Macro Noses and Flowers

18 Mar

I think I mentioned that I ordered a macro lens as my birthday present to myself.  Well, it got here during the week, so I was playing with it today.  The most handy thing I could find to photograph was the house animals.





I think this is going to be one of my best presents ever!  At first I was disappointed, thinking I could get closer with my zoom lens that came with the camera, but then I remembered something I read many years ago from a source I can’t remember.  The tradeoff for the convenience of the zoom lens is clarity.  The clarity of the macro lens is great!

I did go outside and find some subjects other than noses.  The storm last July broke many limbs in my oak trees, and the winds of the last few weeks have made it dangerous to stand under the trees.  I have several limbs in my front yard waiting to be picked up.  The grass is growing!

The bleeding hearts are coming up.  Is it just me, or do they look like celery?

The sweet woodruff is coming up in the flower bed.  It fills in around the rocks.  I love its delicate little flowers.

The magnolia tree is getting ready to bloom a full month early.  I can’t believe the horribly warm weather we’re having.

Crocus!  I think this is the only one that hasn’t been killed off.

It’s nice to have such a bright color out there in the yard.

I certainly think I’m going to like this lens a lot.  I hope I have plenty of chances to keep playing with it while I’m off work for spring break this week.

Linking to Macro Monday.

42 Responses to “Macro Noses and Flowers”

  1. NatureFootstep March 18, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    love those macro shots. You are already good at it.🙂

    • Teresa March 18, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

      Thanks. It does change things though with the new lens.

  2. blue gryphon March 18, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

    Wonderful use of yer new macro lens, Teresa! Truly not bein’ wasted! Love seein’ th’ Crocus in bloom, me backyard be fillin’ with em n’ me peonies be pokin’ up already!

    • Teresa March 18, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

      Well, I now know who needs to see the ENT Vet. It looks like the dog needs his teeth brushed too. It was a good exam. 🙂

  3. TexWisGirl March 18, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    i bet you’ll have a lot of fun. those noses are too cute!

    • Teresa March 18, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

      I was impressed with how clean they were~especially Leo with his allergies.🙂

  4. Pat March 18, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    Looks like you’re quickly getting familiar with that new lens! Lovely shots.

    • Teresa March 18, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

      Thanks. I did spend a bit of time playing.

  5. Creationsbydina March 18, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    Wow! Those pictures are amazing!! They are so clear. You can see every little detail!!

    • Teresa March 18, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

      I think that is the best thing about not using the zoom lens. It gives much better clarity.

  6. Alica March 18, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Very, very nice!!

  7. Kathy March 18, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    I would love to have a camera that takes photos like this. Do you need a tripod so it doesn’t get blurry or is it really fast?

    • Teresa March 18, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

      It really does have a quick reaction time. It’s the first camera I’ve used that can keep up with the bouncing goat kids!

  8. Robyn March 18, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    Your macro shots are so fun … noses! You must be a quick photographer also. That or your animals are deep in sleep.

    I can’t believe how green it is, blooming flowers and planting already? I noticed the grass is starting to green up here.

    Looking forward to more neat Macro shots from your personal birthday present.

    • Teresa March 18, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

      Bob and Leo were sleeping. Mushu was resting. Snickers was just staring annoyed. They are pretty good.🙂 It’s crazy how green it is.

  9. Marigold and the Goatmother March 18, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    Beautiful clarity!!!! I know you are going to enjoy that lens so much! You already took beautiful photos – now it just gets better. I also have serious rock envy for the one with the sweet woodruff. Awesome!

    • Teresa March 18, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      There were a lot of decorative rocks already here when I moved in. I need to do some serious weeding and work in the flower gardens this year.

  10. Sharon Qualls March 18, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    It does look like you will give that macro lens a workout!

    Happy Birthday again, sounds like you had a wonderful day!

    • Teresa March 18, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      You know I’ll use it! Thanks.

  11. Dolly March 18, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    Very pretty pictures! I enjoyed the post!

  12. Lui March 18, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    I am featuring macros of my dog this week too. Aren’t they adorable! I only have a point and shoot😉

    • Teresa March 18, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

      Some of those point and shoot cameras do a really good job. I’ve seen some amazing shots from them.

  13. Candy C. March 18, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    Love your macro noses, especially Mushu!🙂
    Yep, the bleeding hearts look very much like celery! Looks like you are going to have lots of fun with your birthday present!

    • Teresa March 18, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

      I really have enjoyed learning more and more about photography this last year or so. I still have way more to learn.🙂

  14. Carpe Diem March 19, 2012 at 1:54 am #

    Lovely macro post!

  15. Molly March 19, 2012 at 5:16 am #

    Ohhh I want a macro lens…. but the cost of them is insane. *sigh


    • Teresa March 19, 2012 at 7:48 am #

      It is crazy. Mine was the least expensive, and there was a $400 difference in the next one up. Poor sales guy seemed embarrassed at the huge difference.

  16. Carol L McKenna (@artmusedog) March 19, 2012 at 7:27 am #

    Love the macro shots of your pets ~ delightful and the nature shots are equally wonderful for different reasons ~ glad you bought yourself this great birthday present ~ thanks, namaste, Carol ^_^

    • Teresa March 19, 2012 at 7:49 am #

      Thanks. It’s nice to be able to go out and take some nature shots again.

  17. TheChieftess March 19, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    Ohhhh…I’m jealous!!! You’ve gotten a great start with your new lens! I love Bob’s nose!!! Perfect!!! Actually, all your shots are wonderful…love the crocus!!!

    • Teresa March 19, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      Thanks. I’m kind of fond of that Bob nose (and the rest of him too).

  18. Tatjana Parkacheva March 19, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    Lovely macro photos.

    Regards and best wishes

    • Teresa March 19, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

      Thanks. It was fun.

  19. doublebhomestead March 19, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Congrats on the new lens, you look like you will really enjoy it!

    • Teresa March 19, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

      I’m sure I will have a blast with it!

  20. kateri March 20, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    Love the crocus! Mine are long gone.

    • Teresa March 21, 2012 at 8:27 am #

      Most of the bulb flowers here bloom way after everyone else is done because they really need dug up and replanted. They are so deep I don’t know how they ever make it.

  21. Mimi Foxmorton March 22, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    I’m already LOVIN’ your new lense….and your artistic eye! 🙂

    • Teresa March 22, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

      Thanks. There’s not a lot of interest in the macro world quite yet, so the noses seemed like a good idea. Glad Leo’s allergies weren’t bothering him.🙂

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

