Looking for a Llama

11 Apr

It’s generally not a good sign when you see a wake of vultures over the pasture.  They were feeding on the remains of a goose that a coyote got.

vulture

SOOC

I’ve decided I need to devote some time and energy to finding another llama to be a guardian of the herd.

cat in grass

SOOC

No matter how diligent Bob is, I’m not sure how my little livestock guardian cat would fare against a coyote.

orange tabby cat

I went to the sale barn today.  They had a huge assortment of animals (even laying hens), but do you think they had a llama?

Calves being unloaded

pot-bellied pigs

Goat at sale barn

Pony

Sheep

Pigs

Nope, so I’m still looking for a llama.

Sharing with SOOC Sunday

22 Responses to “Looking for a Llama”

  1. pattisj April 11, 2015 at 10:26 pm #

    Nope, no llamas to be had there.

    • Teresa April 12, 2015 at 8:07 am #

      It is where I got my last llama, but it’s not an every week occurrence that you see one there.

  2. Jeanne April 11, 2015 at 11:00 pm #

    I’ll bet you could find one in our neck of the woods! There are quite a few around the Willamette Valley! Oh! I know it’s too far! Just teasing! I hope you’ll be able to find one – and soon! And I hope it’ll be a nice one!

    • Teresa April 12, 2015 at 8:07 am #

      Well, I may have to travel to find one the way my search is going.

  3. Kimberly April 11, 2015 at 11:52 pm #

    Did you check craigslist farm and garden? People sometimes give them away. Be careful though. There are some really problematic llamas out there, and not all can be trusted with your other livestock. I have read it is best to get a female, because males even if castrated will try to breed your goats.

    • Teresa April 12, 2015 at 8:08 am #

      I have checked Craig’s List, and it’s not been successful. My last llama was a castrated male that was with my goats for 11 years, and he was fine. Of course, with any animal you have to be careful trying to integrate them.

  4. Jan April 12, 2015 at 5:07 am #

    Good luck in finding a llama. Yes; I’ve seen vultures down the road. Ugly creatures! Your animals are well worth the protection. Enjoyed photos;even though, besides Bob, they weren’t yours. 🙂

    • Teresa April 12, 2015 at 8:09 am #

      Thanks, Jan. Hopefully, I’ll be able to find a llama soon.

  5. TexWisGirl April 12, 2015 at 8:14 am #

    good luck. maybe the county animal shelter has a lead…

    • Teresa April 12, 2015 at 8:34 am #

      I checked on their web page, and they currently have no llamas. I’ll keep looking.

  6. Freda Mans April 12, 2015 at 12:16 pm #

    Beautiful animals. LOVE the horse!

    • Teresa April 12, 2015 at 12:24 pm #

      It really was a pretty little pony.

  7. S. J. Qualls April 12, 2015 at 2:59 pm #

    I hope you find a llama soon!

    • Teresa April 12, 2015 at 6:05 pm #

      Thanks. I didn’t know it was going to be this hard.

  8. Pat April 12, 2015 at 6:16 pm #

    Cute shots of the animals from the sale barn. Bob does look serious about his job.

    • Teresa April 12, 2015 at 6:22 pm #

      He’s always out there with us keeping an eye on everyone.

  9. Margaret April 13, 2015 at 1:24 am #

    Lovely animals for sell. I hope you find a llama soon!

    • Teresa April 13, 2015 at 6:37 am #

      Me too. I feel much better when I have one out there to keep coyotes away.

  10. Candy C. April 13, 2015 at 5:07 pm #

    I hope you can find a llama to help protect the goats. As much as Bob is trying to help, I don’t think he would have much luck against a coyote!

    • Teresa April 14, 2015 at 6:41 am #

      Bob has the heart of a lion, but he’s awfully small to go against a coyote. My vet is looking for me now.

  11. roth0003 April 15, 2015 at 4:42 pm #

    They’re some really cool photos! That first sow is amazingly large – I wonder how she manages to walk!
    I’d love to invite you to join in on this week’s Wordless Wednesday (on Tuesday) linky:
    http://image-in-ing.blogspot.com/2015/04/cat-on-ladder.html

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

