New Blood

25 Apr

In my perspective, Saanens are the best goats around.  They are wonderful milkers and mothers. They are big, fun and friendly.  I still have three of my original five Saanen girls, but they are too old to breed and milk.  While I love my dairy girls, if you want to make money selling kids, you need meat goats.  That’s why my bucks have always been Boer or Boer crosses.

Millie

Millie

That means that all the girls I’ve kept keep getting less and less dairy blood in them.  Most of them are like Joe (pictured with me).  They’re about half dairy and half Boer.

me and Joe

me and Joe

Which brings me to their kids that I’m now keeping.  They are three-fourths Boer.  Some are even more Boer than that.  I’m running out of dairy goats!

Wanda

Wanda

Today, when I was at the sale barn looking for a llama, I was lucky enough to be there when a woman unloaded her goats.  There were several Saanen kids.  Despite our muddy weather, they were clean.  She was obviously concerned that they would make sure the mom still nursing her twins was kept with her babies.  I was also able to ask her if they were purebred Saanens.  She did say that they could be registered even.

Buck_7213ew

Well, I brought home one of the young boys.  Here he is fresh from the sale barn.

Buck_7234ew

Buck_7235ew

I’m using really old technology (cattle panels) hobbled together with more old school technology (baling twine) to keep him penned away from my goats for a few days.  Millie has been bribed with peanuts to be his nice honorary grandnanny.

Millie Buck_7224ew

My kids were curious about this new guy.

Kids_7270ew

When I let him out, he’ll get to run with my herd and kids until closer to fall (goats are cold weather breeders, so he won’t breed them this summer).  He’ll get to breed some of my half Saanen girls that are heavy milkers with nice udders.  He’ll also get put with my girls that have the highest percentage of dairy blood.  The weather finally changed, and it quit raining so they could go out to pasture this evening.

Coffee (100% dairy)

Coffee (100% dairy)

Vixen (7/8 dairy)

Vixen (7/8 dairy)

Bambi (3/4 dairy)

Bambi (3/4 dairy)

I’m excited to have this new little guy.

Sharing with Saturday’s Critters and Scavenger Hunt Sunday.  This week’s scavenger hunt items are bolded.

45 Responses to “New Blood”

  1. Jan April 25, 2015 at 7:22 pm #

    very interesting! love your pictures; also, have you named him yet? He’s adorable.

    • Teresa April 25, 2015 at 7:24 pm #

      He has not yet revealed his name. I’ll be sure to share it when I find out what it is.

      • Jan April 25, 2015 at 7:37 pm #

        yes;got to have them awhile & let their personality unveil the name. 🙂

  2. Patty Leonard Woodland April 25, 2015 at 7:29 pm #

    He is very cute. Fairy like almost

    • Teresa April 25, 2015 at 7:33 pm #

      I love my Saanens!

  3. Karen Seek April 25, 2015 at 7:30 pm #

    He is really cute — hope you get his name soon—- so excited for you !!!!

    • Teresa April 25, 2015 at 7:33 pm #

      I have to get to know him, and then his name will reveal itself.

  4. Mary Ann Yoder April 25, 2015 at 7:52 pm #

    He’s a beauty, and I love his little wattles. I’m surprised you didn’t get the milking mom and her twins, too!

    • Teresa April 25, 2015 at 7:54 pm #

      I don’t need more big goats, but it is definitely time for new blood in the form of a buck. I’ll be selling Boeris this summer.

  5. TexWisGirl April 25, 2015 at 7:57 pm #

    i’m glad for you!

    • Teresa April 25, 2015 at 8:00 pm #

      Thanks. This will hopefully fix the problems we’ve had with big headed kids too.

  6. Claire Moxon April 25, 2015 at 8:05 pm #

    He’s lovely! He has a very ‘elfin’ character to his face. I am so glad you had the opportunity to get him. I’ll be excited to see Coffee’s kids next year from him! Oh heck, I’ll be excited to see all of them… I’m also sure the lady was pleased to know that her boy was going to be a future Daddy!

    • Teresa April 25, 2015 at 8:08 pm #

      I don’t think she stayed for the sale, but I think she’d be happy to know he gets to grow up and be my breeding buck. I’m sure the other seven didn’t get that opportunity.

  7. Squidtea April 25, 2015 at 9:42 pm #

    Such sweet pictures! Can’t wait to hear about him more!

    • Teresa April 26, 2015 at 7:29 am #

      Thanks. He should be here on the farm for several years!

  8. hedgewitch April 25, 2015 at 10:00 pm #

    LOVE the pictures(and your grasp of old school technology. ;_) ) That is a very handsome young man.

    • Teresa April 26, 2015 at 7:30 am #

      I am very good with old school technology. It’s the new fangled stuff that throws me.

  9. Margaret April 26, 2015 at 1:23 am #

    Who could resist that little guy. He is adorable. Well done and that is the first time I have seen you. You are so young.

    • Teresa April 26, 2015 at 7:27 am #

      I much prefer to be behind the camera, but those darn photo prompts make me get out in front occasionally.

  10. Gunilla April 26, 2015 at 2:59 am #

    Congrats on the new guy. He’s very cute.

    • Teresa April 26, 2015 at 7:27 am #

      Thanks. I’m glad to have him and be ready for breeding this fall.

  11. Gattina April 26, 2015 at 3:32 am #

    I love the profile picture of you and Joe, lol ! The new little guy is so cute !

    • Teresa April 26, 2015 at 7:28 am #

      Thanks. I think he’s going to make adorable babies.

  12. Eileen April 26, 2015 at 4:57 am #

    I love all you goats, especially the cute kids. Congrats on your new Saanen kid. Great photos. Thank you for linking up and sharing your post.. Have a happy Sunday!

    • Teresa April 26, 2015 at 7:28 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. I love Saturday’s Critters!

  13. Täysin arkista April 26, 2015 at 7:38 am #

    It’s always a pleasure to look at your picture. You and Joe look so dignified. And the new “He” is a handsome goat.

  14. Tamar April 26, 2015 at 7:38 am #

    They are so adorable!

    • Teresa April 26, 2015 at 7:39 am #

      I adore them. 🙂

  15. Yogi April 26, 2015 at 10:26 am #

    Your goats are wonderful, I love how you used photos to tell the story and I’ve learned a couple new things about goats.

    • Teresa April 26, 2015 at 1:41 pm #

      Glad you found your visit interesting!

  16. Adrienne April 26, 2015 at 11:07 am #

    Oh my – I just LOVE that shot of “you and Joe” – it’s a framer.

    • Teresa April 26, 2015 at 1:41 pm #

      Thanks, but I think I’d rather just have a picture of a goat on the wall.

  17. Freda Mans April 26, 2015 at 11:46 am #

    Oh he is a sweetface! What will you call him?

    • Teresa April 26, 2015 at 1:41 pm #

      I do believe he is going to be named Sam Goodberry. I think.

  18. Nukke April 26, 2015 at 12:42 pm #

    Beautiful animals. Good photos ! Have a nice week !

    • Teresa April 26, 2015 at 1:42 pm #

      Thanks. Hope you have a great week as well.

  19. Pat April 26, 2015 at 2:36 pm #

    The new little guy is really cute, Does he get Millie’s seal of approval?

    • Teresa April 26, 2015 at 4:03 pm #

      Well, I’m bribing her to be nice with peanuts. She’s mostly okay with him.

  20. Jeanne April 26, 2015 at 7:28 pm #

    Welcome to the New Kid on the Block! (I couldn’t pass that up!) 🙂 He is really beautiful! I was very interested in your story as it unfolded. I remember what you said about Boeris’ large head problems… What is likely to happen to him after he is sold? Or don’t we want to think about that?

  21. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© April 27, 2015 at 7:09 am #

    Lovely bunch of livestock, E.H.
    ~

    • Teresa April 27, 2015 at 8:57 am #

      Thanks. I’m pretty fond of them.

  22. pattisj May 4, 2015 at 11:02 pm #

    Aw! He is a cutie!

    • Teresa May 5, 2015 at 6:45 am #

      He really is, and he’s sweet and shy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Blood | Eden Hills | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS - April 26, 2015

    […] Source: New Blood | Eden Hills […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

