Green Tomato Spiced Cake

30 Sep

I was going to share some pictures from the farmer’s market yesterday, but that post got bumped with Mushu’s passing.  I decided to put that post on my photography blog if you are interested.  I decided I’d go ahead with my recipe for green tomato spiced cake here tonight.  It was inspired by the market where one vendor had picked her green tomatoes.

As a wonderful marketing tool, she had made green tomato cake and was giving away free samples.  She also had the recipe to hand out.  Unfortunately, I never made it down to her table to pick up the recipe.  I figured it couldn’t be too hard.  After all, it was just spice cake.

Start with the green tomatoes.  I washed them and removed any spots and the core.

Then I put them in the food processor until they were fairly finely chopped.

I put them back in the bowl and sprinkled them with a teaspoon of salt and let them sit for about ten minutes.  Then I drained the excess juice off by pouring it into the colander.

I used three small and one large tomato and just barely got my three cups.

In a large bowl mix 1 cup oil, 2 cups sugar and 3 eggs.  Beat it until it is smooth.

Add the three cups of prepared tomatoes.

Then add 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/2 teaspoon ginger, and 1 teaspoon vanilla.

Add 1 teaspoon baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon baking soda.  Add 3 cups of flour.

Once it is thoroughly mixed, pour it into a 9 x 13 sprayed (greased) cake pan.

Bake at 350* F for about an hour.  Mine took 55 minutes.

Once it’s cool, frost with cream cheese frosting.

So far, it’s had all good reviews from my family.

It’s a great way to use up those green tomatoes before the killing frosts come.

Linking to Macro Monday and Homestead Barn Hop.

43 Responses to “Green Tomato Spiced Cake”

  1. lindamakiej September 30, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    wonderful macro shot! And thanks for the recipe!

    • Teresa September 30, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Sharon Qualls September 30, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    Sounds icky to me but looks rather tempting! 🙂

    • Teresa September 30, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

      I admit I was a bit skeptical until I tried it. 🙂

  3. kateri September 30, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    Thanks for the recipe. I have mountains of green tomatoes. I think I might adapt this a bit to make muffins…

    • Teresa September 30, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

      That does sound yummy!

  4. Jama-Singapore October 1, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    Beautiful macro and that recipe looks easy and yummy.

    • Teresa October 1, 2012 at 6:24 am #

      It was really easy, and it seems to have been quite popular with my family.

  5. trkingmomoe October 1, 2012 at 4:17 am #

    Wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Mimi Foxmorton October 1, 2012 at 4:39 am #

    Nummy!
    But now you went and made me crave fried green tomatoes!
    Haven’t had them in years…….!
    🙂

    • Teresa October 1, 2012 at 6:25 am #

      I finally just tried them a couple of years ago. I’m not quite sure on them fixed that way yet.

  7. Katrin October 1, 2012 at 5:04 am #

    We don’t eat green tomatoes in Germany and all I came up wirth recently was putting them onto a BBQ … thanks for the receipe! And I love especially the first shot, the light dots on the tomatoe …

    • Teresa October 1, 2012 at 6:26 am #

      This is the best way I’ve found to use them yet!

  8. Molly October 1, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    I have never eaten any sort of tomato cake… yes tomato bread but not cake… this looks yummy though

    • Teresa October 1, 2012 at 6:26 am #

      It really was good.

  9. Lil' Suburban Homestead October 1, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    I would never have guessed in a million years you could make a cake with green tomatoes! Very cool thanks for sharing!

    • Teresa October 1, 2012 at 8:00 am #

      You can, and it’s delicious!

  10. Pat October 1, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    Now I know what to do with all those green tomatoes still on the plants!

    • Teresa October 1, 2012 at 9:31 am #

      It really is a delicious way to use them up. 🙂

  11. Coloring Outside the Lines October 1, 2012 at 8:58 am #

    Reminds me of my first experience with fried green tomatoes- I just knew I was going to love it…NOT!! But spice cake does sound delicious right now.

    • Teresa October 1, 2012 at 9:33 am #

      I was unpleasantly surprised with the fried green tomatoes too, but this was good.

  12. Jan October 1, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    My mom loves all things green tomatoes – I must pass this on to her! Lovely shots!

    • Teresa October 1, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

      Glad you’re happy to share. I usually make relish with my green tomatoes, but that’s it. Now I’m thinking I might have to make another one of these cakes.

  13. Tricia October 1, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    LoL! Your page loaded & I saw green tomatoes & immediately wanted some fried green ones… but this looks & sounds really good, too! =)

    • Teresa October 1, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

      This is way better than fried green tomatoes!

  14. Angela October 1, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    I have so many green tomatoes! With night temps dipping into the forties, I know they won’t turn in time. Defi Italy trying your recipe! Thanks!

    • Angela October 1, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

      *definitely…silly autocorrect… 🙂

    • Teresa October 1, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

      I hate auto-correct. Hope you like the recipe. My family certainly didn’t complain about it!

  15. Gunilla October 1, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Sounds delicious. My mom used to make pickled green tomatoes.

    • Teresa October 1, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

      I have a sweet pickle relish recipe that uses green tomatoes, and it is wonderful. I can see how they would be good pickled.

  16. Candy C. October 1, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    Does it have a bit of green tomato tang? I guess it would be about the same as adding carrots or apples. My tomatoes have stopped ripening so this is going on the menu for this week! Thanks!! 🙂

    • Teresa October 1, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

      It really doesn’t have much of a tang. Every once in a while I thought it might, but then it’s gone. If you really want to make sure there isn’t any, you could up the amount of cinnamon. It’s not overly spicy.

  17. Claire October 1, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    Oh this is so neat! I think the cake sounds amazing. So creative 🙂

    • Teresa October 1, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

      I was intrigued as soon as I heard the vendor had green tomato cake.

  18. Herding Cats October 2, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    That looks really good!

    • Teresa October 2, 2012 at 6:51 am #

      It is! Definitely a keeper recipe.

  19. James October 7, 2012 at 1:49 am #

    My family loves green tomatoes. We use them in chow chow and we also pickle them. This is yet another wonderful way to use green tomatoes. Thank you!

    • Teresa October 7, 2012 at 7:27 am #

      I love anything that can be made into cake! 🙂 I’m afraid the last of my tomatoes froze last night though.

  20. Jen October 10, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Cant believe that I missed this yummy post… well yeah I can, its been crazy busy here lately. The cake really does look so good. My husband just wrinkled his nose when I said I was gonna make it… lol. Hes so silly. I bet hes gonna love it.

    • Teresa October 10, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

      I’ve had several people tell me they tried it and really liked it. You just should tell the hubby what your making until he already tries it. 🙂

  21. Rose Street Reflections October 12, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    I just made this. It is a great cake! It doesn’t taste like a green tomato when cooked, but the flavor goes well with the spices and the taste lends itself very well to the sweetness of the cream cheese frosting. Yummy! Thanks for sharing this!

    • Teresa October 12, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      I’m glad to hear you liked it! I love sharing these fun recipes.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

