The Change of Seasons

8 Mar

For the last couple of days, it’s been a serious good-bye to winter.  The sun is shining and bringing our temperatures up to above average.

Sunshine

I was surprised to find this little fellow going for a stroll across the patio.

Caterpillar

Out in the pasture, the snow is melting and the ditch is filling up.

Drop_0165ew

running water

This change means we’ve solidly hit the mud season.

Dolly_0265ew

Dolly Street (and her shadow)

With the warmer weather and the goats going out to pasture, they’ve decided their hay makes a nice place to stay dry.  Well, it might make a decent snack too.

Pistol_0082ew

Pistol Osboer

Did I mention there’s lots of mud?

Goose_0097ew

Chinese goose

I’m not even going to complain about it.  Well, for a few days at least.

Sharing with I Heart Macro, Macro Monday, and Shadow Shot Sunday.

27 Responses to “The Change of Seasons”

  1. Jan March 8, 2015 at 8:20 pm #

    Love the melting, but you’re right. It’s getting muddy; but I can handle that over snow! I seen one of those caterpillars today & I thought I was crazy;but touched it & it crawled! Very nice pictures this evening. Look forward to what you post every eve. Thanks! 🙂

    • Teresa March 8, 2015 at 8:33 pm #

      Glad to hear you enjoy my blog, Jan. I thought I was seeing things with the caterpillar.

  2. Jeanne March 8, 2015 at 8:43 pm #

    Well, we’ll see how long it’ll be before you complain about the mud! But even, when you do, I won’t blame you at all!! It can be such a pain!

    I’m surprised, too, that you saw the woolly caterpillar! He must be anxious for spring, too! 🙂

    • Teresa March 8, 2015 at 9:23 pm #

      I said a few days. 😉 I just hope it’s mostly gone by the time the kids arrive.

  3. TexWisGirl March 8, 2015 at 8:47 pm #

    we have lots of mud going on here, too. 🙂

    • Teresa March 8, 2015 at 9:23 pm #

      It’s a sure sign of spring!

  4. Gemma Wiseman March 8, 2015 at 9:39 pm #

    You’re goats look as beautiful as ever. The goose seems to be unpeturbed by the mud. His life goes on. The little caterillar is quite a hairy looking little guy. Great photos.

    • Teresa March 8, 2015 at 9:50 pm #

      Thanks, Gemma. The geese love this sloppy weather.

  5. Eileen March 9, 2015 at 5:05 am #

    We still have a lot of snow to melt before the mud… Great shots, my favorite is the one of Pistol.. So cute! Have a happy Monday and new week ahead!

    • Teresa March 9, 2015 at 6:44 am #

      Pistol is funny. I do hope you get good weather and start melting your snow.

  6. Mary Ann March 9, 2015 at 7:07 am #

    The Season of Mud has arrived!

    • Teresa March 9, 2015 at 11:03 am #

      It certainly has!

  7. Outside The Click March 9, 2015 at 8:40 am #

    Fantastic pictures. What a fuzzy wussy caterpillar.

    • Teresa March 9, 2015 at 11:03 am #

      I was really surprised to find it out there. We don’t usually see them in March.

  8. Abrianna March 9, 2015 at 1:27 pm #

    Love that first shot and your goat nestled in the hay is cute. ugh…mud season. i do not miss that!

    • Teresa March 9, 2015 at 1:31 pm #

      Mud season is kind of necessary to get to the beautiful part of spring. I just hope it’s not a long mud season this year.

  9. fredamans March 9, 2015 at 3:44 pm #

    We’re still having colder temps, just below 0… but at least I hear the birds chirping outside my window now,

  10. janicead March 9, 2015 at 3:58 pm #

    Always enjoy your posts. That one where Dolly Street is standing on the board while eating/drinking brought back memories of bridge plank walks to the outhouse!

  11. Pat March 9, 2015 at 4:16 pm #

    Better than snow!

  12. bettyl - NZ March 10, 2015 at 7:25 pm #

    Wonderful shots that prove spring is arriving!

    • Teresa March 10, 2015 at 8:07 pm #

      Thanks. I’m certainly celebrating spring’s arrival.

  13. Laura Hegfield March 13, 2015 at 11:10 am #

    What a beautiful series… so wonderful to see earth, here snow is still covering the ground. I’m a bit late making the rounds this week, this is not a reflection on my appreciation of your offering, thanks so much for sharing the love up-close with I Heart Macro:-)

    • Teresa March 13, 2015 at 11:19 am #

      Thank you so much for hosting each week. I truly enjoy your visits and seeing others’ macro shots.

  14. Pamela Smyk Cleary (PSC) March 15, 2015 at 2:54 pm #

    Fun photos — like a virtual stroll through your yard!

  15. pattisj March 19, 2015 at 5:25 pm #

    So far our warm days have been a tease, back to cold , and coats, again.

    • Teresa March 19, 2015 at 7:15 pm #

      We’ve cooled off some, but we’re at least staying above freezing. It’s still spring weather.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

