Waiting for the Green

6 Apr

I’m still anxiously waiting for green.  I think it’s been since last June that we actually had green pastures.

Marley, Boeris & Fionn

Marley, Boeris & Fionn

The sun has been out and warmed our temperatures.

sun through clouds

Now we need rain.  We did have a few sprinkles today, and we have real rain in the forecast for this week.

sun through clouds

We’ll all be happier when there’s a bit of green out there.

sparrow

Embden geese

Canada goose

robin

Some birds might even be able to find a worm if we get some rain.

Linking to SOOC Sunday.  All the pictures are straight out of the camera today.  I’m also linking to Bird d’Pot and Homestead Barn Hop.

22 Responses to “Waiting for the Green”

  1. Coloring Outside the Lines April 6, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

    We’ve had just a bit…enough for the horses to nibble on. Hope it comes your way soon.

    • Teresa April 6, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

      Thanks. We’re supposed to get a couple of inches the first part of the week.

  2. TexWisGirl April 6, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

    hoping you get the rain you so desperately need!

    • Teresa April 6, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

      I can’t believe how cracked the ground is.

  3. Barbara F. April 6, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

    That cloud looks like an angel to me, Teresa! Beautiful sky. xo

    • Teresa April 6, 2013 at 9:26 pm #

      It was beautiful. Of course, I’d like to see some rain falling from those clouds. 🙂

  4. Alica April 6, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

    Wishing you rain…and then green! I guess the goats can put up with a little mud if it means green pastures! 🙂

    • Teresa April 6, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

      I hope so. Of course, there won’t be much mud at all because it’s so dry. It will just soak in.

  5. Shey April 6, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    Hope you’ll get lots of rain. Love the sliver of light through the hole in the clouds. Great shots.

    • Teresa April 6, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

      Thanks. It was really beautiful out there with the rain clouds and sun.

  6. Boom & Gary April 7, 2013 at 7:00 am #

    Love the sun shots!! Boom & Gary of the Vermilon River, Canada.

    • Teresa April 7, 2013 at 9:17 am #

      Thanks. I am really enjoying our longer days!

  7. HansHB April 7, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    Lovely photos! Well done!
    We do have a lot of snow at the moment. Please, come and get some…

    • Teresa April 7, 2013 at 9:17 am #

      I want rain! I want green grass! I don’t think the snow would help with that.

  8. Anni @ I'd Rather B Birdin' April 7, 2013 at 7:44 am #

    I know what you mean about ‘getting some rain’…it’s that way here also.

    Great photos as always!!! Love the white goose in profile…

    • Teresa April 7, 2013 at 9:18 am #

      Thanks. I hope you get some rain too. 🙂

  9. Lavender Dreams April 7, 2013 at 11:18 am #

    Some of the photos look like black and white…but it’s always fun to see critters. We get brown here because we need rain but most areas are pretty green! Enjoy your Sunday!

    • Teresa April 7, 2013 at 11:36 am #

      We’re dead from winter, but it’s so dry the grass can’t turn green. We’re supposed to get rain this week, and that should really help.

  10. fibromom1 April 7, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    Exact same weather conditions/needs here but our ground is nice and soft so I’m seeing GREEN here and there.
    I LOVE YOUR PHOTOGRAPHY! What camera/lenses do you use?

    QUESTION ABOUT BLOAT:
    My 3 goats were miserable all day yesterday/last evening. I forced 1/3 C olive oil down everyone’s throats and walked them… and me… then my husband walked them… walk walk walk.
    Today, they are still way bloated (haven’t eaten since late afternoon the day before yesterday.) How long does this bloat from a (STUPID ON MY PART) rapid switch in hays + they got loose and broke into the grain barrel last?
    I’m so concerned. Remember, all 3 are pg and due week 1-week 2 of May.

    • Teresa April 7, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

      Bloat from overeating can kill them. If they have diarrhea, they will probably be okay. If they are not pooping, you need to put as much mineral oil down them as you can (1 cup or more) to help work the grain through their systems. It might help to massage their left side where the rumen is. Walking helps. You can give them a dose of banamine for comfort. You can give them penicillin for two or three days to help prevent liver damage.

  11. Candy Conrad April 7, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    I have my fingers crossed that you get some rain soon! It looks terribly dry there. 😦

    • Teresa April 7, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      We are still in severe drought. I’m hoping for the rain this week, but that’s still only one to two inches, which will help. We really do need a lot of rain.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

