Hoarfrost Fences

7 Mar

I woke this morning to a beautiful winter wonderland.  The whole world was still and covered in giant frost crystals.

sunrise hoarfrost

The magnolia tree was covered.

hoarfrost on magnolia bud

hoarfrost on magnolia tree

So was the crabapple tree.

crabapple hoarfrost

The evergreen bushes were also looking beautiful in their white covering.

hoarfrost on evergreen

hoarfrost on evergreen

Even the bird feeders and the shepard’s hook had little crystals spiking from them.

hoarfrost

My favorite, however, is what it does to the fences.

hoarfrost on fence

hoarfrost on fence

hoarfrost on fence

hoarfrost on fence

hoarfrost on fence

hoarfrost on chicken wire

hoarfrost on fence

What an amazing sight!

Don’t forget I am giving away a copy of my novel that was just published.  You can click the book cover in my sidebar to enter.

Linking to Rurality Blog Hop, Friday’s Fences, Farmgirl Friday, and Skywatch Friday.

60 Responses to “Hoarfrost Fences”

  1. TexWisGirl March 7, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

    really, really awesome!:)

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

      I love when we get this thick foggy frosty weather! Of course, it would have been better if I had gotten to stay home and take more pictures.😉

  2. Candy Conrad March 7, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

    I really love the chicken wire all frosted up, too cool!!:)
    We don’t get that kind of frost here, I guess there isn’t enough moisture.

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

      Warm and cold. It’s frozen fog. I love when this happens because it means there is no wind and it’s perfect silent white beauty.

  3. Tayet March 7, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    WOW! That is really cool looking! It’s super warm here in WI. Did all your frost melt?

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

      The sun broke through the fog, and it was all melted within a short time. It was beautiful while it lasted though.

  4. Alica March 7, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

    This is just beautiful!! That first one is my absolute favorite, but they’re all so pretty. We don’t have anything like that around here, and I’m just amazed every time I see it!

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

      It’s not often we get it, but when we do it is just magical!

  5. Barbara F. March 7, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    Great photos, pretty to look. 😉 xo

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

      Thanks so much! It really was beautiful this morning.

  6. karenharveycox March 7, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    Such magnificent photographs of Jack Frost. I can’t even imagine how you can capture the magic of snow so perfectly. I think you might carry a bit of magic dust behind your lens. Beautiful.

    Karen

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

      Thank you. I really was rushed to try and take pictures before I left this morning. There wasn’t a lot of thought in these pictures.

  7. Lynne @ eyeing lynne's camera lens March 7, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

    WOW! Beautiful capture. Love the first one. Happy Skywatching!

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

      Thanks. There’s something magical about the hoarfrost.

  8. BiTi March 7, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

    Those are so beautiful captures. Our first linky party is on at:

    http://www.pret-a-vivre.com/2013/03/ready-to-waltz-party-time.html

    We hope you can join us, have a great weekend!

  9. Eileen March 7, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    Beautiful frosty wonderland! Lovely images, I hope you are staying warm there. Happy Skywatching and have a great day!

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

      It was perfect! Thanks for stopping by.

  10. Namaki March 7, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

    a frozen sun !

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

      It truly looks like it! Luckily, the sun burned through to give us a beautiful day.

  11. sylviakirk March 7, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

    What a magical looking land and what superb captures, Teresa! Otherworldly!! Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

      Thank you! I love when we get this beautiful hoarfrost.

  12. Tammy March 7, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

    Gorgeous photos!! I love hoar frost.. it is such a treat to the eye.. and photographer. And you have captured it perfectly:) Hey, I didn’t know you authored a book! Where have I been? I will check it out! -Tammy

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

      The book is brand new! I love when I have the chance to photograph the hoarfrost. Unfortunately, I had to rush to work this morning.

  13. Shane March 7, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    This is a winter wonderland for me! I’ve never seen a hoar frost – we don’t even get snow where I live!!
    Wonderful images – I can see how snowflakes are made now!!
    Thank you for visiting my blog.
    Sending you some summer sunbeams from my corner of the world!
    and a Kiwi hug too!
    Shane ♥

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

      Thanks so much! I really do enjoy having all four seasons!

  14. JDaniel4's Mom March 7, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    What amazing pictures! I don’t think I have ever seen this before.

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

      It is truly a beautiful phenomenon. Thanks for stopping by.

  15. Marie-AZ March 7, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

    Just glorious! So beautiful!

  16. Madge @ TheViewFromRightHere March 7, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

    Wow, that frost is like nature’s art, isn’t it?? Love that first shot with the amber moon… Thank you for joining in ‘Rurality Blog Hop #5’ Hope to see you next Wednesday for #6…

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

      Surprisingly, it’s actually the sun behind the fog. Thanks for hosting!

  17. Heather L March 7, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

    Amazing photos–love some of those macros!

  18. Leave It To Davis March 7, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    Ooo, you are sooo right…the fences are magical! It’s like the snow is a little artist making snow sculptures! Love it!

    • Teresa March 7, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

      Mother Nature is a wonderful artist!

  19. lulubelleliz March 8, 2013 at 12:35 am #

    An amazing set of frosty pictures. I love them. Thjank you.

    • Teresa March 8, 2013 at 6:49 am #

      Thanks. It certainly was beautiful to wake up to it.

  20. Gattina March 8, 2013 at 2:08 am #

    Although you pictures are very beautiful, I am so happy that we are going towards spring ! Little things start blooming and I purr like a fat cat !

    • Teresa March 8, 2013 at 6:50 am #

      I am looking forward to all the babies we’ll soon have.

  21. ladyfi March 8, 2013 at 2:50 am #

    What stunning shots of the hoar frost!

    • Teresa March 8, 2013 at 6:50 am #

      Thank you! It is beautiful.

  22. Nancy March 8, 2013 at 5:12 am #

    I love hoar frost — we’ve had quite a bit of it this winter, but nothing like what you have in your photos, Teresa! Gorgeous!

    If you don’t mind — I’m going to post a link to your giveaway in my sidebar. It’s the least I can do after you were such a good sport about my book post this week. Lol.

    • Teresa March 8, 2013 at 6:51 am #

      I certainly do appreciate it! This is the first time this year we’ve had such a frost. It is beautiful!

  23. Janis March 8, 2013 at 8:15 am #

    Stunning photos. I do love the snow on the fences…only mother nature can do that kind of artwork!

    • Teresa March 8, 2013 at 8:27 am #

      And she is a very talented artist!

  24. Ellen March 8, 2013 at 9:19 am #

    Beautiful pictures!

    • Teresa March 8, 2013 at 9:28 am #

      Thanks, Ellen. It was a wonderful sight to wake up to.

  25. Beth March 8, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    awesome shots. i’m trying to figure out what soaps to try – so many choices. any suggestions for you – since you make them all?? ( :

    • Teresa March 8, 2013 at 9:31 am #

      Thanks, Beth. Soaps really are very personal. If you like fragrances, there’s lilac or Beach Breezes that are quite popular. If you want gentle and good for the skin, I’d recommend Oatmeal Honey, Calendula Honey or Calendula. The Cornmeal Lemongrass is good for exfoliating and grime.

  26. Dorothee Lang March 8, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

    wonderful images. there is magic in winter. thanks for sharing – will go visit your book now. congratulations on it:)

    • Teresa March 8, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

      Thanks so much. It truly was a beautiful morning!

  27. Latane March 8, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    Magnificent!! I’ve never seen hoar frost but it looks magical.

    • Teresa March 8, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

      It really is magical. With no wind and the fog, it’s silent and beautiful.

  28. Pat March 8, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    Gorgeous. That first shot is amazing.

    • Teresa March 8, 2013 at 6:13 pm #

      Thanks! It really was a beautiful sight to wake up to.:-)

  29. Ebie March 8, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

    I hope those frost won;t hurt the buds!

    • Teresa March 8, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

      Me too. It’s really too early for them to be budding.

  30. Stewart M March 10, 2013 at 4:49 am #

    Wonderful pictures – especially on a very hot night!

    Stewart M – Melbourne

    • Teresa March 10, 2013 at 7:41 am #

      Glad to give you a bit of cool relief. :-)

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

