16 Jan

One of the bad things with this up and down weather we’ve had is that it’s easy for someone to get sick.  For me, the strong south winds that bring in warmer weather also drive my allergies crazy.  I’m afraid I’m developing a sinus infection.  I stayed home for work today, and I was glad I had leftover creamy potato soup for lunch.

Creamy Potato Soup

In a large stock pot mix:

1/2 cup finely diced onion

3 cups cubed peeled potatoes

2 Tbsp. finely grated carrot

1 tsp. dill (dried)

2 12 oz. cans of vegetable stock

Cook until the potatoes are soft.  Use the potato masher to mash them to the desired consistency.  I like mine to have a bit more texture than a normal cream soup.

In a small sauce pan melt 4 Tbsp. butter.  Add 4 Tbsp. flour, 1 tsp. salt and 1/2 tsp. pepper.  Once it is mixed, Add 2 cups of milk.  Use a whisk to stir until all the flour is mixed in.  Then stir until it is very thick and bubbly.

Add this creamy mixture to the pan with the potatoes, mix it up and you are ready to eat!

Hopefully, a good night’s sleep will be just the cure I need.

30 Responses to “Leftovers”

  1. Pam January 16, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    Teresa, that looks really good! Bookmarking…thank you! Hope you get feeling better! 🙂

    • Teresa January 16, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

      I’m sure I’ll be better soon. Thanks.

  2. Barbara F. January 16, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    Soup looks and sounds delicious, and pretty healthy, too. Feel better. xo

    • Teresa January 16, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

      Thanks. It is a good, healthy comfort food.

  3. PC PHOTO January 16, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    Hope you are feeling better, love potato soup, will have to try adding dill. Bacon bits are tasty here too.

    • Teresa January 16, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

      I’m sure bacon bits would be a great addition if you aren’t vegetarian. I will be visiting the doctor tomorrow, so hopefully it will get better.

  4. Alica January 16, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    Ah…comfort food! Hope you’re soon feeling better!

    • Teresa January 16, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

      Where would we be without our comfort food?

  5. Nancy January 16, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    Awww, I can totally relate. I’ve been taking 2 Alegra’s a day for the past few years since we moved to the farm — lots of allergens here!

    • Teresa January 16, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

      Farms have allergens? That must be it. I usually do pretty good, but these strong south winds in January are murder.

  6. Pat January 16, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    That looks and sounds delicious!

    • Teresa January 16, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

      Thanks. It is a recipe for the Better Homes and Garden New Cookbook that I adapted.

  7. Candy C. January 16, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

    Your soup looks yummy and I hope it gets you to feeling better! The stinkin’ wind really plays havoc with my sinuses too.

    • Teresa January 16, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

      I’m feeling pretty lucky that I haven’t had problems with it sooner. I’m also feeling pretty lucky the animals are handling the drastic changes in weather without getting sick.

  8. jen January 16, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    Sounds like a yummy recipe, looks great. Might have to make some tomorrow, I’ve been wanting some soap. Hope you feel better soon.

    • Teresa January 16, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      It’s supposed to be good soup weather again tomorrow.

      • jen January 17, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

        I just made the soup… I like it. I just need to double the recipe.

      • Teresa January 17, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

        Glad to hear you like it.🙂

  9. Marigold and the Goatmother January 16, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    Echinacea! Does a body good.:) Feel better!

    • Teresa January 16, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

      I really need to figure out how to harvest and use some of the herbs on my farm.

  10. nicoleigh January 16, 2012 at 9:36 pm #


    • Teresa January 16, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

      It is a very good recipe.🙂

  11. JoyceAnn January 17, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    Hope you feel better soon , the soup recipe sounds delish. I still have potatoes from the garden , will have to give it a try.

    Healing Blessings

    • Teresa January 17, 2012 at 9:16 am #

      I’m sure it would be even better with your own potatoes. I’m going to the doctor today, so I’m sure that will help.🙂

  12. Mama Zen January 17, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    When you’re sick, nothing is better than potato soup!

  13. Mimi Foxmorton January 17, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    Feel better, lovie! 🙂

    • Teresa January 17, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

      Saw the doctor~if I’d known you wait for five days of fever with sinus infection, I’d have gone to work instead. I do already feel a bit better today.

  14. katrina london January 17, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    it does sound good…could u omit the dill? i dont think i would care for dill in my tater soup…lol…i am just too picky!:) Thanx for sharing!

    • Teresa January 17, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

      Actually, I forgot the dill the last time I made it, and it was good. I do prefer it with the dill~it’s subtle, not in-your-face.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

