Cornfield

22 Jun

My cornfield looks like it is doing well.

I did walk around today looking to see if it was showing signs of stress from the dry weather.

During my walk, I surprised someone taking a nap in the neighbor’s field.

So far, mine is doing well.

I did see on the news tonight that I’m in an area where they are predicting the drought to persist and intensify.

That’s not really what I wanted to hear.

Linking to Farm Photo Friday, Summer Daze Photo Party, and Camera Critters.

30 Responses to “Cornfield”

  1. TexWisGirl June 22, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    i’m sorry, teresa. that doesn not bode well.

    but i love your sweet doe – especially the white flag shot! 🙂

    • Teresa June 22, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

      We do have another chance of rain tomorrow, so I’m going to be optimistic that we’ll keep getting enough that it isn’t horrible.

  2. Alica June 22, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Hopefully that doe was just taking a nap and not having a snack!! Your corn looks great…hopefully it will be far enough along that the drought won’t be too bad…better yet, the weatherman can be wrong!!

    • Teresa June 22, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

      The deer was in the neighbor’s field, not mine, so it’s okay. 🙂 I hope they are wrong!

  3. barefootnmama June 22, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    I hope for you that you get the rain you are needing.

    ps..your photos are beautiful!

    • Teresa June 22, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

      Thanks. We do have a chance tomorrow, so I might go do a rain dance. 🙂

  4. Connie Headley June 22, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    It’s been really dry here in Missouri also. All the rain seems top be bypassing us this year

    • Teresa June 22, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

      Too bad we couldn’t get some of Minnesota’s rain!

  5. becky3086 June 22, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    Shoot it! ..oh, sorry wrong season, lol. The corn looks great. That is a huge field of corn!

    • Teresa June 22, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

      I only shoot them with my trusty Nikon! 😉

  6. Gail June 22, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    Love how you got the backside of that doe. Wonderful photos. Hope the drought is kinder this year. :/

    • Teresa June 22, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks. We seem to have gone from flooding two years ago to turning the rain off half way through last year and now drought.

  7. Nancy June 22, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    We have been lucky and have received some rain — I hope some is on the way for you soon, Teresa. Great shots of the napper!

    • Teresa June 22, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks. We’ve had a little, but my hay pasture is still just crunchy.

  8. Pat June 22, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    Hoping the forecast is wrong.
    The deer is lovely.

    • Teresa June 23, 2012 at 8:42 am #

      It’s looking pretty rainy this morning, so hopefully we’ll get a bit more. I’m grateful for every bit of rain we get this summer.

  9. sommerfugl design (@sommerfugldesig) June 23, 2012 at 4:10 am #

    This is a really lovely set of pictures! I love the deer.

    • Teresa June 23, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Thanks. It was a pleasant surprise while I was taking my walk.

  10. Pondside June 23, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    We had some rain here last night – so welcome!
    Do the deer do a lot of damage in your area? They are voracious here and the source of a lot of aggravation for local farmers.

    • Teresa June 23, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      I haven’t noticed too much damage from the deer, but the population is quite large.

  11. EG CameraGirl , Canada June 24, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    I cannot believe the corn is that tall already. Where does the time go?

    • Teresa June 24, 2012 at 10:14 am #

      I know. I can’t believe I’ve been on summer break for almost a month. Seems like it just began.

  12. Roan June 24, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Love that windmill in the background. What a nice surprise. Most of my deer shots are moon shots. 😉 We are terribly dry. The ponds are way low, as are the creeks and rivers. Our corn is starting to look like the tops of pineapples, sticking straight up in the air. We were supposed to get 1/10 of an inch last evening, but nothing. No rain in the forecast for the next several days.

    • Teresa June 24, 2012 at 10:16 am #

      I am so sorry to hear how dry you are. I really hope more rain comes to you soon. We did get about a tenth of an inch last night. Now there isn’t much in the way to look forward to.

  13. ibeati June 24, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    oustanding progression of shots sooooooooo green

    • Teresa June 24, 2012 at 11:35 am #

      Thanks. It is green and beautiful. I just hope we keep getting enough rain for it to stay green. 🙂

  14. Marigold and the Goatmother June 24, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    Any rain yet? We’ll send you some. We have some to spare. 🙂 The surprised napper looks to be a rather well-fed napper as well. Do they eat the growing corn?

    • Teresa June 24, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

      We have so much pasture around me that they aren’t too bad in the corn. They are more likely to eat corn after the harvest and pick up what the combine leaves. We’ve had a very little rain. My pasture is horribly crunchy.

  15. Candy C. June 24, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    Your corn does look lovely. I’m glad you got a little rain but I’m sure you would like even more. It is so hard being dependent on Mother Nature sometimes but it still beats living in the city and working behind a desk! 😉

    • Teresa June 24, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

      This year I think Mother Nature is truly mad at us, but I still love her and agree it’s better than being cooped up all day. 🙂 We really do need a lot more rain.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.