Sick Day

24 Mar

I think walking around in the pasture yesterday when it was cold and damp was not good for my allergies.  By my third trip to try and find Annie (the one that was finally successful), my head and throat were killing me.  It’s definitely spring allergy season.

Embden Geese

I ended up staying home today.  I’m a bit worried about not being well before I have to do middle of the night checks on the goats this weekend and next week.  Luckily, after our rain today, the temperatures are supposed to warm back up and it looks dry for a while.  Hopefully, that will help.

Sharing with Wild Bird Wednesday and Alphabe-Thursday.  This week, the letter is S.  S is for sick or spring allergies.

48 Responses to “Sick Day”

  1. TexWisGirl March 24, 2015 at 3:06 pm #

    i’ll agree, it is certainly spring allergy season. hope yours doesn’t drag on too long!

    • Teresa March 24, 2015 at 3:08 pm #

      Thanks. I need to be healthy going into kidding.

  2. Jan March 24, 2015 at 3:11 pm #

    was surprised to see your early post until(duh) I read your headline. Do hope you feel better. This cold rain today isn’t nice at all. Take care!

    • Teresa March 24, 2015 at 3:12 pm #

      Thanks, Jan. Nothing else to do when you feel like this.

  3. Evelyn in Oregon March 24, 2015 at 3:12 pm #

    Sorry about your allergies! I have some friends here in NE Oregon who are really suffering right now, too. It seems early, but I guess the weather changes have also changed allergy season. The goats are so darned cute! Love little “Annie.” (My still life photo course is online….52 weeks long, so one “assignment” each week.)

    • Teresa March 24, 2015 at 3:13 pm #

      That sounds fun! I might have to try and find something like that. I always enjoy stretching my skills.

  4. Leovi March 24, 2015 at 4:54 pm #

    I love it, wonderful! Good catch !!

  5. fredamans March 24, 2015 at 6:04 pm #

    Hope you feel better soon!

  6. Marie-AZ March 24, 2015 at 9:54 pm #

    When I was sick for almost two weeks, I was sure it was allergies. Take good care of yourself…I hope you get well soon!

    • Teresa March 24, 2015 at 9:59 pm #

      Thanks. I don’t have that kind of time before kids start coming. Glad you’re better!

  7. Erika March 24, 2015 at 10:45 pm #

    Hope your feeling better soon. Your lucky you got only rain, I saw snow on the Decorah eagles nest.. Ugh to late in the year for snow can not believe how much snow still coming down back your direction and back east. Looking forward to this years baby goat videos if you make any 🙂

    • Teresa March 25, 2015 at 6:37 am #

      Thanks. It is still just March, so snow isn’t unusual. My area hasn’t been hit like the places out east.

  8. pattisj March 24, 2015 at 10:45 pm #

    I saw the pollen chart on the weather app–ours is spiking later in the week. Time to get ready! Hope you feel better.

    • Teresa March 25, 2015 at 6:38 am #

      Thanks. I better be past this by the time I’m checking goats all night.

  9. Margaret March 25, 2015 at 12:53 am #

    Hope you are well soon for all that work ahead of you.

    • Teresa March 25, 2015 at 6:38 am #

      Thanks, Margaret.

  10. Gattina March 25, 2015 at 2:23 am #

    That’s something a farmer should never have ! Spring allergies ! Poor you ! My mother had this so badly that she always got a shot in February just to help her over spring !

    • Teresa March 25, 2015 at 6:38 am #

      I agree. I’d be happy to give up the allergies.

  11. itsallaboutpurple March 25, 2015 at 9:18 am #

    ohhhhh, so sorry but at least it’s something spring related. i don’t believe it is ever going to show it’s face here!!!

    it was 20 degrees here at the shore this morning, with a hard frost on the grass!!!!

    • Teresa March 25, 2015 at 10:09 am #

      It has to show eventually. Hang in there!

  12. Jeanne March 25, 2015 at 9:58 am #

    So sorry you were feeling lousy, Teresa! I hope you’re better today! Do you take anything for your allergies? Our #1 daughter was noticing quite a few areas where the allergens were popping out, yesterday. She usually wears a mask (she makes her own) but hadn’t put it on before she started driving, so she had to tough it. Allergies are NOT fun!!

    • Teresa March 25, 2015 at 10:10 am #

      I do take something for seasonal allergies, but the cold and damp and must in the pasture was a bit much Monday. I am better today.

  13. John G March 25, 2015 at 10:36 am #

    Take care and get well soon!!

    • Teresa March 25, 2015 at 10:45 am #

      Thanks, John. I’m already improving.

  14. Rocky Mountain Woman March 25, 2015 at 4:19 pm #

    Oh dear, I’m dealing with it also. The cottonwoods outside my window are in full bloom and my sinuses are not happy about it.

    Feel better!!!

    • Teresa March 25, 2015 at 7:27 pm #

      I do hope your allergies improve. They are miserable.

  15. EG CameraGirl March 25, 2015 at 4:42 pm #

    Definitely hoping the weather improves!

    • Teresa March 25, 2015 at 7:27 pm #

      It’s supposed to! I’m counting on it for kidding next week.

  16. Anne March 25, 2015 at 5:26 pm #

    Feel better soon! I have just been miserable with Sinus issues this season. It is too early for all this pain and suffering! Aack! Great choice for Alphabe Thursday and your photos are always making me smile.

    • Teresa March 25, 2015 at 7:28 pm #

      Hope your allergies improve. They certainly did hit me suddenly.

  17. Jim March 25, 2015 at 11:51 pm #

    🙂 Get well fast, Teresa. Are those two white geese wild ones? The look big enough to be farm birds that you are raising.
    ..

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 6:42 am #

      Thanks. They are two of the Embden geese that live on my farm.

  18. SarahBeth ~ Along Magnolia Lane March 26, 2015 at 10:08 am #

    Hope you feel better soon! I know how those allergies can affect you — mine have been kicking up lately too!

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 10:23 am #

      I think it’s getting better. Just want to be much better before I start doing middle of the night kidding checks. Hope yours improve too.

  19. artmusedog March 26, 2015 at 4:22 pm #

    Sending you lots of ‘distant reiki healing hugs’ to feel better ~ Great shot !

    Happy Weekend coming to you,
    artmusedog and carol

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 6:21 pm #

      Thank you, Carol. This is a horrible time for me to feel ill. I hope you have a wonderful (and springlike) week!

  20. Buckeroomama March 26, 2015 at 8:57 pm #

    Do take care and I hope you feel better soon!

    • Teresa March 26, 2015 at 9:14 pm #

      Thanks. I’m sure I’ll live. It’s just a horribly inconvenient time not to be top shape.

  21. lmkazmierczak March 26, 2015 at 9:57 pm #

    I had a brief earache after going out without a hat…sinus problems/allergies are not fun….feel better soon♪

    • Teresa March 27, 2015 at 8:02 am #

      Thanks. It certainly is the time of year for all those allergy issues.

  22. Su-sieee! Mac March 26, 2015 at 10:19 pm #

    Hope your allergies are better as you’re reading this. Mine show up as eczema on my face. Yuck.
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    • Teresa March 27, 2015 at 8:02 am #

      Thanks. Hope you have a allergy-free spring.

  23. Heather March 27, 2015 at 8:10 am #

    It’s not springy enough here yet for allergies but I’m sure they’re not far behind! I hope you’re feeling better!

    • Teresa March 27, 2015 at 12:01 pm #

      I’m slowly getting better. Thanks. Hope you have spring soon (and avoid the allergies).

  24. splendidlittlestars March 30, 2015 at 10:29 pm #

    aaww. oh no! I hope you are feeling better by now.

    • Teresa March 31, 2015 at 6:14 am #

      Still bothered by allergies, but they are much better.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.