Leftover Scavenger Hunt

19 Apr

With rainy weather all weekend and my habit of procrastinating, I didn’t get my pictures for this week’s scavenger hunt, so I’m using leftover pictures from earlier in the week and forcing them to fit the prompts:  from above, drink of choice, jewelry, local and I found this.

When I was walking in the pasture, I found this little fungi.  Not sure what it is, but it’s cute.

Thing_0063ew

I also found the vulture, or rather he found me.  I kind of like the drama of the silhouette against the clouds.  It was a bit disconcerting when he was circling above me.  I got worried for a minute.

Vulture_0042ew

When I was headed back to the barnyard, I took this picture from above.  The hills are good for those sweeping vistas.

Barnyard_0122ew

I didn’t have a new picture of Fawn with her eye jewelry, but she’s doing quite well.  I thought she was going to hop down from the branch; didn’t know she was going to fly, so you get this one out of focus, but you can see she’s enjoying herself.

Fawn_0117ew

Does Bambi’s collar count as jewelry?

Bambi_0119ew

The drink of choice around here is milk.

Harley Kids_0158ew

Not all the kids have to fight to get a drink.  See Bambi’s girl Thumper has two to herself.  Doesn’t quite seem fair, does it?

Bambi Thumper_0192ew

Finally, just a couple of shots of the local kids playing.

Dixon_0044ew

Kids_0146ew

There’s lots of playing going on now.  You can see a video here.

Sharing with Scavenger Hunt Sunday, Macro Monday II, I Heart Macro.

 

 

42 Responses to “Leftover Scavenger Hunt”

  1. Stephanie Volkert April 19, 2015 at 7:54 pm #

    Those goats are really cute. So is the fungus. Love the photo of the kid jumping over the log.

    • Teresa April 19, 2015 at 8:39 pm #

      Thanks. Those kids can certainly get some lift.

  2. Jan April 19, 2015 at 8:37 pm #

    that fungi is really different;never seen any like that. Love all your pictures. The goats/kids are adorable! Love them all! The one where there’s alot on the branch is definitely a framer! 🙂

    • Teresa April 19, 2015 at 8:40 pm #

      Thanks, Jan. Don’t think they could have gotten one more on that branch.

  3. TexWisGirl April 19, 2015 at 9:15 pm #

    glad everyone’s doing well. loved the shot of your barnyard and home!

    • Teresa April 19, 2015 at 9:36 pm #

      I don’t show many wide angle shots of my home, but I thought it looked pretty with the magnolia tree and blue skies.

  4. Pat April 19, 2015 at 9:39 pm #

    Love the shot of your house and barnyard. Those babies are so cute and playful at this stage.

    • Teresa April 20, 2015 at 7:45 am #

      They are hilarious right now. So much fun to watch!

  5. Dawn April 19, 2015 at 9:44 pm #

    All cute pics,,really love the last one, kids are so cute.

  6. janicead April 19, 2015 at 10:35 pm #

    I have been missing a lot of posts. The kids are so very cute!

    • Teresa April 20, 2015 at 7:46 am #

      We do have a cuteness overload right now.

  7. Eileen April 20, 2015 at 4:23 am #

    It is great everyone is doing well. I just love the last shot, cute photos.. Have a happy day and new week ahead!

    • Teresa April 20, 2015 at 7:47 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. Everyone is really well. That’s a good feeling.

  8. Nukke April 20, 2015 at 7:43 am #

    Local kids playing is so hilarious and cute like all your animals are cute !!!! Have a nice week !

    • Teresa April 20, 2015 at 7:47 am #

      Thanks. Sometimes, you have to get creative for the scavenger hunt when you procrastinate. 😉

  9. EG CameraGirl April 20, 2015 at 9:15 am #

    Love your shots of the sweet kids! I think you did very well with the scavenger hunt! I like the way you think!

    • Teresa April 20, 2015 at 6:37 pm #

      Thanks. I generally just think “goat.” Really.

  10. Gunilla April 20, 2015 at 9:41 am #

    Wonderful shots of the kids playing!

    • Teresa April 20, 2015 at 6:38 pm #

      Thanks. That’s a pretty constant thing right now.

  11. itsallaboutpurple April 20, 2015 at 10:06 am #

    such a happy place…i am glad to hear that everyone is doing well!!!!

    • Teresa April 20, 2015 at 6:38 pm #

      I’m so relieved that everyone is healthy and happy this year!

  12. Candy C. April 20, 2015 at 11:20 am #

    Lovely leftovers, I really like them all!! 🙂

  13. Hannah April 20, 2015 at 12:15 pm #

    The kids are so adorable! It must be hard to do anything but watch them having fun. And so many! I like raw goat milk too! The first photo with the brown dots and jointed stem looks to me like a horsetail rush bud.

    • Teresa April 28, 2015 at 7:54 am #

      Thanks, Hannah. I had no idea what it was. It is very relaxing to spend my evenings just watching them play.

  14. Modern Homesteader April 20, 2015 at 2:15 pm #

    Great article, looking forward to more…. subscribed!

    • Teresa April 20, 2015 at 6:39 pm #

      Glad you enjoyed your visit!

  15. Jeanne April 20, 2015 at 3:21 pm #

    I loved ALL of the pictures, and especially the video!! The kids just seem to have to see who can be king/queen of the rock! So cute!! I’ve never seen a fungus like that. It’ll be interesting if someone can identify it.

    • Teresa April 20, 2015 at 6:39 pm #

      I think someone has told me in years past, but I can’t find it. Dang. They do love playing on the rocks and fallen trees.

  16. Jeanne April 20, 2015 at 3:26 pm #

    I forgot to ask why Bambi wears a collar?? And which cute little black and white kid is that in the video? What a cutie!!

    • Teresa April 20, 2015 at 6:40 pm #

      Bambi has a collar because she’s a brat. She doesn’t have horns, so if I have to catch her, I have to grab the collar. Unless she’s in a mood to just walk up to me and be sweet (which never happens when I need to catch her). The little black and white kid is Sallie’s doe, Annie. She’s the St. Patrick’s Day oopsie baby that gets to stay on the farm.

  17. Freda Mans April 20, 2015 at 4:50 pm #

    I love the silhouette of the bird against the sky!

    • Teresa April 20, 2015 at 6:41 pm #

      Since it didn’t dive down and try to eat me or carry me away, I guess I’m okay with it.

  18. Andrea April 20, 2015 at 9:31 pm #

    Hehe i love the way you made it so funny, and i really love your shots. How lovely the kids are all the time and you captured their antics so well. We have a few goat pets and the kids are sometimes 1 or 2 and they come to the house when hungry. It seems my mother gives them food faster than their own mothers.

    • Teresa April 20, 2015 at 9:36 pm #

      That’s fun. I always love having those kids that will come visit me. They are a lot of fun.

  19. pattisj April 20, 2015 at 9:49 pm #

    Great pictures: Fawn, the kids climbing all over and having fun, and the scenic shot from above. They’re all great, those are the ones I’m partial to. 😉

    • Teresa April 21, 2015 at 6:41 am #

      Thanks. I am pretty fond of that scene too.

  20. Abrianna April 24, 2015 at 3:44 pm #

    That is an unusual fungi-great shot and love the one of Fawn.

    • Teresa April 24, 2015 at 7:04 pm #

      Thanks. Fawn is a cutie!

  21. Täysin arkista April 26, 2015 at 5:07 am #

    Just fantastic pictures. And of course a collar is a goat jewelry. Your local babies are the cutest, specially the last picture is adorable.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

