Archive | 2:35 pm

Elegance Exposed

7 Dec

I think goats sometimes get a bad rap.  They are perceived as difficult and dirty and eating anything and everything in sight.  Personally I’ve found them to be delightful creatures.  When I had a request from Mandy at Rustic Elegance to use some of my goats’ pictures as inspiration for paintings, I was very flattered.  Of course I said yes.  I was even more delighted when she shared the results of her efforts.

This first one is certainly based on Meg.

I’d be willing to bet this is Muffin.  The ears and the horns make it easy to tell.

I’d say this looks like Cutie (if she’d lost her horns).

This is the spitting image of our lovely herd queen, Minnie Pearl.

I can certainly pick out Minnie with her amazing long curved horns.

This one seems to be Meg again, including her uneven wattles.

This series of paintings is on display in a museum in Switzerland~where Saanen goats come from.  I think she’s done an excellent job of capturing the elegance of the goat.

If you like what you see, you can find more of Mandy’s animal paintings at Animal Traits.

Linking to Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday.

