Maxine and Firecracker Joe Return Home

15 Jul

Saturday morning, when my nephew came to pick up the little boys for the sale, he brought Maxine and her baby, Firecracker Joe, home.  He turned them out to pasture, and they both seem quite happy out there.

Gelbvieh calf

Gelbvieh cow and calf

Gelbvieh calf

I love my busy, busy evenings of checking on the cattle and making sure none of the new little kids get left behind.

sunset

It’s my favorite time of day to take pictures too.

Linking to Tuesday Muse and Mandarin Orange Monday.

Edit:  I’m so far behind in visiting blogs I didn’t know about the wonderful new meme hosted by You’ll Shoot Your Eye Out called Song-ography.  This first week’s song for inspiration is Homeward Bound.

36 Responses to “Maxine and Firecracker Joe Return Home”

  1. Erika July 15, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

    so adorable. Happy cow appreciation day!!!!! 🙂

    • Teresa July 15, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

      Thanks. Maxine is certainly happy to be home, and Joe was running around.

  2. TexWisGirl July 15, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    oh, joe looks so big already! yay for getting them home!

    • Teresa July 15, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

      He’s so tall! When he moves, you can tell he’s still really young.

  3. Alica July 15, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

    Firecracker Joe sure is a handsome guy! Love the coloring…I thought I was always partial to black, but I might be changing my mind! What are your plans for him?

    • Teresa July 15, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

      He was banded. 😦 Someday, he’ll disappear and then I’ll get a check in the mail. I supposedly already agreed to this. That way I can’t make any stupid emotional decisions this fall.

  4. S. J. Qualls July 15, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

    Firecracker Joe – good name! Cute!

    • Teresa July 15, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

      Well, he was born on July 5th. 🙂

  5. LB July 16, 2013 at 5:54 am #

    That second pic of their heads together is adorable x

    • Teresa July 16, 2013 at 8:14 am #

      Joe was really wanting to get his mom to play with him. It makes me wish I had another calf to keep him company and play with.

  6. Candy C. July 16, 2013 at 7:06 am #

    The evening light makes for some beautiful pictures! 🙂

    • Teresa July 16, 2013 at 8:14 am #

      Thanks. It’s my favorite time to go out and take pictures.

  7. kim July 16, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    The babies are so adorable. I want to nuzzle one!

    • Teresa July 16, 2013 at 8:57 am #

      He is a sweet boy! He does like his attention.

  8. Vuslat July 16, 2013 at 9:10 am #

    Çok seviyorum sizin bloğu seyretmeyi. Çiftliğiniz çok güzel..

  9. Pat July 16, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    Joe and Maxine head to head – so cute!

    • Teresa July 16, 2013 at 10:28 am #

      He was really loving on his mom. 🙂

  10. Lori@LorikArt July 16, 2013 at 6:20 pm #

    The whole series is so warm, calm and beautiful. The subtle changes from orange to grey in your MoM entry are fantastic. I also really like the one above it with the patterns of grass across it.
    Thank you so much for sharing on Mandarin Orange Monday:)

    • Teresa July 16, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

      Thanks. I love the warm light in the evening to photograph the animals out in the pasture. 🙂

  11. Stacia July 16, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

    In my next life, I want to have the name Firecracker Joe. Or Joann, depending on how it turns out. They are lovely!

    • Teresa July 16, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

      Thanks, Stacia! Since he was born on July 5th, it seemed like a good idea.

  12. Kathy July 16, 2013 at 11:36 pm #

    Can I tell you how much I adore tht golden light and how it illuminates the ear and face in that first shot?!? Brilliant capture. So glad they are back home :). So appy you were able to join in on Song-ography this week ;). Hope to see you next Sunday for James Taylor’s “Up on the Roof”!

    • Teresa July 17, 2013 at 8:24 am #

      This is such a wonderful idea for a linky party! I love it. The evening is my favorite time to go out and shoot the animals because of that golden light. 🙂

  13. Gattina July 17, 2013 at 4:51 am #

    Adorable photos !

    • Teresa July 17, 2013 at 8:27 am #

      Thank you, Gattina.

  14. Nancy @ A Rural Journal July 17, 2013 at 8:38 am #

    Awww — welcome home! Lovely captures Teresa. 🙂

    • Teresa July 17, 2013 at 9:05 am #

      Thanks, Nancy. I’m glad they’re back.

  15. kadee July 17, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

    Nothing… NOTHING.. melts my heart more than the face of a cow. Well, perhaps a goat but cows really do call to me. Good to find you here through Song-ography! And to see that you’re in Iowa.. spent 10 years in Clive where I grew to love the rural countryside. And no, people, Iowa is not flat as a pancake. Trust me, I rode my bike on many a trail! Have yet to do RAGBRAI but maybe someday.

    • Teresa July 17, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

      RAGBRAI is next week! I certainly have to agree that Iowa isn’t flat. Glad you stopped by.

  16. Nancy July 17, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    The lighting in these photographs is wonderful…Nothing better than the end of a day to get that warm light….

    • Teresa July 17, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

      Thanks, Nancy. It is my favorite time of day to go out and photograph the animals.

  17. EG CameraGirl , Canada July 17, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

    It’s such a nice time of day to take photos. It’s wonderful that Maxine and Firecracker Joe are happy!

    • Teresa July 17, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

      I’m glad to have them back home and see the little guy out there running around.

  18. My Inner Chick July 17, 2013 at 6:28 pm #

    I shall NEVER eat cow again. He is stunning!

    • Teresa July 17, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

      I quit eating meat ten years ago. 🙂

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.