Scavenger Hunt Sunday Again

22 Feb

This week the items for Scavenger Hunt Sunday are:  makes me happy, hidden, one, dessert, and modern.

Makes Me Happy:  It makes me happy to see the goats going out to pasture sometimes this winter.  It helps them get rid of excess energy so they are less likely to kill me while I’m trying to do chores.

Goats in pasture

Hidden:  I’m also happy to know that hidden, not too far beneath the snow, is spring.  It’s just waiting to burst forth.  Maisie also has kids hidden in there waiting to burst forth in about a month.

Maisie

Maisie

One:  Helen is just one of my seventeen goats that is due to kid at the end of March.

Helen

Helen

Dessert:  Bambi seems to think the scrub cedar tree makes a yummy dessert.

Bambi

Bambi

Modern:  I’m grateful for modern medicine.  I currently have two animals on antibiotics.  Bob was beat up again. I’m so tired of cats that don’t belong here coming onto my farm and picking on my cats.

Bob Cat

Bob Cat

His eye is doing better.

Bud is also on antibiotics as of today.  One of the problems with doing the bladder marsupialization was the higher risk of infections.  I noticed that he was looking a bit puffy and wet.  Today when I checked him more closely (I had checked Thursday), it was obvious he has an infection.  He got a shot today and will get another on Tuesday.

wether goat prepubis

Hopefully that will take care of it.  He still acts good and is happy.  Hopefully, as he gets farther from the surgery and we get better weather, he’ll get his immune system built back up and we won’t have to deal with this.

25 Responses to “Scavenger Hunt Sunday Again”

  1. Tamar SB February 22, 2015 at 4:51 pm #

    I bet they love being back out to pasture!

    • Teresa February 22, 2015 at 5:15 pm #

      It’s only on the not so cold days when they feel like it, but it does help their moods.

  2. Eileen February 22, 2015 at 5:03 pm #

    I love the first shot, going out to pasture.. Sweet kitty, sorry he is being picked on! And I do hope your poor Bud get better too.. Love the goats and photos.. Have a happy week!

    • Teresa February 22, 2015 at 5:16 pm #

      Thanks, Eileen. Bob’s eye is improving, and I’m hoping Bud will be back to normal in a couple more days.

  3. erin February 22, 2015 at 5:58 pm #

    What goat wouldn’t be happy with a pasture like that? It’s beautiful. What kind of surgery did Bud have?

    • Teresa February 22, 2015 at 6:27 pm #

      Bud had a bladder marsupialization. They pretty much redid all of his plumbing and his bladder opens directly to the outside, which is why there is a higher risk of infection. I’m lucky to still have him.

  4. Pat February 22, 2015 at 6:39 pm #

    Those goats sure look eager to get to the pasture. Poor Bob. Guess he’s got to defend his territory. Hope you feel better!

    • Teresa February 22, 2015 at 6:44 pm #

      I’m much better. Bob is adamant that other cats won’t be here. Sadly, they like my barn and Stella’s food in this cold weather.

  5. Jeanne February 22, 2015 at 6:49 pm #

    Awww, poor Bob ‘n’ Bud!! I hope they’ll both be better soon! I had to take my little mini Schnauzer to her doc on Tuesday – bladder infection! Antibiotics. We have to hide her pills inside some cheese, and have another piece of cheese ready as a “chaser” or we can’t get them down her!! Twice a day! Tsk! Shots are much quicker, but more painful, and Sadie loves cheese!

    • Teresa February 22, 2015 at 6:50 pm #

      Glad Sadie takes them with the cheese. I just make Bob man up and squirt it down him. Shots are much easier with the goats. I can’t do goat pills very well at all. Most don’t even come in pill form for goats.

  6. Abrianna February 22, 2015 at 6:59 pm #

    Helen has beautiful colors. I too get tired of other cats coming into my yard and harassing my cat. If I see it I spray the offender with water, but you don’t always see it.

    • Teresa February 22, 2015 at 7:49 pm #

      I think I have three trying to overwinter in my garage. 😦 Helen is a beautiful brat. 🙂

  7. Jan February 22, 2015 at 8:40 pm #

    Really like the one with all of the goats running. Poor Bud;hoping he gets better & Bob;he’s such a pretty boy. Yes,He’s protecting His domain. Praying for healthy kids for you. You sure have some beautiful mommas! 🙂

    • Teresa February 22, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

      Thanks, Jan. I’m sure Bud will be better now that the antibiotics are on board. I just hope this isn’t a continuous problem.

  8. pattisj February 22, 2015 at 9:25 pm #

    I always enjoy seeing how you work in the Scavenger Hunt items. That’s a lovely shot of Maisie. Glad Bob’s eye is doing better. Poor Bud! He’s had a time of it.

    • Teresa February 22, 2015 at 9:32 pm #

      Some weeks it is a challenge to get all the Scavenger Hunt items. Bud is such a great guy. He never complains through all of this. I hope this is the only time we deal with infections.

      • pattisj February 22, 2015 at 9:36 pm #

        Sometimes you have to get creative, and I think that is wherein the fun lies. I hope so, too, on the infections.

  9. Margaret February 23, 2015 at 1:56 am #

    Loved reading all of them. Great first shot.

    • Teresa February 23, 2015 at 6:47 am #

      Thanks, Margaret!

  10. Täysin arkista February 23, 2015 at 3:49 am #

    Love your photos. So nice, that the are all of animals. So sorry for your cats.

    • Teresa February 23, 2015 at 6:47 am #

      My scavenger hunts usually are animals. The blog is all about the farm. 🙂

  11. Coloring Outside the Lines February 23, 2015 at 8:43 am #

    Sorry about your cats- I don’t understand people who think it is ok to let their animals roam like that. People who do that should not be able to own animals- I call that neglect. I’m glad Bud is feeling better, I hope he is back to his old self soon.

    • Teresa February 23, 2015 at 6:20 pm #

      I wouldn’t care about them coming over here if they wouldn’t fight. That’s what kills me. Bud is already looking a bit better. Love my antibiotics when they are necessary.

  12. fredamans February 23, 2015 at 3:12 pm #

    I hope Bud gets better soon!

    • Teresa February 23, 2015 at 6:21 pm #

      He already looks less puffy. I’m sure a couple more days will have him back to normal.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

