War in the Back Forty

22 Apr

There is a war being waged in the Back Forty.  (nobody was injured in the war) It’s not what I was expecting when I went for a walk with the goats this evening.  I saw the pair of Canada geese hanging out again.  I was surprised that they were brave enough to let me get close to them.

geese_6756ew

It wasn’t long before the goats began browsing by them.  My goats are used to geese, so they really didn’t even pay any attention to them, but the geese were getting a bit peeved that the goats had entered their territory.

Geese_6774ew

Without warning, they launched an attack on poor, unsuspecting Joani.  She fled in fear.  Geese 1. Goats 0.

Geese Joani collage w

Joe, being the wise goat she is, decided she was not about to engage in battle; she merely gave them the goat stare of death, and they gave up.  Geese 1. Goats 1.

Geese_6799ew

Soon, they found their next victim, Muffin.

Geese_6826ew

Muffin quit browsing and prepared to engage the enemy.

Geese_6828ew

And this melee goes to the goats as well!  Geese 1.  Goats 2.

Geese_6829ew

The geese were not about to give up though, and they flanked Muffin on both sides.

Geese_6839ew

Suddenly, it was a surprise attack!

Geese_6850ew

Casey stood watching behind the battle lines, grateful he was not about to receive the wrath of the goose, but who was she after?  Was it Muffin again?

Geese_6851ew

No!  It was a surprise attack on Blaze!

Geese Blaze collage wPoor girl didn’t see it coming.  She took off, startling the rest of the goats.

Geese_6879ew

The Canada geese took their place of victory on the old log.  Today, they had won the battle, but they haven’t won the war.

Sharing with Alphabe-Thursday for the letter W.  W is for War.

45 Responses to “War in the Back Forty”

  1. TexWisGirl April 22, 2015 at 9:37 pm #

    oh, this might get rough! goosed by a goose!

    • Teresa April 22, 2015 at 10:06 pm #

      I’ve never had a pair of Canada geese be this territorial and aggressive before. It could get interesting.

  2. Margaret April 23, 2015 at 12:14 am #

    Waiting now for the next round in the battle!

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 6:40 am #

      As much as I hope their isn’t a next round, I’m guessing there will be.

  3. Jeanne April 23, 2015 at 12:42 am #

    My guess is that the geese have a nest in that area! Time will tell! Poor Blaze and Joani! I hope they don’t decide to take you on!!

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 6:41 am #

      I’m sure they don’t have a nest yet. They are probably testing out the area to see if they want to build a nest here. Most times these goose couples quickly decide there’s too much action in the Back Forty for them.

  4. pattisj April 23, 2015 at 1:31 am #

    The geese were relentless! Maybe they do have a nest nearby.

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 6:42 am #

      They haven’t been here long enough to have a nest yet, but I would guess they would like to have one back there. I’ve never seen a couple so aggressive.

  5. Gunilla April 23, 2015 at 2:56 am #

    Awesome captures! I hope the war doesn’t get too rough.

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 6:42 am #

      I don’t it gets too rough. My goats tend to give in and just go eat somewhere else.

  6. Eileen April 23, 2015 at 5:12 am #

    The geese can be really mean, but I am surprised the goats would give in so easily.. Great series, I loved it!

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 6:42 am #

      With almost 40 acres, it’s a lot easier to just go eat somewhere else.

  7. SarahBeth ~ Along Magnolia Lane April 23, 2015 at 7:55 am #

    Those geese had better watch out… goat horns can hurt….. LOL!

    • Teresa April 28, 2015 at 7:55 am #

      Yep. They have hard heads. Muffin certainly won her battle.

  8. Candy C. April 23, 2015 at 8:01 am #

    Poor Blaze!! It looks like that goose got her pretty good! What a great series of shots you got, made me feel like I was right there! 🙂

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 8:36 am #

      Thanks, Candy. Blaze was not expecting it. That’s for sure.

  9. Heather April 23, 2015 at 8:12 am #

    Poor goats! Geese can get nasty, that’s for sure! I don’t mess with them!

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 8:36 am #

      These weren’t too horribly nasty, but the goats just want to eat in peace.

  10. EG CameraGirl , Canada April 23, 2015 at 9:58 am #

    I like Joe’s idea of staring the geese down.

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 9:59 am #

      She can be very intimidating.

  11. artmusedog April 23, 2015 at 10:02 am #

    Nasty geese ~ Glad your goats are okay ~ they are so adorable ~ Great photos! and post for W!

    Happy Weekend coming to you,
    artmusedog and carol

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 10:04 am #

      As long as they don’t go after kids, I don’t think they can do more than be a nuisance.

  12. Alica April 23, 2015 at 11:09 am #

    Whose land is this, anyway?! It’s fun to watch the animals interact. Goats are so expressive anyway!

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 12:19 pm #

      Since none of the little kids were near enough to get attacked, it was kind of humorous to watch.

  13. humblebeefarms April 23, 2015 at 11:41 am #

    At our house, its chickens vs. chorkie (yorkie-chihuahua). Great pictures! Thanks for sharing.

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 12:19 pm #

      I can imagine how that battle would go!

  14. Anne April 23, 2015 at 12:29 pm #

    Those geese are terribly wicked! Poor goats! Sigh! I once took a photo at the open spaces of new baby geese with their mother from across the road with my wide lens. When I had to go back to that side of the road she hissed at me and I ignored her and she slipped into the water with the kids behind her! Rude! LOL! Just being a mom! Great captures of the war!

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 12:52 pm #

      Geese are extremely protective parents. These are just being naughty because I don’t think they could have a nest there already.

  15. Rocky Mountain Woman April 23, 2015 at 1:34 pm #

    They can be intense! I had a whole flock one time on my front yard and they just wouldn’t budge. I finally had to call Animal Control so I could get out of my house…

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 1:59 pm #

      At least there’s just two here. The goats should learn to give them a bit more space, or the geese will decide there’s too much activity here and move on.

  16. Leovi April 23, 2015 at 4:47 pm #

    Yes, very funny enfrent, beautiful photos !!

  17. Freda Mans April 23, 2015 at 5:01 pm #

    Being Canadian, I know firsthand how those geese can be. Believe it or not, they are all over my city in the spring to fall, and they are always right where the most foot traffic is, for example, down by the bay where the restaurant, roller rink and trail is. They seem to like people, for the most part. They know they leave food everywhere. They are also very territorial. Get to close to where they nest and they will chase you. It’s kinda funny to see.

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 8:22 pm #

      I rather enjoyed watching it. I’d guess these will stay a few days and then move on. That’s usually how it happens.

  18. Pat April 23, 2015 at 7:33 pm #

    Interlopers!

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 8:21 pm #

      They certainly are!

  19. Jim April 23, 2015 at 8:51 pm #

    Now, Mom Teresa, I think it is time for parental intercession and run those nasty birds off and away. “Geese, go play at another farm.”
    ..

    • Teresa April 23, 2015 at 8:55 pm #

      As long as it isn’t dangerous (no kids close), it’s more of a nuisance than anything. I assume they’ll move on in a little while. For some reason, the geese get tired of me and the goats and move on to greener (or quieter) pastures.

  20. jesh stg April 23, 2015 at 10:23 pm #

    geese can be pretty aggressive!

    • Teresa April 24, 2015 at 6:44 am #

      I have a couple of domestic geese that are way worse than these two.

  21. Su-sieee! Mac April 23, 2015 at 11:24 pm #

    I’m rooting for the goats.

    • Teresa April 24, 2015 at 6:44 am #

      Me too! I assume the geese will move on shortly.

  22. Betty April 26, 2015 at 7:46 pm #

    I didn’t realize Canadian Geese were so territorial. We don’t have them here, but I used to see them when I visited my parents in NJ.

  23. Rain Whitney April 27, 2015 at 6:43 pm #

    That was so entertaining,. Not something I see everyday ! I will always cheer for the goats…they are Earth bound, unlike the geese, who can fly away on a whim…Go, Go Goats !!!

    • Teresa April 27, 2015 at 7:04 pm #

      I have to cheer for the goats too. Naughty geese can keep flying north.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

