2015 at 5:40 am #

    He is beautiful, but what a wild child… I am glad your Stella was OK.. I hope he settles down…Great shots, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa April 28, 2015 at 7:50 am #

      He actually isn’t really very wild, just afraid of the dog when he was in a totally new and scary situation. He’s settling down nicely.

  15. Claire Moxon April 28, 2015 at 7:06 am #

    So pleased to see you found a llama, despite the initial kerfuffle. He has a stunning fleece. I hope he’ll allow you to shear him! I’m sure he’ll settle in soon. He may have had a bad experience with a canine at some point, leading to the reaction with the barking. Poor Stella! She must have been as freaked out as he was!

    • Teresa April 28, 2015 at 7:51 am #

      I have already contacted an Amish man who travels the mid-west shearing llamas. I’m not sure yet when he’ll be here, but he’ll shear him, clip toes, worm and vaccinate him as well as removing his fighting teeth. Not sure what I’ll do with the fleece.

  16. Mama Zen April 28, 2015 at 11:40 am #

    He’s a pretty thing! Glad he wasn’t hurt.

    • Teresa April 28, 2015 at 1:03 pm #

      Me too. I was not expecting him to go through the fence.

  17. hedgewitch April 28, 2015 at 12:50 pm #

    Gosh he is gorgeous, though. (And great pics) Glad your dear dog is okay, as I know Llamas can be pretty fierce–don’t you want him as a guard llama though, so that’s good once he gets used to things… he does seem very stately and at home behind the new greenhouse fence. Hope everything settles down soon.

    • Teresa April 28, 2015 at 1:05 pm #

      As long as he doesn’t go through the fence after Stella again, I think we’ll be fine. I’ve let him sniff Annie through the fence, and I’ll keep slowly introducing him to the goats. I think he’ll be great for keeping coyotes away.

  18. Karen S. April 28, 2015 at 2:39 pm #

    Gosh darn I love all these faces and hey the rear shot is cute too! Fabulous shots. A good number of them should be blown up and hung in places where one needs cheering up. Daybrighteners all the way!

    • Teresa April 28, 2015 at 2:42 pm #

      Thanks so much, Karen.

  19. Pat April 28, 2015 at 9:55 pm #

    Wow! He’s very handsome and powerful looking. Hope he settles down and gets used to all those kids looking at him.

    • Teresa April 28, 2015 at 9:56 pm #

      He has already settled down some.

  20. DeniseinVA April 29, 2015 at 2:57 pm #

    Oh my gosh I wish my eyelashes were as full as that (second photo down). What a story! Can’t wait for the next instalment. Your photos and description were/are very entertaining. Great post!

    • Teresa April 29, 2015 at 6:11 pm #

      He is a handsome guy. 🙂 Hopefully, the next installment won’t be near as exciting.

  21. Jeanne April 30, 2015 at 12:31 am #

    Goodness! That was a bit of a scare! Llenny is beautiful! I’m glad he’s calming down. I can see I need to study up on llamas – I know nothing about fighting teeth!

    • Teresa April 30, 2015 at 6:49 am #

      They are neat animals. I’m going to try and get him back to that original space this weekend.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

