Cows Eating Colorful Corn

16 Nov

There were some ears of Indian corn that didn’t quite make the grade for my mom’s decorating.  What am I supposed to do with those ears?

Colorful Corn

Easy.  Take them out to pasture and holler for the cows (Okay one cow; one ox).

Maxine and MJ

They were happy to volunteer to take them off my hands.  Mom was kind enough to come along because I didn’t think I could feed them and take pictures at the same time.

He just takes the whole ear of corn in his mouth and chomps and chomps until it’s gone.

Maxine also gets a big ear of colorful corn.

MJ’s turn!  He uses that tongue to just pull it out of Mom’s hand.  I must say, his head looks kind of big next to hers.

I think purple is a good color for him.

Maxine was still struggling with that long ear of corn.  Finally I took pity on her and gave her a shorter ear.

I don’t think they grow ears of corn that are too big for him.

Yes, MJ, I’m talking about you.

He’s such a sweet boy, but he’s got a serious slobbering problem.

Mom found Maxine another short ear of corn.  She’s way slower at eating than him.

Much easier to eat! I just love the polka dots on her tongue!

MJ would eat all the corn himself if I let him.  He’s not shy about taking the cobs from her.

He really is a big boy.  Mom might be height challenged, but he’s still huge.

Mom and MJ

Linking to Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday where the letter of the week is C.

Linking to You Capture where this week’s theme is fun!

64 Responses to “Cows Eating Colorful Corn”

  1. Alica November 16, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    That ox is gigantic!! Looks like they’re loving their treat!

    • Teresa November 16, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

      I guess he weighs around 3000 pounds.

  2. Mary November 16, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    Oh what GREAT photos!!! I love the one with the purple husks sticking out of his mouth and that freckled nose (is that the right term?)! That tongue is a sight to behold too🙂

    • Teresa November 16, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

      The cows are just adorable! I love his nose, too.

  3. Bev November 16, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    MJ is one big animal! I love him. Maxine looks dainty next to him. They are just lovely! I think you could saddle train MJ. hee hee

    • Teresa November 16, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

      MJ is smart. When he was younger, I’d stand on the gate to sit on him, but just as I’d swing my leg over, he’d step aside and leave me on the ground.

  4. Tracy Cook November 16, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    fab photos and never knew there was coloured corn

    • Teresa November 16, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

      There’s a couple of varieties of Indian corn that I grew this year, and we got amazing colors!

  5. Nancy November 16, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    MJ is gorgeous! I love his nose.🙂

    • Teresa November 16, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

      Me too. I always said it looks like he has a permanent milk moustache!

  6. EG Wow, Canada November 16, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    MJ sure is a BIG boy, isn’t he? Wasn’t your mom sweet to share her leftover corn?

    • Teresa November 16, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

      Yep! Mom is good to us.

  7. nicoleigh November 16, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    Really? MJ is an ox? He’s huge!…but doesn’t look like other oxen I have seen.
    I always enjoyed feeding the cattle a few ears of corn on weekends, when we were growing up. But I haven’t done that with the little people yet! I think I might have to take my niece & nephews to feed the cattle next week when we all are at the farm. 🙂

    • Teresa November 16, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

      MJ is a 15-year-old steer, which classifies him as an ox. Most steers just don’t live that long. He’s huge because he’s 1/2 Gelbvieh, 1/4 Semital, and 1/4 Chianina. I’m sure the kids would love that!

  8. Sharon Qualls November 16, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Okay, now this is the size that people are talking about when they say “You big ox!” I didn’t realize he was so large until I saw your Mom next to MJ! He is huge!

    • Teresa November 16, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

      He is rather large. Everyone, including the vets, are impressed with his size.

  9. Ellen November 16, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    I was pretty impressed with his size, too. Yikes! Beautiful animals and great photos!

    • Teresa November 16, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

      Thanks. He is a gentle giant!

  10. Vicki November 16, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Hmmmm, now I know what to do with my extra Fall decorations! Your mom’s pretty brave:)

    • Teresa November 16, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

      Actually, when mom went to step close to him, he got worried and stepped away. He would never hurt anyone (as long as he knew they were there).

  11. Carletta November 16, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Mj is a big guy!
    Glad to here he is gentler than one might think.🙂

    • Teresa November 17, 2011 at 6:18 am #

      He’s my baby. I raised him from about a day old when his birth mother died. He’s really very sweet.

  12. anita November 16, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    That was so fun. My goodness, that’s a big boy with a big tongue. He makes your mom look teeny! Great pix.

    • Teresa November 17, 2011 at 6:18 am #

      Mom is small, but everyone looks little next to him.🙂

  13. Stacia November 17, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    What a tongue! What an ox! He’s big, but he looks like quite a snuggle-bug. And your mom is very brave. =>

    • Teresa November 17, 2011 at 6:19 am #

      He does love his attention. He really wouldn’t hurt anyone. If he didn’t like someone, he’d simply walk away. (That’s what he wants to do when the vets come, but he wouldn’t ever hurt anyone.)

  14. PJ November 17, 2011 at 5:07 am #

    These photos are so great, your cows are so cute – I may trade in my 5 dogs for 5 cows of my own! Loved this post!!

    • Teresa November 17, 2011 at 6:20 am #

      Cattle are really very nice. They are quite maternal as well. You’ll have to come visit when Maxine has her calf next spring!

  15. Candy C. November 17, 2011 at 5:44 am #

    Oh my goodness!! Cows are big enough but that MJ is just huge!!🙂 Your mom looks like a child standing next to him!

    • Teresa November 17, 2011 at 6:21 am #

      He seems to just get bigger and bigger. He’s sweet though.

  16. Autumn November 17, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    MJ looks more like a super-big teddy bear than he does an ox!

    • Teresa November 17, 2011 at 9:51 am #

      He really is a cuddly fuzzy guy!

  17. Amanda November 17, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    I can’t get over how big he is! Good thing he’s a sweet boy, he could be trouble it’d be impossible to keep him under control!!

    • Teresa November 17, 2011 at 9:51 am #

      He is very well behaved. It was a job, but I taught him manners at a young age.

  18. Lola November 17, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    He is BIG! Great post!

    Have a great weekend too & look forward to *seeing* you again soon.

  19. farmer November 17, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    Love the last picture!
    Amazing boy🙂

    • Teresa November 17, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      He really is special!

  20. JDaniel4's Mom November 17, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    I couldn’t find Indian corn in the store this year. I should have come to your house.

    • Teresa November 17, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

      It was a horrible year for corn. Most of these didn’t finish filling out is why the cows get to eat them. They don’t care if they are missing a few kernels. 🙂

  21. Sue Anderson November 17, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Can’t believe how BIG he (and his head) are.


    What a fun thing to see.


    • Teresa November 17, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

      I’m so glad you enjoyed your stop. I love to show people that animals aren’t scary when they are raised with love. Okay, I wouldn’t try that with wolves or cougars, but livestock animals are very sweet.

  22. Karen S. November 17, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    Oh I just love your cows! My grandfather used to raise these babies! So cool! Brings me back to his place!

    • Teresa November 17, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

      I always loved visiting my grandparents’ farm to see the cows too. I never had any until I was all grown up.

  23. CJ November 17, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Wow! Those are some big cows!!! They look so friendly🙂

    • Teresa November 17, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

      They are sweethearts! Well, Maxine is snooty, but MJ is very sweet.

  24. April November 18, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    I love your pictures!! Your MJ is so amazingly huge!! I had to show my hubby and will have to show the kids tomorrow after school. So great, and he looks so sweet. I also love your goat eating the baked pumpkin above, I just love goats. Fun posts!

    • Teresa November 18, 2011 at 6:11 am #

      Thanks. I love taking pictures of the animals.

  25. sandy November 18, 2011 at 4:37 am #

    Wow, those cows are big! Although I lived in Central Illinois for about 8 years with cow pastures and corn fields all around me I never got so close to the cows.. they scared me in a way and I did know they were sweet animals… your so brave…lol
    Great Story and photos.

    • Teresa November 18, 2011 at 6:12 am #

      If they’ve been bottle raised like mine, they are sweeties. Most cows that aren’t tame just want to get away. Of course, if they aren’t tame you have to be cautious because they are probably just as afraid of us.

  26. Joani November 18, 2011 at 7:17 am #

    That is one big ox!

    • Teresa November 18, 2011 at 7:18 am #

      He’s the biggest I’ve ever seen. I don’t know what the world’s record is, but I can’t imagine anyone bigger.

  27. Judie November 18, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Teresa, did you save some for the goats? Your cow photos are terrific, but I NEED goat photos!!

    • Teresa November 18, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

      The goats get some corn every day. No colorful corn for them though because the whole cob won’t fit in their mouths.

  28. Stillmary November 18, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Oh how I love this post. While I was thinking “boy, he has a big head” and scrolling I came to your comment about his big head. The photo of the purple husks dangling from his mouth is epic. This whole post was fun from top to bottom and so, so interesting. I see why you have so many comments!

    • Teresa November 18, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

      So glad you stopped by. I do love the animals and having fun with them. Hope to see you again!

  29. Marigold and the Goatmother November 18, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    That is one seriously large bovine. Oy. I think he could manage the whole jar of Peanuts in one swipe of that giant purple tongue!

    • Teresa November 18, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

      He’s never had peanuts, but he does like dried apples. He’s very gentle about taking food from my hand.

  30. Jen C. November 19, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Wow, MJ really is a big boy! Both the corn and your mom look so small when next to him🙂

    • Teresa November 19, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

      Mom looks small next to most other people/animals,🙂 but he really is a giant.

  31. Jenny Matlock November 28, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    D’oh. Me.

    I never think of Indian corn as corn, I think of it as decoration!

    Seeing the cows nibbling away on it actually surprised me for a minute and then I smacked myself in the head and called myself a city girl!

    Even though I used to grow this kind of corn to sell.

    Thanks for a cute link for Alphabe-Thursday’s letter “C”.


    • Teresa November 28, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

      The cows aren’t too picky about color. 🙂

  32. Diane October 4, 2014 at 1:07 am #

    I just found (Oct 2014) your posting about the chomping cows – they are SO charming!

    • Teresa October 4, 2014 at 7:57 am #

      Thanks, Diane. Cows are great animals.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

