Too Hot to Be Pregnant

14 Jul

Jill is five months pregnant.  Our heat indexes across the state today ranged from 110 to 119 degrees.  Jill is miserable.  She spent a lot of time today laying under the workbench.  Her breathing is just so fast with the heat and humidity.

I tried convincing her she would feel better if she went outside in the shade where she could get a breeze, but she didn’t listen to me.  Finally, she did make it outside.

Usually, I do a great job of coming up with due dates for my girls.  This winter was hard to know when they were bred, however, because of the many storms.  Jilly was given the due date of June 11.  By the time we got close to that, I had figured out she wasn’t really going to be due yet.  I looked at the calendar and added three weeks because that is how long their heat cycle is.  That meant July 2 would be her due date.  Well, obviously, we’ve passed July 2nd.

Since I have no idea when she is due, I have to rely on the physical and behavioral signs.  While every goat is unique, there are some signs that you can look for.    Many of these are similar to humans.

1.  They will lose the mucus plug.  This might be up to a week before they actually go into labor, but it is an indication that they are getting close.  A lot of times, you won’t even notice this.  They might have extra discharge for a week before giving birth.

2.  They will begin to spring.  They are springing when their backside looks all puffy.  I never really understood springing until I was due with my own child.  Probably the best way to figure this out is to compare the unbred doe on the left to Jilly on the right.

3.  Her pelvic bones are going to look more prominent.  She’ll develop a hallow spot right in front of the pelvic bone as the baby (or babies) moves down towards the birth canal.

4.  Obviously, they are going to get an udder as they get closer to delivering.  One word of caution.  If they are due in the winter when it is cold, they will not get as much of an udder.  The milk tends not to come down until after the baby is born when it is cold.  Just before they go into labor, their teats are going to become very tight and almost point outward.  This is more noticeable on first time moms.

5.  I just came across one indicator of impending birth at Easy Living the Hard Way.  The condensed version is that the doe has to loosen her joints to allow the baby to pass through the birth canal.  This can be seen by checking how far around the tail you can reach.  Again, a comparison is the easiest way to see this.  With Stormy, on the top, I am simply feeling the base of her spine.  With Jill, the lower picture, my finger and thumb meet with only her skin between.

Because of these indicators, I know she is very close, so I am checking her frequently.  Last night, I was up late because she was standing, raising her hips, tightening the muscles.  She was having contractions, but about four in the morning, she laid down and went to sleep.  She was having false labor or Braxton-Hicks contractions.  When she is really starting to go into real labor, she’ll do the same thing:  lots of standing and peeing.  She might talk like she will talk to her baby when it arrives.

For Jilly, I’m guessing she’ll really go into labor and deliver tonight.  The final reason for this is the severe storms in the forecast.  It seems like I always end up in the barn whenever we have thunderstorm or tornado warnings.  It would be nice if the severe weather missed us and she did have her babies tonight.

Do you know of any other signs a doe is about to give birth?

8 Responses to “Too Hot to Be Pregnant”

  1. Desmond Ballance September 28, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    Hi Teresa,

    Have been reading your posts for a few months now and what a beautiful surprise we got yesterday, my goat Bonnie gave birth to a beautiful boy. As I knew exactly which day she was bred and with your chart it worked out 4 October but surprise born midday 28th September.
    Bonnie is only 10 months old so I was surprised she bred but she is such a good mom. As this is my first as well and I am in Australia is there any important “to watch out for’s”

    Thank you for a well informed blog.

    Desmond.

    • Teresa September 28, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

      Just like people they don’t always go on their due date. It’s likely she was a bit early because of her young age. I guess I’m not sure what you mean by things to watch out for.

      Congratulations on the new kid.

      • Desmond Ballance September 29, 2013 at 1:04 am #

        WOW thank you for the quick reply. Her fecal was pretty good until she gave birth, 12hrs later I have noticed its “sloppy Joe” at first I thought it was the new lamb as it had a running poo this morning but now I see Bonnie has it and the lamb “Socks” has settled down. Are these just symptoms of after birth.

        Thank you

        Ps how do I insert a pic of the new born.

  2. Desmond Ballance September 29, 2013 at 2:26 am #

    Hi Teresa,

    Now I am getting concerned, firstly besides her not walking around she looks pretty good. Normally she would cry for food and today she has only drunk water I would say about 4-5L but I have coach her with her favourite food and no excitement. When she stands up she only make slight few steps and that only to poo and give socks a teet which he sucks barely then she will lie down again.

    After socks was born she pushed out what I thought was the placenta ” it had a fluid sack like and a whole lot of tubes which came out after the sack. Then there was a bit of blood and over the next few hours jelly fluid was coming out.

    Now I have my doubts was it a miss formed bag and has she still got something inside her.
    Love to hear your thoughts.

    Desmond.

    • Teresa September 29, 2013 at 7:13 am #

      If she has diarrhea, that is not normal from pregnancy. I would recommend doing a fecal as soon as possible. The discharge sounds fairly normal.

  3. Butch August 21, 2014 at 9:23 am #

    This is a question.
    Should you separate pregnant goat from the others ?
    They all seem to cry when one is missing?

    • Teresa August 21, 2014 at 10:47 am #

      Goats are herd animals. They hate to be isolated, and the goats have a very complex social order. I try not to separate them until just before they are to give birth, and I try to reintegrate them as soon as possible.

  4. Tammy m RAY October 31, 2016 at 6:18 pm #

    I’m so excited to have my DixieChick so close to labor. I think it happened the week of July 4th, so we still have a month or so. My question is climate. I live in Indiana and have heard we will be getting some cold weather in the next few months. Should I h8eat the barn or is straw sufficient? I don’t expect temps to go below 30F but what are the standards. I’ve only had her for 9 months and she’s a year and a half old. Should I keep colostrum on hand in case she won’t feed? Anything else? I’ve bred and helped deliver horses before but 1st time with my precious pigmy goat.
    Thank you for all your advise and help!!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

