When the Wind Blows

29 Nov

Right now, it’s a pretty good bet that when we have a nice steady breeze, I’ll be outside cleaning the popcorn.  I’m sure you’re tired of hearing about how I’m always husking and shelling and cleaning and bagging popcorn.  But that’s what I am spending a lot of time doing right now.  Mom too.

Back and forth, I let the wind do the work of cleaning the silks and dust from the popcorn.  Back and forth several times.  Back and forth until it is cleaned.  Then it gets brought back in.  I’m a bit behind on bagging the popcorn.  This is just a tiny bit of what we’ve cleaned.

But rest assured, Mom estimated that she’s picked about half of what is in the field.  Does that make me horrible when my seventy-year-old mother is the one hand picking the corn?

Just because…here’s the very last little mallow flower that has managed to escape the cold so far.  The rest of the plant has died, but this one blossom is still beautiful.

Linking to Wordless Wednesday.

18 Responses to “When the Wind Blows”

  1. TexWisGirl November 29, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    you must have a GREAT crop of popcorn! lordy!

    • Teresa November 29, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      It’s unbelievable. I really am drowning in popcorn.

  2. Chai Chai November 29, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    Must be nice to be able to bag your own corn! I bet most folks from the city have no idea where it comes from.

    • Teresa November 29, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

      It is great! I’ve met people that didn’t know popcorn was not just sweet corn.

  3. Alica November 29, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    That’s a great way to clean the popcorn! I wonder just how big a pile that would make if it were all popped!?

    • Teresa November 29, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      That would be a huge pile of popcorn! I think I need another bulk bin just to store the popcorn.

  4. AI Sakura November 29, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    omg can’t believe u cleaned all that popcorn yourself! good job 🙂

    Ai @ Sakura Haruka
    Join in: Wordless Wednesday Linky Party

    • Teresa November 29, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

      My mom has helped clean a lot, but I am about ready to be done with it.

  5. Sharon Qualls November 29, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    Good way to clean the bits out of the corn. WOW, that IS a whole lot of popcorn!

    • Teresa November 29, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

      That is just a tiny bit of what I’ve cleaned, bagged, sold, given away, etc. I think that’s the only way to clean it. I still have to pick some pieces out, but it does a good job.

  6. Candy C. November 30, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    Well, I’m sure enjoying the popcorn I bought from you and I appreciate all the work that went into it, makes it that much better! 🙂

    • Teresa November 30, 2011 at 7:13 am #

      It wouldn’t be hard work if it weren’t for the sheer volume I have. I’m glad to hear you are enjoying it!

  7. Talon November 30, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    I love the tenacity of the mallow. I have some tiny bell flowers that are still continuing to bloom right in the face of the snow showers. 🙂

    What a neat way to clean the kernels! I bet that popcorn is super fluffy and delicious, Teresa!

    • Teresa November 30, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      I love the mallow! It’s nice to see that one brave little flower on my way out to do chores. I like simple and low tech methods of doing things. Natural wind-power is about as good as it gets!

  8. Marigold and the Goatmother November 30, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    Wow. That cooler full of corn looks delicious to me! I wonder what a cooler full of Peanuts would look like? 🙂

    • Teresa November 30, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

      That would certainly be a goatie dream come true!

  9. SnoopyGirl November 30, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Your mallow flower is so pretty! In a recent warm spell one of my backyard plants bloomed all over again. It was so funny to see it along amongst all the dead leaves in my yard.

    • Teresa November 30, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

      I usually end up with an odd magnolia blossom late in the summer. It’s like an extra special treat! Thanks for stopping by.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

