Random Thoughts and Shots

16 Dec

Let my light shine bright!

Sometimes it’s hard to remember that all people are divine beings.

It’s even harder to remember that about yourself.  Don’t worry~nobody will snuff out my light!  Okay, the dust might pretty soon, but it’s a metaphor, and my internal light is shining brightly!

***

I have to say, our cloudy rainy weather and short days have me longing for the bright flowers of summer.  I love my little geranium that is now starting its third winter in the house.  It loves all the sunshine it gets from the kitchen windows.

I think I might have to give it some TLC (aka fresh dirt and fertilizer) in order for it to make it through this winter.

***

For some reason, I’ve had a hard time getting into the holiday season.  It might be partly due to the dreary weather, but it’s been a really rough year.  I think I need to get out my CD of Merry Christmas by Johnny Mathis.  This was always played when I was growing up, and it still means the beginning of the holiday season for me.

I think I need to turn off the bad news, put in the CD and bake some cookies.  Maybe that will help me get into the sprit of the season.  Hope everyone has a wonderful, blessed weekend.

Linking to Farm Photo Friday.

Linking to You Capture where this week’s theme is light.

24 Responses to “Random Thoughts and Shots”

  1. TexWisGirl December 16, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    i need someone to come dust my house and wash my floor… sigh…

    • Teresa December 16, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

      Those darn housecleaning fairies haven’t made it here yet. 🙂

  2. Gone Country December 16, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    That sounds like an awesome plan! I hope it works (since Christmas is 9 days away, lol!)!

    We always had Brenda Lee’s Christmas album playing on the stereo… and I DO mean album!!! I uploaded it to my iPod. Hearing that brings back memories and helps put me in the Christmas spirit!

    • Teresa December 16, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

      I have the CD, but it was vinyl when I was growing up! I’m sure it will help (if I get off the computer and go do it). 🙂

  3. Sharon Qualls December 16, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Johnny Mathis does Christmas so well….. he and Bing Crosby.

    • Teresa December 16, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

      Yes, and “The Christmas Song” is my favorite!

  4. Chai Chai December 16, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Maybe a hearty ‘Merry Christmas” will get you going!

    • Teresa December 16, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

      Thank you. Cheerful good wishes are always a help.

  5. Alica December 16, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    That geranium sure is a cheery sight for these short days!

    • Teresa December 16, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

      Aren’t they? I just love those bright blossoms all winter. 🙂

  6. Candy C. December 17, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    I will have to remember to bring my geraniums inside next fall before the frost gets them.
    My favorite Christmas album as a child was Gene Autry’s Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer! 🙂
    Get in there and bake some cookies, that will surely put you in the holiday spirit!

    • Teresa December 17, 2011 at 8:38 am #

      There’s so many great Christmas albums. I’ve already watched Rudolph this season and It’s a Wonderful Life. Now if I can just find Frosty the Snowman.

  7. Pat December 17, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    Your geranium is so bright and cheery. Turning off (and tuning out) the bad news helps.

    • Teresa December 17, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      Definitely thinking staying away from all the political and economic news will help. And if not, at least I’ve got comfort food. 🙂

  8. Sandy December 17, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    How nice your geranium will live in the house! It doesnt take me long to start missing the long sunny summer days as well. I might not miss the 110 degrees but I surely miss the longer hours of daylight! and rather quickly!

    • Teresa December 17, 2011 at 10:25 am #

      Luckily, we’ve almost made it to the shortest day of the year. I don’t really mind the cold when we have sun and more hours of daylight.

  9. Talon December 17, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    Teresa, I hope you do put on the CD and do something fun like baking (which is always good for the soul, isn’t it?) and enjoy some quality relaxing time.

    We’ll be watching “One Magic Christmas” tonight. That always helps get me in the spirit of the season. 🙂

    • Teresa December 17, 2011 at 10:43 am #

      The cookies are on the counter and Johnny Mathis is singing to me. It really is wonderful to spend time baking. I might try decorating the goats again this afternoon since we have nice warm sunny weather. 🙂 Although it will be difficult, I do hope you have a blessed season.

  10. Pondside December 17, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    I think you’ve got the recipe for mood changing! Music and baking will work where many other things won’t. Have you heard the Il Divo Christmas CD. I love it – makes me cry, in a good way! 🙂
    This season conjures up such a jumble of feeling – I hope your inner light shines as bright as ever – I’m pretty sure that it is visible to anyone who knows you.

    • Teresa December 17, 2011 at 11:26 am #

      Thank you. I must say the music and baking and reading some holiday blog posts have me good weepy today.

  11. Mimi Foxmorton December 17, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    And to you as well.

    Your light shines brighter than most anyone I know…..
    Your love of animals and willingness to share trumps any dust that might turn up……

    • Teresa December 17, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

      Thank you. I figure I have to share the good and the bad.

  12. Marigold and the Goatmother December 17, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    The Goatmother loves the Dean Martin Christmas album and Andy Williams. She actually played Christmas music for us when she cleaned the barn.:) We’ve had a hard time getting in the spirit this year too (even with our beloved barn decoration). The weather and the times. I blame it all on that. But ’tis good to have friends! Do you plug your car in to keep it from freezing up? The Goatmother remembers being in Ames and the car being frozen and wouldn’t start! Those Iowa winters are cooooooold!

    • Teresa December 17, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

      Luckily my car has a garage and it’s not been a problem for me. I do need to get a new battery for the Ranger because it was dead last winter and now it doesn’t want to hold a charge with our colder weather. Marigold it’s very lucky you got to listen to Christmas music while the Goatmother was cleaning the barn. My goats had to listen to my son’s LOUD music while he was scooping this fall.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

