Dynamite Chocolate Cake

5 Jun

Holly from Easy Living the Hard Way said she didn’t have a good recipe for chocolate cake.  That amazed me because she has shared so many wonderful recipes.  It also reminded me of the recipe I use.  I’ve had it for many years, and I got it from a magazine called Dynamite.  If you were a fan of book orders in the late 70s and 80s, you may remember the magazine, published by Scholastic.  I don’t remember which issue it came from, but I still enjoy the recipe.  It’s quick, easy, and delicious.

Mix:

1 and 3/4 cup flour

1/3 cup cocoa

1 teaspoon salt

1 and 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 and 1/2 cup sugar

Now add:

1/2 cup shortening

2/3 cup milk

Beat for 2 minutes.

Next add:

1/3 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 eggs

Beat two minutes.

Grease and flour two nine inch cake pans, and pour the batter into them.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  Cool for about 10 minutes and remove from the pan.

Frost one, set the second on top, and then frost it.

Because I do not do the best job of frosting cakes, I like to hide it beneath coconut or chopped nuts.

There you go:  one Dynamite chocolate cake.  I admit, thinking about where I got this recipe has been a great trip back to my teenage years.  Take a look at these Dynamite covers and see if it’s a stroll down memory lane for you.

I’m not sure when this turned into a cooking/cake blog.  Tomorrow I will hopefully have updates on the farm work I’ve been doing.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

