When It’s Cold

17 Feb

We’re cold again, and it doesn’t look to improve for a while.  That means I do chores outside and then try to hibernate.  I’m trying to make sure the wild birds also have plenty to eat.

Nuthatch

The cardinal was back.

male Cardinal

I was trying to get a picture of the pair of downy woodpeckers and the nuthatch, but this was the only one I got before Mrs. Downy and the nuthatch took off.

nuthatch and downy woodpeckers

Mr. Downy is way more cooperative.  He’ll stay there for me to photograph.  He doesn’t care who’s around.  He’s fine with the sparrows.

sparrow and downy woodpecker

He’ll even share a branch with the cardinal.

cardinal and downy woodpecker

I really do like Mr. Downy.

Sharing with Wild Bird Wednesday

26 Responses to “When It’s Cold”

  1. TexWisGirl February 17, 2015 at 7:07 pm #

    very cute feeder buddies.

    • Teresa February 17, 2015 at 8:51 pm #

      I’m glad to have them hanging around right now.

  2. Jan February 17, 2015 at 7:30 pm #

    very nice pictures of our winter birds. Love them all! Yes-please try & stay warm!

    • Teresa February 17, 2015 at 8:51 pm #

      I will! Hope you do too.

  3. Shey February 17, 2015 at 9:15 pm #

    Very cute captures. Looks like a happy bunch with the full feeders.

    • Teresa February 17, 2015 at 9:33 pm #

      They do like their food.

  4. Lea February 17, 2015 at 9:40 pm #

    Lovely!
    We are feeding the birds here, too.

    • Teresa February 17, 2015 at 9:44 pm #

      I’m sure they appreciate it! They certainly do here.

  5. Margaret February 17, 2015 at 10:37 pm #

    Beautiful selection of garden birds.

    • Teresa February 18, 2015 at 6:41 am #

      Thanks, Margaret!

  6. Eileen February 18, 2015 at 5:55 am #

    Wonderful collection of birds. I am sure they appreciate the food, while it is so cold out there. Stay warm and have a happy day!

    • Teresa February 18, 2015 at 6:41 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. You too!

  7. Laura Hegfield February 18, 2015 at 8:16 am #

    so much life and color in the “dead” of winter… beautiful Teresa… time for me to get outside for a walk on this frigid, beautiful sunny day! (with snowshoes:-)

    • Teresa February 18, 2015 at 7:03 pm #

      Hope you stay warm out there! Enjoy your walk.

  8. Mary Ann February 18, 2015 at 9:18 am #

    I love that you feed the wild birds, too! They bring me so much pleasure here.

    • Teresa February 18, 2015 at 7:03 pm #

      They need it too!

  9. BumbleVee February 18, 2015 at 11:51 am #

    I find they don’t all like sparrows..hehheh….. and, I will never get over the brilliant colour of cardinals…never ….

    • Teresa February 18, 2015 at 7:03 pm #

      The cardinals are beautiful!

  10. fredamans February 18, 2015 at 2:11 pm #

    Downy Woodpecker is my fave for sure, but I really love them all!

    • Teresa February 18, 2015 at 7:04 pm #

      I love the red-bellied woodpeckers, but they downies are so friendly!

  11. Pat February 18, 2015 at 6:06 pm #

    Nice shots. I love to watch the birds at the feeders.

  12. Stewart Monckton February 19, 2015 at 4:53 am #

    What a great collection of birds – I don’t mind the cold, and these would make it a treat!

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

    • Teresa February 19, 2015 at 6:47 am #

      I do like winter, but I’d appreciate temps a bit closer to normal.

  13. Jeanne February 19, 2015 at 7:11 am #

    I enjoyed your photos as I always do! We’re still feeding several hummingbirds. We also have some other birds that like to come and check out our compost pile. The most striking of those are the varied thrushes, but they only come when there is more snow on the higher elevations.

  14. Marie-AZ February 19, 2015 at 10:44 am #

    Delightful captures!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

