I Lived

23 Feb

Sometimes, I participate in memes that make me quite philosophical.  Today, the song for Song-ography is “I Lived” by One Republic.  For some reason, this song had me thinking of my animals.  I have so many getting older and with those old age illnesses.  I only hope that I know when the time is right.  I want them to live every second they have, but I don’t want to make them suffer.  That is the hardest part of loving animals.

Hope when you take that jump, you don’t feel the fall

Snickers

Snickers

I owned every second that this world could give

Miss Joe Jo Street

Miss Joe Jo Street

I swear I lived. 

I’m also sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun.

22 Responses to “I Lived”

  1. Jan February 23, 2015 at 7:22 pm #

    Putting my snautzer down lately; this touched me tonight. It was so very hard for Dave & I, but we knew we didn’t want him suffering any longer.But loving him as we did & still do;we knew! Love the connection with the song so much. Liking your picture of Snickers & Miss Joe Jo. Awesome.

    • Teresa February 23, 2015 at 7:34 pm #

      Thanks, Jan. I’m so sorry you lost your snautzer. It’s never easy to do the right thing. ❤

  2. Tamar SB February 23, 2015 at 8:26 pm #

    So sweet and so true. Hope they are living out their little lives and enjoying every second!

    • Teresa February 23, 2015 at 9:30 pm #

      I do my best to keep them happy. I was snuggling with both Joe and Snickers tonight. Millie had her turn last night.

  3. Margaret February 24, 2015 at 1:06 am #

    With you looking after them all will have been a good life for them. You will do the right thing at the right time.

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 6:46 am #

      Thanks, Margaret. I do try.

  4. Eileen February 24, 2015 at 5:48 am #

    Cute shots of your animals.. I am not familiar with the song, I will have to listen to it. Have a happy day!

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 6:47 am #

      I love that about Song-ography. I get to hear a lot of new songs.

  5. Outside The Click February 24, 2015 at 6:35 am #

    Great picture, Snickers is a beautiful cat.

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 6:47 am #

      Thanks. My son has always said he was a magnificient specimin.

  6. Alica February 24, 2015 at 8:20 am #

    Love that picture of Snickers!

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 7:09 pm #

      Thanks. He is a very regal boy.

  7. Jeanne February 24, 2015 at 9:42 am #

    I can certainly sympathize with you on this one. We love our little furry ones, and hate to see them failing, but don’t want them to suffer. The mini Schnauzer I have now is the fifth one for our family, and she has Cushing’s Disease. It’s tough. But we’re trying to keep her feeling well. The hardest one was #4 – she was my special one. Nearly did me in when I had to have her put down. I still miss her after 14 years. But I know you will do well in taking good care of your beasties!
    Have a good day!

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 7:10 pm #

      So sorry she isn’t well. It is hard watching them. I’ll certainly keep you and her in my thoughts.

  8. kmcblackburn February 24, 2015 at 10:26 am #

    The sign of true love, putting the needs of others before our own. And knowing the time to do so. Seeing how much you care and love these special family members, I have no doubt you’ll know when the right time is. Thanks for sharing at Song-ography.

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 7:10 pm #

      It truly is keeping their needs ahead of that desire to hold onto them. Not easy. Thanks so much for hosting and making me get philosophical.

  9. kim February 24, 2015 at 7:07 pm #

    Kitty looks like he owns it all! Love that image!

    • Teresa February 24, 2015 at 7:10 pm #

      He certainly does!

  10. Carol B. February 25, 2015 at 5:34 am #

    So very true. The animals are given to us but for a time to enjoy.

    • Teresa February 25, 2015 at 2:38 pm #

      It’s not fair that they have shorter lives. 🙂

  11. Pat February 25, 2015 at 3:58 pm #

    So true. Owning an animal is an awesome responsibility,

    • Teresa February 25, 2015 at 4:12 pm #

      But completely worth it. ❤

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

