Archive | 6:43 pm

Homemade Ravioli

25 Nov

Probably  a year-and-a-half ago, I bought a ravioli maker.

It seemed like something fun to try, but I never managed to get around to trying it out, until this weekend!

I used my grandmother’s noodle recipe, and made a double batch:

2 eggs

1 Tbsp milk or cream

1 tsp. oil

1/2 tsp. salt

Mix together and add enough flour until stiff.  Roll out on floured board very thin.

I tried my own version of filling.

1 1/4 cup chopped mushroom

1 1/4 cup sausage crumbles

1/4 tsp onion powder

1 tsp sage leaf

1/3 cup parsley

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

2 eggs

Sautee the mushroom and sausage.  Add the spices and cheese.  Once it’s cool, add the egg.

Then I used the ravioli maker to put them together.

They have to dry an hour and then turn them and let them dry another hour.

 

Then I cooked them until almost done before I layered them with spaghettis sauce and mozzarella cheese to bake at 350*.

I think the results turned out pretty darn good!

EDITED:  If you are going to freeze these, I would definitely decrease the amount of sage.  The flavor really got a lot stronger with being frozen.

Linking to Homestad Barn Hop, Clever Chick’s Blog Hop and You Capture where the theme this week is lunch.