Goldfinches

4 Jul

The state bird of Iowa is the Eastern Goldfinch.  I’ve seen quite a few of them this year.  I was excited to look out the window and find one sitting on my front fence.

It wasn’t long before the bird left the fence for a delicious treat of catnip seeds.

Their favorite food, however, is thistle seed.  Lucky for this one that the goats left a few.

I love these bright birds.  I did learn that I really need to wash my front window if i want a clear picture too.  Something about those cats’ nose prints on the glass that makes it fuzzy.

On a totally different topic, I’m going away.  Yep, I’m actually taking a vacation. I should have posts going up regularly, but if you don’t hear from me, it’s because my Internet access will be limited to non-existent.  I’ll try to catch up when I get back to visit everyone and read/respond to every comment that is left.

Linking to Jenny Matlock‘s Alphabe-Thursday where the letter of the week is G.

Linking to World Bird Wednesday and Rural Thursday hosted by Nancy at A Rural Journal and Lisa of Two Bears Farms

60 Responses to “Goldfinches”

  1. TexWisGirl July 4, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    i love the goldfinch in the thistles. be safe. enjoy time away. i know all your animals will miss you.

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

      It will be hard leaving them, but I have good people here to help out.🙂

  2. Maria (Personalized Sketches) July 4, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    Sweet goldfinches! Love all your photo captures.

    Blessings & Aloha!
    Enjoy your travels!

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

      Thanks. It was nice to see one so close to the house.🙂

  3. Tina´s PicStory July 4, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    beautiful G! great shots🙂

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

      Thanks. I really need to wash the cat nose prints off the window.🙂

  4. Raw Thoughts And Feelings July 4, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    They are so so pretty! I love their colors of yellow and black.
    I bought some thistle seeds since I saw some flying over, but the sparrows ended up eating them all😦

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

      I’m sure they all like those thistle seeds. I’ve seen more goldfinches this summer than I usually do.

  5. EG CameraGirl , Canada July 4, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

    Goldfinches are wonderful to watch – such funny, friendly birds. I hope you enjoy your time away!

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

      Thanks. I’m certain my vacation will be great. Just wish it would be a bit cooler so I didn’t have to worry about the animals while I’m gone.

  6. vbr July 4, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    What a beautiful little bird this is. Great letter g post.
    Have a wonderful vacation. You work so hard, you deserve to have a nice rest and relaxing time doing anything you want to do!

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

      Thanks. It will just be a short trip, but I do plan to enjoy it!🙂

  7. Lola July 4, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Such beautiful captures – as always!

  8. Pat July 4, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    Goldfinches add so much beauty to the landscape.
    Enjoy your vacation! You’ve certainly earned one!

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

      Thanks. It will certainly provide a much needed break.🙂

  9. Candy C. July 4, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    What a beautiful little bird! I hear ya’ on the “kitty noses” on the windows! LOL!!
    Enjoy your vacation!!🙂

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

      I figure I might as well wait until I get back from vacation to wash them.🙂 No sense doing it any sooner than I have to.

  10. Larry Jordan July 4, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    Nice shots of the American Goldfinch Teresa! I really like the last two shots of him in the thistle! My first time to your blog, I really like it.

    We raise Pygmy Goats and I’m planning on renting them out sometime soon for land clearing. I’m working on a new blog on the Pygmy Goats at http://pygmygoatstogo.com/

    Have a wonderful vacation and I know how you feel about leaving your goats behind. I’m sure they’ll be fine😉

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

      So glad you enjoyed your visit. I’ll try to stop by at your blog soon. Thanks for the well wishes. I wouldn’t worry near as much if it weren’t so blasted hot.😦

  11. andy July 4, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

    My friend,
    Simply beautiful pictures. Wish I could touch him/her. Thanks for sharing.

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

      Thanks. They really are beautiful birds.

  12. Anonymous July 4, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    Enjoy your vacation!! Lovely pics of the goldfinch. I saw my first one in Portland, OR last year. They are so vivid!

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

      They truly are! I will certainly enjoy my vacation.

  13. Alica July 4, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    Love those vibrant colored birds! Hope you have a great vacation!

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

      Thanks! I’m sure it will be a blast!🙂

  14. Erika July 4, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

    Fuzzy windows or not, the pictures are beautiful. The one with the thistles had me thinking it was something I would like to sketch.

    have a great trip!

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

      It really would make a great sketch or painting with the variety of color and texture.

  15. Marigold and the Goatmother July 4, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Aren’t they awesome? We have them, but ours seem a bit smaller and the beak isn’t as orange as yours. Have a SAFE trip and have loads of fun! I KNOW you will and I have requested photos…at least one.🙂

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

      There are already teaser photos on Facebook. I might have to e-mail you.🙂

  16. Esther Joy Hunter July 4, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    I love goldfinches! Great pictures!

    • Teresa July 4, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

      Thanks. They are such beautiful birds.🙂

  17. Coloring Outside the Lines July 5, 2012 at 1:52 am #

    I think the nose prints add beauty to the photos! Pretty bird!

    • Teresa July 5, 2012 at 6:51 am #

      Maybe I should use it as a new texture!🙂

  18. Stewart M July 5, 2012 at 2:55 am #

    Hi there – what a great bird – such a splash of colour.

    SM

    • Teresa July 5, 2012 at 6:51 am #

      They really do brighten up the scenery!

  19. JDaniel4's Mom July 5, 2012 at 5:57 am #

    Enjoy your trip! I can’t believe how close you get to the birds!

    • Teresa July 5, 2012 at 6:52 am #

      That’s the benefit of a dirty window (they don’t notice you). A good zoom lens also helps.🙂

  20. Jen July 5, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    One of my favorite birds that visits my yard all year long… they’re just alittle treat to hear & watch. Enjoy your vacation🙂

    • Teresa July 5, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

      Thanks! I’m certainly going to have fun.

  21. Sue J. July 5, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    prettiest — and cheeriest — thing in our backyard are the finches. great captures on your part.

    • Teresa July 5, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

      Thanks. They really do brighten the yard!🙂

  22. Carole M. July 5, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    beautiful bird to see out there; I love yellow-birds!! I think of canaries when I see one on here. Lovely for you to see it for real…

    • Teresa July 5, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

      It has been nice to see them this year.🙂

  23. splendidlittlestars July 5, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    They’re such pretty birds! They like my echinacea.
    Have a wonderful trip!

    • Teresa July 5, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

      Thanks. I was surprised how well s/he liked the catnip.

  24. AZ July 6, 2012 at 12:20 am #

    Beautiful! A yellow bird amid purple flowers is such a delightful combo🙂

    • Teresa July 6, 2012 at 6:01 am #

      It really is the perfect combination!

  25. Judie July 6, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    I love it when the finches come to our feeder! They are sooo sweet. Your photos are wonderful.

    • Teresa July 9, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      It’s really been a treat to see so many this year.

  26. Wanda July 6, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    Pretty–I especially like the ones with the thistle plant. Enjoy your vacation!

    • Teresa July 9, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

      I do love seeing them out in the pasture!

  27. anita July 7, 2012 at 12:15 am #

    Beautiful birds. Enjoy your vacation!!

    • Teresa July 9, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      Thanks so much. It has been wonderful!

  28. Nancy July 7, 2012 at 7:38 am #

    I love these bright birds — such a treat to see them!

    Enjoy your well-deserved time off, Teresa — Thank you for sharing at Rural Thursdays this week. xo

    • Teresa July 9, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      My pleasure. I certainly am enjoying my time away, but it will nice to be back to see all my critters and catch up with everyone.🙂

  29. Dave July 7, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    State bird – its got me thinking what my county bird should be? we dont have official county birds here in the UK…. its a good idea though.

    • Teresa July 9, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

      I think we have a state everything~bird, flower, tree, rock…

  30. Jenny Matlock July 13, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    What glorious pictures!

    I have always thought grandly colored birds!

    So vibrant and lovely!

    Thank you for sharing these pictures.

    A+

    • Teresa July 13, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

      It’s always my pleasure to join you for Alphabe-Thursday!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

