A Big Appetite

24 Feb

I set a bowl of peanuts out for the squirrel.  After all, he convinced me that he was horribly cold and neglected and needed some.  (Don’t tell Millie and Bud.)

peanut bowl 019ew

I noticed my bowl was emptied, but I never saw who took them.  I hadn’t seen the squirrel.  I hadn’t even noticed any blue jays around.  So who showed up when I refilled it?

Nuthatch 076ew

The nuthatch!

Nuthatch 082ew

Nuthatch 085ew

He actually carried that whole peanut off!

Sharing with Wild Bird Wednesday.

26 Responses to “A Big Appetite”

  1. Jan February 24, 2015 at 7:35 pm #

    Wow;I never thought the nuthatch was your culprit! Good for him. Guess they wanna eat too. Do they hoard I wonder;or do they eat them fast? Interesting. I made some homemade bird food yesterday & put out;I’ll have to add some shelled peanuts next time! 🙂

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 7:57 pm #

      I’m guessing they use that impressive beak to open it and eat the peanuts out. I was surprised he took it all though.

  2. Mary Ann February 24, 2015 at 7:37 pm #

    I want some nuthatches here 🙂

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 7:57 pm #

      They are fun to watch. They are such active little birds.

  3. TexWisGirl February 24, 2015 at 7:37 pm #

    what a cutie.

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 7:57 pm #

      They are! I do enjoy watching them.

  4. mishunderstood February 24, 2015 at 7:57 pm #

    We just did the same thing here with some hazelnuts left over from mixed nuts at Christmas. They disappeared during the day….wish I could have seen the squirrels carry them off….well, at least I think it was squirrels! 🙂

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 7:58 pm #

      I don’t think the squirrel has even gotten one yet. LOL

  5. Tracy February 24, 2015 at 8:08 pm #

    Goats everywhere would riot if they saw what you did with those peanuts! 😉

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 8:13 pm #

      I know. That’s why I said not to tell Millie or Bud. I have too many goats to walk out there with peanuts. LOL I do need to sneak some out to Millie though.

  6. Erika February 24, 2015 at 9:13 pm #

    So cute. I have never heard of this bird before. Hope your weather is going to warm up soon for you.

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 9:15 pm #

      They are such fun, active little birds. I love watching them!

  7. Margaret February 24, 2015 at 9:19 pm #

    I am sure he thought that he had hit the jackpot that day. That peanut is nearly as big as his head!

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 9:32 pm #

      I know! I couldn’t believe he could actually pick it up and fly away with it.

  8. Eileen February 25, 2015 at 5:23 am #

    I love the cute nuthatches, great series.. Have a happy day!

    • Teresa February 25, 2015 at 2:38 pm #

      Thanks, Eileen. You too!

  9. Lea February 25, 2015 at 9:04 am #

    Great series of photos with a surprise ending!

    • Teresa February 25, 2015 at 2:39 pm #

      Thanks, Lea. I was surprised with who was eating the peanuts.

  10. Jeanne February 25, 2015 at 10:35 am #

    What a cute story!! The nuthatch is very pretty – I’ve never seen one. Wouldn’t it be fun to see where he took it and watch him eat it – or whatever he did!! I won’t say a word to Millie!

    • Teresa February 25, 2015 at 2:39 pm #

      It would be fun to see how he managed to eat it. I’m guessing that long pointy beak was good for opening it up.

  11. pattisj February 25, 2015 at 2:06 pm #

    Your secret is safe with me. Cute Nuthatch. I’ve seen a Tufted Titmouse carry them away, too. Guess you do what you can when you’re cold and hungry.

    • Teresa February 25, 2015 at 2:40 pm #

      The weather was pretty nice that day. Now today, is cold and nasty. I just filled the feeders for them again.

      • pattisj February 25, 2015 at 2:50 pm #

        We got a couple inches of snow Tuesday, sunshine today melting it, 3-6″ of snow, sleet, and 25 mph winds expected tonight. Thankfully, I only have to go out to fill feeders.

      • Teresa February 25, 2015 at 3:52 pm #

        Crazy weather this winter!

  12. Pat February 25, 2015 at 3:37 pm #

    Cute little culprit. Probably stashing them away.

    • Teresa February 25, 2015 at 3:54 pm #

      They certainly emptied the bowl in no time flat!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

