Dickcissel

28 Mar

When I was tracking Annie down in the pasture last night, I saw my first dickcissel of the year.

Dickcissel

It was nice enough to pose.

Sharing with Bird d’Pot

20 Responses to “Dickcissel”

  1. TexWisGirl March 28, 2015 at 8:30 pm #

    very cool.

    • Teresa March 28, 2015 at 9:42 pm #

      That must mean I remembered correctly after you taught me what it was last year! 😉

  2. Dawn March 28, 2015 at 9:29 pm #

    Great shot of the Dickcissel, don’t believe I have seen one before.

    • Teresa March 28, 2015 at 9:42 pm #

      I first noticed them last year. Very talkative birds.

  3. erin March 28, 2015 at 9:31 pm #

    What a lovely little bird. At first I thought he was some kind of thrush, but then saw the yellow stripe on his throat. A Dickcissel? Never heard of him. Sounds kinda’ like some dirty movie actor name. Lol!

    • Teresa March 28, 2015 at 9:43 pm #

      The name is a bit odd, but they are pretty birds. I love their song.

  4. Margaret March 29, 2015 at 12:13 am #

    Lovely shot.

  5. Eileen March 29, 2015 at 5:46 am #

    They are pretty birds, great sighting and photo. Happy Sunday!

    • Teresa March 29, 2015 at 9:21 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. I was happy to see him.

  6. Anni @ I'd Rather B Birdin' March 29, 2015 at 6:36 am #

    I haven’t seen one of these in a couple of years. They’re so pretty…especially when seen out in the field. Your photo is super.

    Thank you kindly for sharing this link at I’d Rather B Birdin’.

    • Teresa March 29, 2015 at 9:22 am #

      They kept me company most of last spring when I was playing hide-n-goat-seek. 🙂 Happy to see him back.

  7. fredamans March 29, 2015 at 2:30 pm #

    What a beautiful little bird!

    • Teresa March 29, 2015 at 8:12 pm #

      I love seeing them out there!

  8. Pat March 29, 2015 at 3:12 pm #

    Nice shot.

  9. Jeanne March 30, 2015 at 11:40 pm #

    What a beautiful bird!! Thank you! I’ve never seen one.

    • Teresa March 31, 2015 at 11:03 am #

      I do enjoy seeing them out in pasture. They have a great song too.

  10. Gunilla March 31, 2015 at 1:27 pm #

    A very pretty bird.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

