Strawberries

11 Jun

I have been picking a lot of strawberries.  The other day, I picked almost two ice cream buckets full.

I’ve got tons of things to do with them.  One of my favorites for strawberries is making jam.  I’ve always made just plain old strawberry jam, but this year I also decided to make strawberry rhubarb jam.  I was pretty happy with how it turned out.  These will be for sale as part of the on-farm market.  Maybe making the jams will be a future post.

I also want to use some of them to try making more wine over the winter.  Because I don’t have the time to make the wine now, I’m freezing them for now.  I like to start by placing them on a tray to freeze.

I much prefer they aren’t just thrown in the bag to become a solid mass of strawberry.  My son likes it because he can just grab a couple for a snack.  Pretty healthy snack, I believe.

After they are frozen, I just throw them in Ziploc bags.  So far, I have eight quart bags frozen like this.

Because I have so much going on right now, I don’t have time to make any more jams.  I decided to freeze some of the berries pre-measured and already smashed.  Hopefully, it works well.  If not, I’ll already have strawberries smashed to put on top of shortcake or sponge cake or a nice white cake.  Of course, I have to save a few from each batch to simply eat fresh.

With all the strawberries I’m picking and cleaning, it’s important to make sure that the berries are of the highest quality.  I have a system in place for assuring quality.

Today is Meg’s turn as the quality control worker.  Obviously, this berry passes the test.

Why is it that the more quality control we do, the fewer berries we have to use?  Um, Meg might have to be fired.  She’s a bit too enthusiastic.  I almost lost a thumb.

I also end up with a lot of stems and little bits of strawberries.  What am I going to do with this stuff?

I have another group that helps with waste disposal.

There is one red hen that jumps up and tries eating from the bottom of the bowl before I can get it dumped out for them.  They really love this treat.  The peafowl also enjoy the little bits of strawberry.

What’s your favorite way to treat yourself to some strawberry delight?

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

