Vixen’s Girl Visits the Vet

15 Apr

We had a pretty nearly perfect kidding season this round.  We didn’t lose any moms or kids.  Everyone is feeding their babies.  Life was grand!  Then I noticed Vixen’s girl, Fawn, had a watery eye.  For some reason, the lower lid turned in.  That means her lashes were constantly rubbing against her eye.  Usually, if they have an entropion eye, it is obvious right away.  I don’t know why hers started curling under now.

Fawn

Fawn

It’s quite painful!  I shut her and her brother and her mom in, so my mom could catch her.

Vixen and kids

Vixen and kids

She visited the vet and got a clip put on the lower lid to hold it out, so the lashes don’t rub.  It will stay on there for a week or so, until it just falls off.

goat kid with eye clip

By then, it should stay in its proper position.  She was very happy to get back home to her mother and brother.

goat kids nursing

It already looks much better.  Now we’re back to pretty much perfect!

Sharing with Alphabe-Thursday where the letter this week is v.  V is for Vixen, visiting and vets.

48 Responses to “Vixen’s Girl Visits the Vet”

  1. Margaret April 15, 2015 at 6:14 pm #

    That is marvellous that all the kidding worked out well this year.

    • Teresa April 15, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

      It really was a good round. Hopefully, our June kidding goes as well.

  2. Claire Moxon April 15, 2015 at 6:32 pm #

    Well, I think it’s pretty evident that this happened because she was not getting frequent cuddles any more. Hee hee hee. Glad you caught it and that she’s on the mend. 🙂

    • Teresa April 15, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

      I’m sure it is the lack of cuddles. 😉

  3. TexWisGirl April 15, 2015 at 6:33 pm #

    hope one clip does it!

    • Teresa April 15, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

      Hers was just barely turned, so it’s looking much better already. Thankfully.

  4. Tracy April 15, 2015 at 6:42 pm #

    Gah! You always have the cutest kids! Glad you got Fawn’s eye sorted out 😀

    • Teresa April 15, 2015 at 9:00 pm #

      Of all the problems you can have with goats, this one is pretty easy to fix. Thankfully.

  5. artmusedog April 15, 2015 at 6:43 pm #

    So adorable and keeping you busy ~ Sweet photos ~ Adore them!

    Wishing you a happy weekend ahead,
    artmusedog and carol

    • Teresa April 15, 2015 at 9:00 pm #

      So far, this group has been pretty easy. 🙂

  6. Mary Ann Yoder April 15, 2015 at 6:59 pm #

    Fawn has a beautiful face!

    • Teresa April 15, 2015 at 9:02 pm #

      Both of Vixen’s kids are just adorable!

  7. Patty Leonard Woodland April 15, 2015 at 7:10 pm #

    Poor little thing. I’m glad it’s fixed

    • Teresa April 15, 2015 at 9:04 pm #

      Me too. I hate when this happens, but at least this one is an easy fix (for my vet).

  8. Jan April 15, 2015 at 9:02 pm #

    Fawn is so sweet looking;hopefully her eye continues to get better! Love your pictures!

    • Teresa April 15, 2015 at 9:05 pm #

      It looks even better tonight!

  9. Pat April 15, 2015 at 9:49 pm #

    She looks like such a sweet little girl.

    • Teresa April 15, 2015 at 9:49 pm #

      She’s not too thrilled wirh me after the vet visit.

  10. Eileen April 16, 2015 at 4:05 am #

    I am glad it is working already, great news! She is adorable.. But, then they all are adorable.. Happy Thursday!

    • Teresa April 16, 2015 at 9:30 am #

      That clip is an instant fix!

  11. EG CameraGirl April 16, 2015 at 6:02 am #

    Yay! Everything is going well so far this year…or almost perfectly, as you say. Glad Fawn’s eye can be fixed!

    • Teresa April 16, 2015 at 9:31 am #

      It has been a wonderful round of kidding! I hope we’re just as successful with round two in June.

  12. SarahBeth ~ Along Magnolia Lane April 16, 2015 at 9:06 am #

    Aw, such a sweetie! I’m glad there was a simple fix for the problem!

    • Teresa April 28, 2015 at 7:54 am #

      Me too. Of all the problems you can have with goats, this is one of the easiest to fix.

  13. Rocky Mountain Woman April 16, 2015 at 9:23 am #

    Congratulations! That’s quite an accomplishment…

    • Teresa April 16, 2015 at 9:32 am #

      I’m proud of the care they get. I had a lot of help this year making sure they all safely arrived.

  14. Jeanne April 16, 2015 at 9:48 am #

    Fawn is SO beautiful! I hope her eye gets better quickly. That’s no fun! – My dad had that problem! They didn’t put clips on though! He had to have surgery!
    Have a great day!

    • Teresa April 16, 2015 at 9:57 am #

      It’s a pretty common problem in most mammals.

  15. Betty April 16, 2015 at 10:07 am #

    I guess that’s not an uncommon thing with goats. My goodness, they are a lot of work and worry.

    • Teresa April 16, 2015 at 10:08 am #

      It’s a fairly common problem in mammals in general. I’m just glad it can be easily corrected.

  16. Candy C. April 16, 2015 at 11:24 am #

    If this was the only problem with this year’s kidding, I would say it was an AWESOME year! Glad the little one is going to be okay. 🙂

    • Teresa April 16, 2015 at 12:55 pm #

      I would agree entirely!

  17. Jim April 16, 2015 at 12:50 pm #

    I’m glad that Mom could take her to the vet. Fawn is a cute kid, I know too, that she feels better now. That was a new one on me, our Karen had a closed tear duct when she was born. It wasn’t evident, or got worse, when she was about four. She needed surgery to get it opened up.
    ..

    • Teresa April 16, 2015 at 12:56 pm #

      It never ceases to amaze me at all the things that can go wrong. I guess it makes me even more grateful at how things went with this round of kidding.

  18. Alica April 16, 2015 at 3:23 pm #

    She’s sweet! I’m glad it’s something they can fix.

    • Teresa April 16, 2015 at 3:27 pm #

      Me too. 🙂 Seems to be one of the very few easy fixes with goats.

  19. Freda Mans April 16, 2015 at 7:28 pm #

    I bet she is happy to have the pain gone too. Awesome you noticed right away.

    • Teresa April 16, 2015 at 8:16 pm #

      I know this happens in my herd, so I always try to keep a close eye on them. 😉 She’s doing great!

  20. Anne April 16, 2015 at 10:55 pm #

    I like visiting your friends here. Oh sad to see little ones with eye problems. It is interesting how the vet can help the problem. Good thing for these kind hearted folks. My son has three dogs and I am care giver of two cats. We have a wonderful vet. I love the photos you share. Great smile makers! Have a nice weekend.

    • Teresa April 17, 2015 at 8:12 am #

      A good vet is extremely important! I’m certainly grateful for mine.

  21. Su-sieee! Mac April 16, 2015 at 11:15 pm #

    Glad to hear that her eyelid is going back to normal. if only there was a way that our animals could tell us how they’re feeling.

    • Teresa April 17, 2015 at 8:12 am #

      That would certainly be helpful. You’d never know it ever bothered her now.

  22. tracy April 19, 2015 at 12:04 pm #

    I am sorry I have not been commenting but making an effort from today
    I really love reading about your goat family if youre ever stuck for a name would love to have one named after my late Mother Beryl

    • Teresa April 19, 2015 at 8:37 pm #

      Beryl is a lovely name, and I have a doe that would be perfect. I do have to remind you that my little ones will all be leaving the farm though, so she won’t be here for more than a few more months.

  23. pattisj April 20, 2015 at 9:43 pm #

    Yay for a perfect season!

    • Teresa April 20, 2015 at 9:44 pm #

      It really was the kidding season we’ve been hoping for the last few years.

  24. Sandra April 22, 2015 at 7:58 pm #

    Poor Fawn, I hate anything near my eyes

    • Teresa April 22, 2015 at 8:21 pm #

      The clip has fallen off, and her eye is now perfect! It’s a short term discomfort that leaves her perfect!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

