Why I Love my Farm

22 Jun

Today was quite warm.  I push mowed the yard while the heat index was 98 degrees.  The humidity was 68 and the dew point was 73.  Basically, it was tropical.  After finishing the yard, I decided to take a break and take some pictures.  I decided to switch lenses on my camera.  I got my old lens out.  I purchased it many years ago for my last film camera.  I love this lens.  It is a Quantaray 28 – 200 zoom lens.  It works with my digital camera, but it doesn’t autofocus.  That makes it hard to use when I need a hand available or it is dark or pure black or white animals or when my subject is moving rapidly (i.e. kids). I absolutely  love the clarity of picture I get with the lens.    Here are some of the pictures I took while playing today.

Bob was taking a nap in the flower bed.  He doesn’t pose for me very often, but when he does, it is just adorable.

The coreopsis are blooming.  I just love the dainty flowers they have.

Millie’s daughter Bambi has quite the ears.

The barn swallow was not too happy about me taking pictures, but she did sit for me.

The mallow is one of my favorite flowers.  I’m glad they self-seed so easily.  It makes them very good for someone who doesn’t want to spend a lot of time on the flower beds.

Rooster Boy was naughty today.  I didn’t dare turn my back on him.

You know it’s hot when neither Stella nor the toad want to leave their spot under the deck.

The apples are really starting to get big now.  I can hardly wait for them to be ripe this fall.

How can tomato plants smell so bad and have such pretty little flowers?

The first coneflower of the year is open.  This was fun.  I might just have to take some time tomorrow to enjoy my surroundings again.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

