Visiting the Cow Girls

25 Mar

Just before Sallie had her kids, I visited my cow girls, Maxine and Norma Jean.  Although, they are no longer mine.

Norma Jean (back) and Maxine (front)

Norma Jean (back) and Maxine (front)

I sold Norma Jean to my ex-brother-in-law.  Maxine is a bit different.  He gets her, but he can’t sell her.  That way, if she can ever retire without busting through a fence looking for a bull, she can come home.

Red Gelbvieh cow

They are both bred and should have calves next month.

Gelbvieh cow

Of course, I visited right before they were cleaning out the barn and putting down new bedding, so it looks dirty, but it’s hard to keep clean in the spring.  The cows are all looking forward to going out on pasture for the summer.

Sharing with Good Fences even though there’s not much of the fence visible.

32 Responses to “Visiting the Cow Girls”

  1. Alica March 25, 2015 at 7:23 pm #

    Springtime and pen cleanout go hand in hand. Norma Jean has really grown up since the last time I saw her! How old is she?

    • Teresa March 25, 2015 at 7:27 pm #

      She will be three next month. Is that right? This will be her second calf.

  2. TexWisGirl March 25, 2015 at 7:47 pm #

    awww. good to see the girls, again, and know they’re being good cows. 🙂

    • Teresa March 25, 2015 at 7:53 pm #

      As long as Maxine gets her bull, she’s a happy cow. LOL

  3. TheChieftess March 25, 2015 at 8:14 pm #

    That last shot is fabulous!!!

    • Teresa March 25, 2015 at 8:18 pm #

      Thanks. It took Maxine several years to get on to modeling.

  4. annkitsuetchina March 25, 2015 at 8:55 pm #

    you gave Maxine to him?

  5. Margaret March 26, 2015 at 12:56 am #

    Lovely that you are able to see your girls again and to know they will have caves this year.

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 6:42 am #

      I get to see them whenever I want. It’s just hard to find time to go walk around the fields to find them.

  6. Jan March 26, 2015 at 5:55 am #

    Been awhile since any pictures of your cows,enjoyed. Hoping for healthy calves. Spring & “yuk” go together!

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 6:43 am #

      Well, they haven’t lived on my farm since early last summer. I know they are in good hands!

  7. EG CameraGirl March 26, 2015 at 6:51 am #

    Maxine and Norma Jean seem to e doing well. How nice of you to visit them!

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 7:58 am #

      Maxine thought I should have brought an ear of corn, but she seemed to like the face scratches too.

  8. ツ Knipsa March 26, 2015 at 8:19 am #

    Love Maxines fuzzy ears and beautiful eyelashes 😀
    Have a beautiful day
    【ツ】Knipsa <- my blog 🙂

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 8:40 am #

      I do love her fuzzy ears too. She’s a funny girl.

  9. Karen S. March 26, 2015 at 9:28 am #

    I just completely love their faces, always have and always will. When I was very little and would visit my grandpa’s ranch there was that one day that I learned real quick you can’t give them the kind of love I had ready to share! My cowboy grandpa flew in his cowboy boots faster than I’d ever seen!

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 9:44 am #

      Yeah. Some cows aren’t ready for that. Maxine likes to have her face scratched, but she shakes her head at you the whole time. Makes me laugh.

  10. Jeanne March 26, 2015 at 9:28 am #

    They’re looking very great! I had to chuckle at that fuzzy face and ears. I was thinking that you weren’t able to pet either one of them…? I’m glad you were able to work something out for the girls. How far away are they?

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 9:44 am #

      Norma Jean is pretty hands off, but Maxine doesn’t mind (especially if you bring her corn).

  11. Marie-AZ March 26, 2015 at 12:11 pm #

    They are sweet-looking cows!

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 1:31 pm #

      Thanks. Not sure they are really sweet, but I am fond of them.

  12. Ida P. Krause March 26, 2015 at 1:32 pm #

    Sweet cows. I do hope Maxine behaves herself and gets returned to you.

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 1:33 pm #

      I’m sure she won’t behave for a while. I’m not sure she’ll ever be able to stay home without having a calf or being bred. She’s determined to have calves. I’m just glad he has her.

  13. fredamans March 26, 2015 at 4:38 pm #

    Nice lookin’ girls!

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 6:21 pm #

      I think they’re pretty nice. They get good care with my ex-brother-in-law.

  14. Pat March 26, 2015 at 6:32 pm #

    It’s good to see they’re together and content. I love that last photo.

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 6:56 pm #

      And I thought it was considerate of them to be posing together when I arrived. 😉

  15. pattisj March 28, 2015 at 2:00 am #

    Aw, I miss seeing those girls. Glad you can still see them.

    • Teresa March 28, 2015 at 11:40 am #

      They’re usually out in the fields or pasture, so I had to make an appointment to go see them. Lucky that they were up by the barn.

  16. Marigold March 28, 2015 at 4:48 pm #

    Ah that is nice Maxine has a chance of coming home. I know you miss your big guy too, when you see these girls. Hugs to you!

    • Teresa March 28, 2015 at 9:41 pm #

      I do really miss MJ. He’s been the biggest influence on my life outside of my immediate human family.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

