Thrown Together Scavenger Hunt

31 Jan

I have to admit, with things being so busy, I rushed to put together tonight’s post for Ashley’s Scavenger Hunt Sunday.  The items were:  Saturday Morning, I Made This, Keepsake, Number, and Sweet Tooth.

Saturday Morning.  I woke this morning to find that my poor injured hen had died.  It is a blessing that she is no longer in pain.  I also saw the ducks leave the farm this morning, and for the first time in about fourteen years, there are no ducks at Eden Hills.  I’m sad about the whole ordeal.  But life goes on, so I made Snickers his breakfast of poached egg.  I’m so glad my mom has loaned me her vintage egg poacher.

egg poacher

Sweet Tooth.  My nephew Brandon tells me that my chapel wine will cause cavities by drinking just one glass.  It might be sweet, but it is my favorite.    Since I didn’t want to set up a whole light stand for this picture, I’m also using it for Shadow Shot Sunday.

Wine and flower

I Made This:  I made the wine (well, my family and I), but I also made this soap.  My latest fragrances have been added to the on-line market.  They are Nag Champa and Neroli.

Nag Champa & Neroli

Nag Champa & Neroli

Number:  I carefully counted to six and nicked the seed coat and placed these louffa seeds in the water. Tomorrow I’ll plant them.  I’m really getting anxious to garden.  There aren’t many things I can start this early, but the gourds require a longer growing season than we have in Iowa, so I have to start them now.

luffa seeds

Keepsake:  I have several feathers from my white peacock.  I do treasure them.  He was such a beautiful bird when he would show his plumage for the girls.  I do miss him.

White Peacock Feather

This is the best I could do with the crazy week.  Hopefully, the coming week will be a bit calmer.

20 Responses to “Thrown Together Scavenger Hunt”

  1. Jan January 31, 2015 at 8:28 pm #

    so sorry for your hen.too bad.14 years with ducks & now,not to have any-that’ll be very different! All your photos & write-ups tonight are great!White peacocks are beautiful. Nice you can make poached eggs in your moms pan. 🙂

    • Teresa January 31, 2015 at 8:36 pm #

      Thanks, Jan. It was eerie quiet out there doing chores this afternoon without the ducks constant talking. I will miss them, but they had to go.

  2. TexWisGirl January 31, 2015 at 9:04 pm #

    glad the ducks have been rehomed. and glad the poor hen is no longer suffering.

    • Teresa January 31, 2015 at 9:18 pm #

      I’m very glad she’s not in pain anymore. I’m grateful my sister took them. I do hope they get along up there.

  3. Gemma Wiseman January 31, 2015 at 10:24 pm #

    Your poor hen did have a rough run. But i am sure she knew she was loved. The wine glass (and shadow) is so beautifully presented. And the feather looks so beautifully delicate and light.

  4. Margaret February 1, 2015 at 12:47 am #

    Loved reading this post today. Glad the hen is not suffering. Love the image of the wine glass.

    • Teresa February 1, 2015 at 7:53 am #

      Thank you, Margaret. I’m very glad the hen is no longer in pain.

  5. Eileen February 1, 2015 at 3:44 am #

    Sorry about the hen, but at least she is no longer in pain..Great shadow shot. Happy Sunday!

    • Teresa February 1, 2015 at 7:53 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. It is a relief that she’s no longer suffering.

  6. Jeanne February 1, 2015 at 3:47 am #

    Very pretty pic of the wine in the glass! I like the way the shadow shows the color and the flower adds a really nice touch! The white peacock feather is lovely.
    I really feel badly for your poor hen, and sad for you, as well.

    • Teresa February 1, 2015 at 7:54 am #

      Thanks, Jeanne. I thought I deserved a glass of wine last night. 😉

  7. magicalmysticalteacher February 1, 2015 at 9:59 am #

    I especially like the photo of the egg—so beautiful in its simplicity.

    Shadows on Snow

    • Teresa February 1, 2015 at 10:23 am #

      Thanks. Today was a good day for simple.

  8. diankelly65 February 1, 2015 at 11:25 am #

    You did very well today!

  9. Abrianna February 1, 2015 at 12:33 pm #

    Sorry that the ducks had to leave and that your hen died from the aattack. Your sopas are pretty and that peacock feaather is lovely aand delicate.

    • Teresa February 1, 2015 at 3:55 pm #

      It was a shock to me that the ducks would be so mean. It’s for the best that they are gone. My sister will give them a good home. Thanks.

  10. Tamar SB February 1, 2015 at 5:05 pm #

    So sorry about your hen!
    The white feather is really pretty.

    • Teresa February 1, 2015 at 5:38 pm #

      Thanks. She is much better off now.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

