A Quest

10 Mar

I went on a quest tonight.  I heard a bird in pasture the other night, and I went out there determined not to come back until I saw it.

It wasn’t the downy woodpecker.  They’re easy to spot, but it was fun to see them somewhere other than on my suet.

Woodpecker

It wasn’t the nuthatch either.  Although, I appreciated listening to him out in pasture.

Nuthatch

Nope.  The elusive bird I was looking for was the herald of spring, the robin.

Robin

I found one!  And look.  It might be a horrible picture because they were clear across the ditch, but I don’t care.  I think the grass is starting to get some green, too.  This certainly is cause to celebrate!

Sharing with Stewart’s Wild Bird Wednesday and Alphabe-Thursday where the letter is Q.  Q is for quest.

45 Responses to “A Quest”

  1. TexWisGirl March 10, 2015 at 8:59 pm #

    hooray! i heard some here two days ago so knew they were heading through.

    • Teresa March 10, 2015 at 10:10 pm #

      I was very glad to hear their song, and it was even better to see one today!

  2. Jan March 10, 2015 at 9:05 pm #

    Yes, I noticed the grass in places today & some perinials(sp); but no robins. Yippee! Seen many geese going to the marsh all morning. Come on Spring; we need you! 🙂

    • Teresa March 10, 2015 at 10:10 pm #

      I’ve seen a lot of geese too. Thought I might find some in the pasture this evening, but not yet.

  3. Margaret March 11, 2015 at 2:03 am #

    We’ll done for finding it. I do love the Woodpecker shot very much. My post today is especially for you and other bloggers that have had so much snow this winter. Enjoy.

    • Teresa March 11, 2015 at 6:54 am #

      I really can’t complain about my winter. We’re ready for kidding weather, but my winter wasn’t anything like those out east.

  4. Eileen March 11, 2015 at 3:15 am #

    Love the woodie and the nuthatch. And congrats on your Robin sighting.. Have a great day!

    • Teresa March 11, 2015 at 6:55 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. Wish I could have been closer for a better picture, but I’m still happy with seeing it.

  5. Jeanne March 11, 2015 at 4:35 am #

    YAY for the robin!! He looks rather elegant standing there, I think! I love them! The woodie and the nuthatch are pretty too!

  6. Jeanne March 11, 2015 at 4:37 am #

    P.S. Maybe I shouldn’t tell you this, but here in western Oregon, our lawns are green all winter, and even need to be mowed – sometimes once a month! Not quite fair, is it!

    • Teresa March 11, 2015 at 6:56 am #

      Well, I guess I could move, but I really do like all four seasons. It’s just time to get good weather for kidding. It looks like this upcoming week is perfect for drying out and really turning into spring.

  7. Gattina March 11, 2015 at 11:38 am #

    We have a woodpecker somewhere here around, I can hear it but never saw it !

    • Teresa March 11, 2015 at 11:43 am #

      I heard so many birds during my walk, but I couldn’t find a lot of them up in the trees.

  8. gerald March 11, 2015 at 11:59 am #

    the woodpecker is such a lovely bird

    • Teresa March 11, 2015 at 12:00 pm #

      They’re such friendly little birds. They are some of my favorites!

  9. Rajesh March 11, 2015 at 12:11 pm #

    Wonderful shots of the birds.

  10. fredamans March 11, 2015 at 3:40 pm #

    Indeed!
    I heard some springtime chirping out my office window and it perked me right up!

    • Teresa March 11, 2015 at 10:09 pm #

      It’s amazing what the sound of birds will do for the soul!

  11. Pat March 11, 2015 at 6:05 pm #

    I noticed today that a Robin has already started to build a nest under our eaves.

    • Teresa March 11, 2015 at 10:09 pm #

      Might be a little early for building a nest here, but the weather has been amazing!

  12. EG CameraGirl March 11, 2015 at 7:21 pm #

    Hooray for SPRING!

    • Teresa March 11, 2015 at 10:09 pm #

      A huge cheer for spring’s arrival!

  13. jesh stg March 11, 2015 at 10:19 pm #

    I had the same… can’t wait till the grass turns green! Now my grass is green, I wish I saw the birds you saw:) Great shots!

    • Teresa March 12, 2015 at 6:46 am #

      I’ve actually seen a hint of green! It’s been beautiful weather these last few days.

  14. Anne March 11, 2015 at 11:34 pm #

    I guess Spring is getting close. Those robins don’ like the cold weather much! Nice photos. Have a great weekend, it is coming up quickly.

    • Teresa March 12, 2015 at 6:46 am #

      It is nearly here! Feels like it’s already arrived.

  15. pattisj March 11, 2015 at 11:38 pm #

    Yay! You found it!

    • Teresa March 12, 2015 at 6:47 am #

      I wasn’t going to quit until I found it! Of course, hearing them a day earlier made me pretty confident when I started out.

  16. Outside The Click March 12, 2015 at 7:41 am #

    Beautiful pictures and hooray for spring.

    • Teresa March 12, 2015 at 7:50 am #

      Thanks. We’re certainly celebrating spring!

  17. artmusedog March 12, 2015 at 9:32 am #

    What a find, indeed! Wish a Robin would show up here soon ~ lovely pics!

    Happy Weekend to you,
    artmusedog and carol

    • Teresa March 12, 2015 at 11:08 am #

      Thanks, Carol. I do hope spring finds you soon!

  18. Buckeroomama March 12, 2015 at 11:07 am #

    Congrats on the robin sighting. I hope it does really mean that spring is on its way!

    • Teresa March 12, 2015 at 11:09 am #

      Me. So far, our spring-like weather is holding!

  19. Chris Rohrer March 12, 2015 at 12:38 pm #

    Spring is on the way!!!! Nice find! Good for you playing detective! One of my favorite parts about birding.

    • Teresa March 12, 2015 at 12:39 pm #

      I’ve really enjoyed finding all the different birds the last couple of years. Blogging has been good for motivating me!

  20. Anonymous March 12, 2015 at 4:57 pm #

    🙂 Your ‘quest’ paid off, Teresa. This happy little bird is doing his duty to all who can hear him/her heralding the signs of Spring that he found.
    I felt like him this morning, I ran in from bring the paper in and got my camera. The Ornamental Pear trees (three) in the front yard were almost solid white in bloom. My picture of them shows the trees with the holy tree in the foreground bright red with berries.
    The little Red Bud tree in the back side yard was blooming red, the blooms waiting until the leaves are ready to appear before they, the blooms, drop off. As I was walking down the driveway towards the back, a little bird must have seen all the blooms too. He/she was singing away. My ears said Robin but the bird was not to be seen. I did think of a ‘quest’ but decided against it.
    ..

    • Jim March 12, 2015 at 5:00 pm #

      That was me, Jim, above, guess I missed that the ID blank below was not filled. Okay now. 🙂
      ..

  21. Rocky Mountain Woman March 12, 2015 at 5:29 pm #

    How fun! I haven’t seen one yet, but now I’ve got my eyes open…

  22. DaydreamnWorld@gmail.com March 12, 2015 at 10:27 pm #

    I’m glad you saw a robin! Normally I start seeing them in February. I believe they just pass through here on their way north. However, this year I haven’t seen any. Perhaps they’re taking another route.

    • Teresa March 13, 2015 at 6:49 am #

      It’s usually March when we start seeing them.

  23. Su-sieee! Mac March 13, 2015 at 5:34 pm #

    Great post! I didn’t know that robins heralded spring. I saw our first robin a few weeks. I haven’t seen one since, but it sure has been feeling spring. Sometimes almost summery.
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    • Teresa March 13, 2015 at 6:52 pm #

      Yep! They disappear all winter around here.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

