Birds for the Weekend

28 Feb

We’ve got snow flurries again.  This isn’t supposed to amount to much, but we’re still pretty cold.

Downy 50aw

I’ve been making sure to keep the feeders full.

Nuthatch 39aw

Some birds are really good about posing in exchange for all the food.

Dove 048ew

Others prefer to hide behind the branches of the cherry bush.

Cardinal 61aw

I just can’t seem to take a decent picture through the thick glass of my kitchen window.

Woodpecker 17aw

I’m also missing my new camera.  It’s being cleaned, but should be home any day.

Sharing with Bird d’Pot and SOOC Sunday (all but the dove are SOOC)

32 Responses to “Birds for the Weekend”

  1. Stewart Monckton February 28, 2015 at 7:17 pm #

    I do love that little woodpecker. I miss them!

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

    • Teresa February 28, 2015 at 7:44 pm #

      They are some of my favorites. Very friendly little ones.

  2. Jan February 28, 2015 at 7:42 pm #

    I think all your bird pictures are wonderful.That’s a very fair deal;fill the feeders & they pose! Ha! Have a great rest of the weekend!

    • Teresa February 28, 2015 at 7:45 pm #

      It works with some of them. Darn cardinal won’t stay close by though.

  3. pattisj February 28, 2015 at 10:17 pm #

    It’s nice when they pose!

    • Teresa February 28, 2015 at 11:21 pm #

      My sweet little downy woodpeckers are always posing. The nuthatches are pretty good too.

  4. Margaret March 1, 2015 at 1:21 am #

    A lovely selection still your feeders through your kitchen window.

  5. Gunilla March 1, 2015 at 1:58 am #

    Great birds all of them. I love the woodpecker.

    • Teresa March 1, 2015 at 7:59 am #

      I do love the little downy woodpeckers. They are friendly and let me get pretty close.

  6. B&W Blog HansHB March 1, 2015 at 2:50 am #

    Beautiful photos of these birds!

  7. Eileen March 1, 2015 at 5:07 am #

    I love the woodies and the nuthatch, great variety of birds! Enjoy your day!

    • Teresa March 1, 2015 at 7:59 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. You too!

  8. EG CameraGirl March 1, 2015 at 8:02 am #

    The birds here are very hungry looking. You do have a nice variety at your feeders.

    • Teresa March 1, 2015 at 10:35 am #

      There’s lots for them to eat around here. I do try to help out when it’s cold and the ground is covered in snow.

  9. Nonnie USA March 1, 2015 at 10:59 am #

    I too captured a cardinal thru my window. I saw “my” downy woodpecker only a few times this winter. I’ve added cracked corn to one of the feeders; the birds empty it in one day!

    • Teresa March 1, 2015 at 11:19 am #

      They do eat a lot!

  10. Mary Ann March 1, 2015 at 12:54 pm #

    Wait, what is your new camera? I’m having to shoot through windows, too 🙂

    • Teresa March 1, 2015 at 1:24 pm #

      These were taken with my old Nikon D3100. My new one is a D7100. My biggest problem is the old glass in my house. It distorts horribly.

  11. fredamans March 1, 2015 at 1:13 pm #

    Beautiful birds!

    • Teresa March 1, 2015 at 1:24 pm #

      They are! Love watching them.

  12. Pat March 1, 2015 at 2:59 pm #

    Lovely birds at your feeders.

  13. Lea March 1, 2015 at 6:19 pm #

    Love the birds!

  14. Betsy March 1, 2015 at 9:13 pm #

    You’ve shown all my favorite birds! Beautiful!

    • Teresa March 1, 2015 at 9:40 pm #

      Glad to hear that! These are my regular feathered friends at the feeders.

  15. Jeanne March 2, 2015 at 2:46 pm #

    Beautiful birds! I really love the Downies! I’m glad they’re so friendly. Silly cardinals need to take lessons from them on how to be friendly!

    • Teresa March 2, 2015 at 2:49 pm #

      That’s for sure! I love the downies too. 🙂

  16. Leovi March 3, 2015 at 5:48 pm #

    Great catch, pretty bird! Exquisite pictures!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

