Scarlet’s Babies

7 Jun

I called home from work to check in with Mom and see if anything was going on with the goats.  Nothing.  She was going to check again in a couple of hours, so I called back about that time.  She couldn’t find Mabel’s little girl, Flower (she was there and fine).  I was still on the phone when she walked in to check on Scarlet where I had penned her.  I heard a weird noise that was a cry of surprise.  She went from mostly standing and some light contractions to having all the babies out, cleaned mostly off, and trying to nurse.  The other surprise was the number.  She had triplets.

They are nicely matched in size, and they are not small.  All are very solid, demonstrating their mostly Boer genetics.  By the time I got home, they had all nursed and had full tummies.  Here they are, one at a time.

He is an adorable one.  I love the solid black face going down one leg. The whole side is black, like he’s wearing a shirt with one long sleeve.  He also has a black tail and tush.  I’m pretty sure he is going to have horns.

This one is a girl.  Her head is solid red, no white on the other side either.  She is very active.  I’m pretty sure she is polled.

Finally, this one is another girl.  Her head is solid black, but it doesn’t go past her neck.  She does have a little black patch on her back too.  I can’t decide whether or not she is horned or polled.  This one is a lively girl.  She’s already trying to bounce around.

This is Scarlet’s first time having triplets.  She’s had two sets of twins before.  She is a good mom, and doesn’t seem to get run down, so I think she’ll even be able to raise all three.  This means one down, six to go yet this week.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

