Parasites

12 Jun

I hate the constant battle to fight parasites in my animals.  Fleas and tics aren’t too bad.  I just use Frontline Plus on the dogs and Advantage for the cats.  They work.  The bovine get poured with Ivermectin products.  The cats’ internal parasites are a bit more difficult.  Usually, I give a pill to Snickers, but he isn’t very nice about it.  Leo has had a shot before because he has thirty claws on each of his ten front feet.  Magic has issues and doesn’t do pills or liquids very well.  The dogs can be tough too because Stella is so good at picking the pills out of the cheese or hot dog.  The worst was the goats.

I had never done a mass worming of my goats, and I had no problems.  Then I bought my little Boer girls:  Scarlet, Grace and Annie.  I wormed them before they came off the truck.  I kept them isolated from the rest of the herd.  I was really good at doing best practice.  Unfortunately, the worms they had were drug resistant.  I hadn’t really heard to much about the issue of drug resistant parasites until I had goats that were so horribly sick the vet didn’t think they would live.

Their solution was injecting Ivomec and giving Vitamin B.  I did that.  I also gave them Pepto Bismol, probiotics, and goat serum.  I also ordered herbal wormer from Hoegger Goat Supply.  I gave it to all my goats immediately, and the results were dramatic.  Oh, I didn’t give it to Bam Bam, the kid who was so sick because I was afraid of what it would do to his system.  He did get better and then he got worse and then it was a little better and then a lot worse.  The vets suggested I try switching to another drug.  His poor system couldn’t take anymore.  Finally, I gave him the herbal wormer just because he was going to die anyhow, and I had nothing to lose.  He immediately began recovering.  He finally grew to be a big, strong billy goat.

Now I use the herbal wormer for my Magic kitty.  I use it for the dogs, and I use it for the goats.  It’s so easy.  I just sprinkle it on the goat’s grain once each week.  Of course, I have enough that I separate them into various areas so they all can get their fair share.  It’s the same for the cat and dogs, but I mix it in.  This is everything I need.

Because they are both big dogs, I put one teaspoon in the bowl for each dog.

I just divide the contents of one can between the two pans.

Then I chop it up and make sure the wormer is all mixed in.

Look at those eyes!  He just loves to be wormed.

Stella is more of a lady, so she waits until I leave before she digs in.

Mushu just digs right in.

They really enjoy it.

I am so glad I discovered herbal wormer.  It is safe and effective.  I love that I can use it on goats that I want to milk and I don’t have to worry about dumping milk.

5 Responses to “Parasites”

  1. miko December 1, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    Excellent Dewormer and I am going to do it to my goats.
    Try Vitamin E oil and Omega Oil – shiny coat 🙂

    • Teresa December 1, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

      The herbal wormer is great for a few goats. Just make sure that everyone is getting their dose and be careful if they aren’t feeling well. Then you might have to give a chemical wormer. It’s been really good for me.

  2. Anonymous February 20, 2014 at 9:31 am #

    What is the wormer you are using?

    • Teresa February 20, 2014 at 10:17 am #

      I have to say you should start HERE and go through the three part series, as I’ve learned a lot in the last couple of years. It will talk about a lot of worming options.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Just Some Thoughts « Eden Hills's Blog - August 9, 2010

    […] bodies can’t take the abuse and strain and they die.  I’m making a paste out of the herbal wormer and starting her on […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

