Blueberry Muffins

6 Jul

My nephews tend not to take money for the work they do.  Two of them are in college, and I guess that will change when they hit the real world.  I’m going to enjoy it for now, and I do try to pay them in some way.  Since our rain came early this morning, today is Christopher’s pay day.  He gets blueberry muffins.  Mom and my sister went to a nearby pick-your-own farm, and they gave me some blueberries.

I start by making the topping.  In a small bowl mix 1 tablespoon flour, 1 tablespoon sugar, and 1 tablespoon margarine.  I use a stick margarine that hasn’t been softened.  It’s a lot easier to mix that way.

I cut the flour and sugar into the margarine like I would make a pie crust.  When finished, just set it aside until we need it.

This will make a dozen cupcake sized muffins.  I get my pan lined with cupcake holders and again set it aside.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

To make the muffins you will need:

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup butter flavored Crisco or margarine

1/4 cup honey

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup fresh goat milk

1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)

In a small bowl mix the flour, salt and baking powder.  Set this aside.

In a larger mixing bowl, measure out the Crisco, sugar and honey.

Cream these three ingredients together using a large spoon.  When it is somewhat mixed, beat the combination with an electric mixer until it is smooth.

Then add the eggs, one at a time.

After each egg, mix thoroughly.  Add the vanilla and mix again.  When both eggs and vanilla have been added, you should have a nice creamy batter.

Add a little of the flour mixture to the bowl and mix thoroughly.

Then add a bit of the  milk and mix thoroughly.  Just as an aside, I used Dolly milk.

Keep alternating between the flour and milk until all have been added.  You should finish with flour.

Fold in your blueberries.

Fill the lined muffin tins.  Sprinkle the tops with the topping mixture and put them in the oven to bake for 25 to 30 minutes.

They will be ready when the tops are golden brown.

Let the muffins cool for five or ten minutes, and then remove them from the pan.  Enjoy!

Chris came by after work and picked up his “payment.”  It must have been sufficient because he said he was available on Tuesday and Wednesday.

Christopher took the entire batch of muffins with him.  I never even got one; it’s okay because he did share with others.  When I told Dad I was making the muffins, he hinted that he wanted some too.  I made him a batch that was a bit more diabetic friendly.  Splenda instead of sugar; skim milk instead of whole milk; no topping.  For some reason, they turned greenish (blue berries and yellow batter), but they turned out fine.  I think the color must be the difference between Splenda and sugar.  I had a bit of left over batter, so I made a couple of mini-muffins with it.  Then I went to Wal-Mart and got a jumbo muffin tin for a third batch.  This one was mine.  It’s not the less unhealthy kind either.

I wonder how long it will be before my little blueberry bushes start producing berries so I can put my own fruit in the muffins.

Coming soon:  Brandon’s payment of Pina Colada Cake.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

