Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

19 Dec

I don’t usually post recipes that often, but it seems like it’s the season of baking and eating, and I’ve had requests for yesterday’s goat milk fudge recipe as well as today’s cranberry oatmeal cookie.  I promise a break from cooking after today.

In a mixing bowl, cream 1 cup buttered flavored Crisco and 1/2 cup white sugar.  Add 1 Tablespoon of milk (Minnie’s milk is best), 2 eggs, 2 teaspoons vanilla and 1 cup of brown sugar.  Mix this all together.

Add 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon soda, and 1 cup flour.  Mix it and add 3 cups of oatmeal.

When it’s thoroughly mixed, stir in 1 cup of dried cranberries.  You can add nuts also if you like.

Spray your cookie sheet with no-stick spray and place walnut-sized balls of dough on the pan.

Bake it in a 350*F oven for about 10 minutes.  Remove them from the pan to cool.

It’s a very easy recipe and will be sure to bring holiday smiles to faces.

Linking to Homestead Barn Hop.

22 Responses to “Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. Alica December 19, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    They sound yummy…throw in a few white chocolate chunks in there yet perhaps?

    • Teresa December 19, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      That does sound good.

  2. Wayne December 19, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    I like to make oatmeal raisin chocolate chip cookies, but I never thought of cranberries, they sound like an excellent idea!

    • Teresa December 19, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

      Perfect for the holiday season!

  3. jen December 19, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Yum Yum… I ♥ Oatmeal cookies. I make em all the time & put raisins & cranberries in mine (I love cranberries too).

    • Teresa December 19, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

      I just discovered the joys of cranberries this fall. I’ve had fun playing.

  4. Marigold and the Goatmother December 19, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Oh, don’t stop posting recipes on my account. 🙂

    • Teresa December 19, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      Probably has more to do with going back to work since it’s a Monday.

  5. Pondside December 20, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    Sounds like a winning combination – but I don’t know WHERE you find the time. You put me to shame!

    • Teresa December 20, 2011 at 6:15 am #

      I promise it’s just stress baking and ADHD put to good use. 🙂

  6. Mimi Foxmorton December 20, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    Now-to get whipping up some plum pudding for those hungry gypsy boys! 😉

    • Teresa December 20, 2011 at 7:06 am #

      I can honestly say I’ve never made plum pudding. I’m not sure I want to. How about a lovely pumpkin custard?

  7. Sharon Qualls December 20, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    They look good, reminds me I need to go and eat breakfast! Wish I had a few for just that purpose! I love oatmeal cookies for breakfast! 🙂

    • Teresa December 20, 2011 at 8:27 am #

      I think that’s perfectly okay! I like pumpkin or banana bread for breakfast.

  8. Pat December 20, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    I love oatmeal cookies! Will have to add dried cranberries next time. (They are good for breakfast!)

    • Teresa December 20, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      I’m certainly thinking I need to make some more for my breakfasts while on break. After all, everyone seems to be encouraging this. 🙂

  9. Candy C. December 20, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    They are *definitely* breakfast food…oats, fruit, milk! 😉

    • Teresa December 20, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

      Sounds like a perfect breakfast!

  10. EG Wow, Canada December 20, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    These cookies sound really, really good. I am a BIG fan of oatmeal cookies but have never tried them with cranberries. That will change soon. :))

    • Teresa December 20, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      They are certainly worth trying.

  11. Talon December 20, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    I love the addition of cranberries, Teresa. I wish everyone in my family liked them. Mind you, I could make a batch up just for me. 🙂

    • Teresa December 20, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      I think that is certainly a good idea! I like those recipes that not everyone else will eat because it means there’s more I don’t have to share! 😉

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

