Rescuing Jules

18 Mar

With the chaos of Sallie’s kids and about a dozen other things going on, I forgot to let Leo and Jules in last night before I went to bed.  I called this morning, and Leo came to the house, but Jules didn’t show up.  I kept calling, and just when I was about to give up and go to work, I heard her answer me.  I kept calling and following her responses.  I finally found her.

Jules

Jules

I think she must have been on her way through the woods to visit Grandma because she was in the tree.  Well, she was sitting on the ledge where we had to cut half the tree down (No picture because it was dark and I was running late).

Tree_0021ew

I knew I couldn’t get her because it was probably 20 – 30 feet high, so I called my nephew and left her extraction in his and my son’s capable hands.  I mean, they’re not firemen, but they can surely handle removing one sweet cat from her perch on the tree.

ladder  w

By the time they got here, she had disappeared.  She had gone down into the crack where the squirrels live.  It was some kind of Goldilocks thing trying to sleep in their den.  No that’s not it.  No.  No. No. Wrong story.  Jules is an original fairy tale.  I didn’t know any of this until later, when I finally sent my son a text and asked if they had gotten her down from the tree.

text

What do you do with that?  I felt like Old Mother Hubbard because I didn’t know what to do.   Should I be more worried about my kid, my cat or my tree.  Really.  Anyhow, he got my mom to come help him (the nephew had defected) to call 911 if he fell off the ladder, and he proceeded to huff and puff and blow… I mean, he removed a hole from the tree.  (Really.)  They couldn’t find my poor kitten.  Maybe she was down in the hole looking for her mittens!

Tree hole_0023ew

They decided to go to my dad’s for more tools, but when they went to pull out of the drive, they saw she had climbed back up out of the crack.  Back they went and my son climbed the ladder again.

Tree_0022ewJules, being the coy little kitty that she is would enjoy him petting her, but she wasn’t about to get close enough to let him grab her (that’s why you shouldn’t tease a cat you might some day have to rescue).  Finally, she came within his reach, and he brought her down the tree.  Luckily, for her, he didn’t keep his word and kill her.  Instead, they brought her in the house and gave her a bowl of food.

cat by door_0018ew

By the time I got home, she was little Miss Innocent eating her curds and whey.  No. Wrong story again.  She was sitting at the door begging to go outside.  No way!

Sharing with Alphabe-Thursday for the letter R.  R is for Rescuing Jules.

52 Responses to “Rescuing Jules”

  1. Claire Moxon March 18, 2015 at 7:09 pm #

    That was funny! I mean, not for your son, but it made me giggle. 🙂

    • Teresa March 18, 2015 at 7:10 pm #

      I think we can all laugh at it now, but he was frustrated and I was a wreck at work.

  2. Alica March 18, 2015 at 7:11 pm #

    This is a new side of you, Teresa! 🙂 I was chuckling as I read…glad she’s ok! I just love tuxedos!

    • Teresa March 18, 2015 at 7:12 pm #

      I save most of my creative writing for the poetry blog, but sometimes, you’ve just got to embrace the silliness of life.

  3. Jennifer Gerhart March 18, 2015 at 7:13 pm #

    I am laughing so loudly the kids think I have lost it! Oh, that son of yours!!

    • Teresa March 18, 2015 at 7:14 pm #

      Bless my boy. I don’t know what I’d do without him.

  4. becca givens March 18, 2015 at 7:18 pm #

    A wonderful rescue and an entertaining narrative of it … glad Jules is now safe and sound … and no one was injured in the process! Happy Birthday, Teresa! 😀

    • Teresa March 18, 2015 at 7:20 pm #

      Thanks, Becca. She’s completely unaware of the angst she created today. Silly girl.

      • becca givens March 18, 2015 at 7:47 pm #

        They do have a mind of their own — and often in another world! Gotta love ’em! 😀

  5. TexWisGirl March 18, 2015 at 7:18 pm #

    oh, that naughty kitty! but i’m glad she’s safe (and your helpers, too!)

    • Teresa March 18, 2015 at 7:20 pm #

      Me too. I was worried when I hadn’t heard from them and even more worried after he answered me. LOL

  6. hedgewitch March 18, 2015 at 7:22 pm #

    So funny–if you didn’t have to actually do the rescuing or worrying. ;_) Glad your dear friend was saved from herself, and your family was there to help when needed.

    • Teresa March 18, 2015 at 7:23 pm #

      I have an awesome family! That cat has already gone through more lives than I can count.

  7. Jan March 18, 2015 at 7:26 pm #

    Loved this humorous adventurous little story! The love of our cats. But this was great reading tonight about your beautiful Jules!! Enjoyed so much! And so happy Mom didn’t have to call 911. 🙂 I’m sure you were worried sick.

    • Teresa March 18, 2015 at 9:10 pm #

      It was really hard not being there. So glad my son was around to help.

  8. Tracy March 18, 2015 at 7:27 pm #

    Too funny! Your son and I are on the same page about cats. I’m always threatening the lives of my cats too – they’re so troublesome!!! Empty threats, but they annoy me all the same… 😉

    P.S- Happy Birthday!!!!!! 😀

    • Teresa March 18, 2015 at 9:10 pm #

      Thanks, Tracy. He does like them, but I think he spent half his day trying to get her out.

  9. Jody Morris March 18, 2015 at 7:31 pm #

    What an adventure!

    • Teresa March 18, 2015 at 9:10 pm #

      It’s never boring around here!

  10. Audrey March 18, 2015 at 7:47 pm #

    Awww such an exciting and wonderful story

  11. Mary Ann March 18, 2015 at 7:49 pm #

    Oh my gosh, they were HEROES!

    • Teresa March 18, 2015 at 9:11 pm #

      They certainly are!

  12. TheChieftess March 18, 2015 at 8:02 pm #

    Being married to TheChief (retired police chief) I’ve heard many fireman stories and police stories…in one, someone called the fire depr to rescue a cat out of a tree but they declined to help. The concerned citizen then called the police department who proceeded to go out and turn a hose on the cat. When hubby asked the Fire Chief why they didn’t go out to help the cat he replied”has anyone ever found a cat skeleton in a tree?”

    • Teresa March 18, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

      Hahaha! Good point, but she really was down inside this one. I also think she could have seriously hurt herself if she tried jumping from that height.

  13. Anne March 18, 2015 at 8:05 pm #

    Oh that girl has your number! She knows how to get her way! LOL! I am just glad everyone is safe and happy. She should enjoy being indoors and safe, silly silly kitty. Always beautiful photo shares here and great story lines too! Thanks for sharing.

    • Teresa March 18, 2015 at 9:12 pm #

      Thanks, Anne. She is just a little wild woman!

    • Teresa March 19, 2015 at 7:48 am #

      She is certainly the queen of the place.

  14. Jim March 18, 2015 at 9:26 pm #

    Well what she misses in aiming to please she makes up for by being pretty. I see a horses face in that cut off part of the tree, the bottom picture.
    ..

    • Teresa March 19, 2015 at 7:50 am #

      She does have a certain attitude. No doubt about it.

  15. Jeanne March 18, 2015 at 9:32 pm #

    Good gravy!! What a tense story! You wrote it very well, but I didn’t laugh at all! I was too worried for Jules!! I’m so thankful she’s okay, and your son is fine, too! Will you have to do something about the tree?
    Is today really your birthday?? Just a month before mine! Have a Happy Rest Of Your Birthday!! 🙂

    • Teresa March 19, 2015 at 7:50 am #

      I would hope she learned her lesson about climbing that high.

  16. Karen Seek March 18, 2015 at 9:33 pm #

    OMG Teresa === they do pull our chains and our heartstrings– LOL –your story made my day in a day of my own trial’s !!! hugs and have a good night !

    • Teresa March 19, 2015 at 7:51 am #

      Glad you enjoyed it. I can laugh now that it’s done.

  17. pattisj March 18, 2015 at 11:29 pm #

    Oh my, what an adventure Miss Jules had! Maybe it was Alice, falling down the rabbit hole? 😉

  18. Margaret March 19, 2015 at 12:04 am #

    Great funny narration which made me smile. Glad all in well but lock up for a week for Jules!

    • Teresa March 19, 2015 at 7:53 am #

      We’ll see when I get brave enough to let her out again…

  19. Sandra March 19, 2015 at 2:52 am #

    Thank goodness your son was so good and obviously patient.

    • Teresa March 19, 2015 at 7:54 am #

      I’m afraid the patience was forced, but he is a good guy.

  20. SarahBeth ~ Along Magnolia Lane March 19, 2015 at 8:11 am #

    Oh, Jules, you are a sly kitty! Making your hoomans work like that! Glad you are safe and sound!

    • Teresa March 19, 2015 at 9:05 am #

      She is quite unaware of the angst she caused. LOL

  21. Rocky Mountain Woman March 19, 2015 at 1:22 pm #

    Just looking at that ladder makes me twitchy. Aren’t grown sons just the best thing sometimes???

    • Teresa March 19, 2015 at 7:14 pm #

      Yes! Especially when they climb ladders and are mechanics.

  22. Pat March 19, 2015 at 6:17 pm #

    A great rescue story midst that fairy tale mash-up. Bless your son and mom for getting her out of that tree.

    • Teresa March 19, 2015 at 7:15 pm #

      And I even messed up my fairy tales. Dang. I am very grateful that they were there to help her out.

  23. fredamans March 19, 2015 at 6:42 pm #

    Jules is quite a character, but she probably found warmth in the tree. Might be a good thing she found it that night, but hopefully it won’t happen again.

    • Teresa March 19, 2015 at 7:16 pm #

      Character is an understatement. That cat! I haven’t let her out again yet, but she loves going out.

  24. lmkazmierczak March 20, 2015 at 1:08 pm #

    Wow, that was quite the escapade….I’d say maybe one of her nine lives may have been used….clever story telling♪ http://lauriekazmierczak.com/recharging/

    • Teresa March 20, 2015 at 1:24 pm #

      This girl has already used up at least three of her lives, and she’s only a year old!

  25. Su-sieee! Mac March 20, 2015 at 1:26 pm #

    Great post! I verily enjoyed it and also happy that I did not have to experience it first-hand. Bravo to your son!
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    • Teresa March 20, 2015 at 2:08 pm #

      Yes, my son the hero!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

