Peach Pie Cake

29 Apr

If you need a great dessert, this one is perfect for any occasion.  It’s great straight out of the oven or as a coffee cake or even cold on a hot summer’s day.

For the peach pie topping use 4 cups sliced peaches, either fresh or frozen will work.  If they are frozen thaw them, but retain the liquid.

Add 1 teaspoon lemon juice to the peaches.

Stir in 3/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup flour.

Mix in 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon ginger.

Mix this thoroughly and set it aside while you make the cake batter.

Start by creaming  1/2 cup of softened margarine and 2 cups of sugar in a large mixing bowl.

Add 3 eggs and beat until the batter is smooth.

Add 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt,

and 1 teaspoon vanilla.

Measure 1 cup buttermilk and 2 1/2 cups flour.  Add  a little buttermilk and mix.

Then add the first cup of flour.

Mix it up.

Keep alternately adding the buttermilk and flour, ending with buttermilk.  Mix the batter until it is smooth.

Spray a 9 x 13 cake pan and pour the peach pie topping into it.

Carefully pour the cake batter over the top of the peach pie topping.

I spooned the last of the batter into the pan because I didn’t want to mix it together.

Bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees.

I do have to warn you that, like a peach pie, this might bubble over.

It’s totally worth having to clean the oven.  Add a bit of ice cream for peach pie cake a la mode.

This might be one of the best cakes I’ve tried.

Linking to Homestead Barn Hop and Magical Monday.

43 Responses to “Peach Pie Cake”

  1. Texan April 29, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    Yummmmmmy!

    • Teresa April 29, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

      I was very happy with how it turned out.

  2. Crystal April 29, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂 I am all the sudden hungry for peaches, have to see what I can dig out of the freezer tomorrow.

    • Teresa April 29, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      That’s how I decided to make this. I have fruit that I need to use before summer gets here.

  3. Alica April 29, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    Anything peachy sounds good to my taste buds!

    • Teresa April 29, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      Peaches and raspberries. Those are my two favorite fruits.

  4. YourSis April 29, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Mom said it was awesome! Still not happy you made it before I came down! lol

    • Teresa April 29, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

      There’s a piece in the fridge for you. 🙂

  5. Julie April 29, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    Yum! Peach season is right around the corner here in South Carolina. I’m definitely giving this a try!

    • Teresa April 29, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

      I needed to practice and empty my freezer out to prepare for this year’s crop. I’ll certainly be making this with fresh peaches too. 🙂

  6. silverspring625 April 29, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    Oh !!!1 Now that looks so yummy!!!!!

    • Teresa April 30, 2012 at 5:53 am #

      Truly it is. 🙂

  7. Birgitta April 30, 2012 at 2:32 am #

    Yummmy! Great photo serie!

    • Teresa April 30, 2012 at 5:54 am #

      Thanks. I’ve not had any complaints about it, but I’ve had lots of volunteers to taste test it.

  8. Nancy April 30, 2012 at 3:20 am #

    Looks fabulous, Teresa. Great way to use up those frozen peaches!

    • Teresa April 30, 2012 at 5:55 am #

      Yes, it is. I’ll certainly be making this one again.

  9. Synnöve April 30, 2012 at 7:08 am #

    Wow – delicious ! Wonderful photos too.
    Kind regards, Synnöve

    • Teresa April 30, 2012 at 7:10 am #

      It really did turn out well. Thanks for stopping by.

  10. Anonymous April 30, 2012 at 7:08 am #

    Got some peaches in the freezer myself that need to be used up. This is going in the oven TODAY! Thank you, thank you, thank you!! 🙂

    • Teresa April 30, 2012 at 7:10 am #

      Yes, I highly recommend it!

    • Candy C. April 30, 2012 at 7:11 am #

      Ooops, I wasn’t logged in!

      • Teresa April 30, 2012 at 7:12 am #

        I wondered who anonymous was. 🙂

  11. rachel April 30, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    Looks great. I love desserts I can make with fruit I can get in season.

    • Teresa April 30, 2012 at 7:55 am #

      Me too, and peaches are one of my favorites. 🙂

  12. Pat April 30, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    Looks too good not to try!

    • Teresa April 30, 2012 at 8:17 am #

      It definitely is!

  13. Karen April 30, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    Luscious!

    • Teresa April 30, 2012 at 8:59 am #

      Perfect word to describe it!

  14. Pondside April 30, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    That looks scrumptious – I’ll bet I’m not the only one who could smell the peaches.

    • Teresa April 30, 2012 at 9:14 am #

      The whole house smelled just like peach pie while it was baking. 🙂

  15. Misty Dawn Seidel April 30, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Hmmmm now I’m very hungry all of a sudden for some reason 😉

    • Teresa April 30, 2012 at 10:15 am #

      Sorry. 🙂 You’ll have to just try making this to fix that problem.

  16. egwow April 30, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    This looks excellent.

    I am having trouble with Worpress – again – insisting that I use my inactive WordPress account. Sorry!

    • Teresa April 30, 2012 at 10:37 am #

      At least on my blogs, I’ve taken off the e-mail requirement. You should be able to use just a name if you want. Yes, the cake is excellent!

  17. artmusedog April 30, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Oh this recipe looks so yummy and so creative ~ thanks, namaste, ^_^ artmusedog ^_^

    • Teresa April 30, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

      It really did turn out wonderfully. 🙂

  18. Karen May 23, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    And I’m still drooling. Can’t wait to make this when the peaches come into season!

    • Teresa May 23, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

      It really is good. I’m certainly going to try and beat the squirrels to my peaches this year.

  19. lolasanrose July 1, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    yes, yes, yes. thank you so much

    • Teresa July 1, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

      It really is a good one. Hope you enjoy it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peach Pie Cake « Razzamadazzle - May 23, 2012

    […] today it’s a veritable poetry feast!   By the way, you can find my peach pie cake recipe HERE. Share this:ShareEmailRedditPrintFacebookDiggTwitterStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  2. Peaches « Eden Hills's Blog - July 14, 2012

    […] year.  Hopefully, I’ll get enough to freeze a couple of quarts because I absolutely love my peach pie cake.  I guess I’ll eagerly wait until next year for that bumper […]

  3. Friday’s Hunt v3.26 | Eden Hills - June 30, 2017

    […] I’ve shared this recipe before (in 2012), so today, I’ll just tease you with an image of my peach pie cake.  Maybe we should make […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

