Has Fall Left Already

It seems like summer lasted for a long time, we had a brief fall, and when we got up Wednesday morning, I was greeted by a very winter scene.

Of course the snow was nearly gone by the time I arrived home from work, but even today I found snow on the north side of the trees.

There are still remnants of snow on the north facing hill also.  By the way, this is the fence that must be replaced next year.  You can see it if you really try.

We had quite a few inches of snow.  Between the rain and snow, it turned out to be over an inch of precipitation.  That’s good.  We need the moisture, but I’m not sure I’m really ready for winter.

Not only have we had our first snow, but our beautiful colorful leaves have also disappeared.  Any of the leaves I found on the trees today were just brown and dead.

Most of the trees are bare against the skyline.

The crops have been harvested from the fields, and they too are brown and dead beneath tonight’s mourning moon.

I think Iowa fields are still beautiful even when they’re empty.

Even the goats are looking like it’s winter.  The kids are really getting fuzzy and round.

Coral Blackboer

I am not ready for winter.  I still have a lot of work to do outside before winter gets here for real.

Linking to Farm Friend Friday.

Linking to Farmgirl Friday.

Linking to Friday’s Fences.

Linking to You Capture where the theme is fall.

Linking to the Shades of Autumn where the color is brown.

60 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TexWisGirl
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 18:31:36

    really beautiful shots, even though winter is coming too soon for you! love the sunset.

    Reply

  2. Alica
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 19:02:08

    Brrrrrrrr…I’m shivering just looking at that snow! Is the moon mourning perhaps because winter is coming?!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Nov 10, 2011 @ 19:22:33

      It’s a pagan term~each full moon has a name. November is the mourning moon. It’s a time to reflect and release emotions of the losses of the previous year (especially dealing with the harvest) and prepare to accept the new into our lives. It fits well with the whole idea of Thanksgiving.

      Reply

  3. Judy
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 19:05:11

    That top photo could have been taken in my yard. We had lots of snow fall on the ground. Wonderful shots here!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Nov 10, 2011 @ 19:23:36

      Thanks. I was surprised that we actually had that much. Of course, I’m just thankful that we’re getting some much needed moisture before winter really arrives.

      Reply

  4. debsladybugtexas
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 20:44:21

    I’m not ready for winter either…love your photos…the goat is adorable..

    Reply

  5. genie
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 20:55:24

    That little kid is precious. I miss my Rosebud and Sagebrush…we need to get out=r goats and our chickens started up again. The old farm seems empty without them. Your moon shots are great. You really did a fine job with the captures.And then there is the snow on the fence and the chairs. We got our freak snow back at Halloween and then it was done the next morning. All it did was kill all the flowers. Nice pictures. genie

    Reply

  6. kateri
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 21:04:42

    I’m not ready for winter either–the weather man tells us it will be back up to 60 over the weekend. I love the cute little goat in the last photo.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Nov 10, 2011 @ 21:07:50

      We’re supposed to be warm here, so I’m hoping to get all kinds of winterizing done this weekend. Coral is just so cute and sweet!

      Reply

  7. Chai Chai
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 21:48:07

    I am noticing snow in a lot of places and yet we don’t have any as of yet – this won’t last too long unfortunately.

    Getting ready for Winter is hard just because one has to acknowledge that Winter is actually upon us.

    Reply

  8. Dawn Bounds Abercrombie
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 21:59:14

    Sometimes I wish I lived where it snowed. I live in Georgia and it was 74 degrees at my house Wednesday. It is getting cooler now, it’s 44 out tonight. I like it when it snows once a year and we close the schools and all get to play outside and then by the next day it is gone… but I don’t know if I would actually want to live in the snow and drive in it!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Nov 10, 2011 @ 22:00:58

      The snow is beautiful, and I do love the seasons. I’m just not quite ready for it yet. Of course I’ll be ready for spring by the beginning of February too. Thanks so much for stopping by.

      Reply

  9. Tracy
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 22:42:56

    My kids are really fuzzy now too. We haven’t had any snow yet, but it’s in the forecast for tonight. I’m with you, I still have a ton of work to do outside as well. Good luck with your to-do list! :D

    Reply

  10. Stacia
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 00:38:42

    Love those moon shots. And do you think Coral would share some of her warm fuzziness? =>

    Reply

  11. Janis
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 06:50:38

    Too early for winter for me too! Great shots of the landscape!

    Reply

  12. faye
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 07:45:16

    This is a bittersweet time on the farm, isn’t it? I can just imagine you walking this land and making mental notes of all that needs to be done before winter. At least the goats are doing their part! :-) My favorite photo in this collection is the winter nipped branch.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 09:23:41

      It does take a lot to get ready for winter. It’s sometimes a challenge to be able to feed and water them in bad weather. Each year I try to make it a bit easier.

      Reply

  13. Sandy
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 08:03:58

    Snow already! No snow here but finallllllly come cool temps!! So enjoying them. I actually lit the wood stoves this week a little! Our goats are getting furry too LOL. Squeaker the new kid, well 6 weeks or so new is a total fur ball lol.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 09:24:29

      I can only imagine how fuzzy the little one is! Our snow is gone now, and we’re supposed to be up near 60 again this weekend, but it certainly was a wake-up call!

      Reply

  14. Rose
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 08:32:06

    I like your shots…including the snow…but I am not envious of your snow….yet. Give me a month or two more and I will be wanting some of my own.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 09:25:16

      I’m not sorry the snow has melted. I’ll be happy to have snow for Christmas, and even in January. Come February, though, I’ll be itching for spring. :-)

      Reply

  15. Tricia
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 08:52:44

    what a cuuutie in the last pic… too cute! great shots =)

    Reply

  16. PC PHOTO
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 09:40:30

    First snow falls are so pretty.
    Love your captures of the full moon.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 11:19:25

      This one was overnight and mostly gone by afternoon. Had to hurry to enjoy it, and I missed most of the great picture opportunities due to working. It really was a beautiful moon. :-)

      Reply

  17. Candy C.
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 10:02:50

    Beautiful shots of the mourning moon!
    Our goats are getting their winter woolies too and it’s not really that cold here yet!
    Good luck on your winterizing chores! :)

    Reply

  18. Judy
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 10:04:25

    I like the two shots with the moon, showing the gently rolling hills! And you can keep the snow! I have forbidden it to snow here for another month and a half! Strictly forbidden it, I say!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 11:20:41

      I hope that works for you! I do love Iowa’s hills. I read a description years ago (don’t remember what magazine) that called Iowa curvaceous. I love that!

      Reply

  19. Marigold and the Goatmother
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 12:52:27

    We had that lovely moon here in Washington last night too. No snow here yet, though, except in the mountains. However, we are getting lots of rain and high winds. Great photos!

    Reply

  20. Kim,USA
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 13:20:08

    We had snow yesterday afternoon. I lived here in SE of MI. Hope tomorrow we are going to warm up! Great shots you have here. Thanks!

    Fridays Fences

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 13:33:56

      Thanks. We’re supposed to be back above normal temps for the weekend. I’m hoping to spend most of it outside getting ready for winter.

      Reply

  21. Carletta
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 13:49:45

    Love the sun through the tree branches and the moon shots are beautiful!
    Little Coral with her bits of brown is as cute as can be.

    Reply

  22. Buttons
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 14:10:10

    Wow I am not ready for that either. Great shots you are right the fields look wonderful. B

    Reply

  23. Satakieli
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 14:17:35

    Lovely photos!

    We had a spot of snow yesterday. Not enough to settle like that, but the odd flurry punctuated by sunshine :)

    Thanks for taking part in the Shades of Autumn Photo Challenge!

    Reply

  24. Miriam
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 17:18:44

    Such lovely pictures, The sunset is fabulous. Thank you for a look at your world.

    Reply

  25. Ebie
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 18:34:32

    Beautiful sky photos. Lucky for us in Southern California, we do not get snow in the city.

    Reply

  26. Cedar
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 23:58:24

    Snow?! I love your moon shot landscapes…really lovely!

    Reply

  27. Light Trigger
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 06:35:02

    beautiful captures!!!!

    Light Trigger: OUR ENTRY

    Reply

  28. Bridget Larsen
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 09:06:44

    Wow what a change, love that fence

    Reply

  29. Jen C.
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 09:40:49

    Oh wow, snow! It really does seem like you had one of the shortest Autumn if it’s already snowing in your area! I wonder if my dad saw snow too…I should ask him tomorrow when I call him :)

    Reply

  30. Inger-M
    Nov 13, 2011 @ 15:43:33

    I love the moon shots!

    Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 396,303 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
