100th Post: Memorial Day

31 May

I was planning on posting about a rhubarb cream cake, but since my 100th post falls on a holiday, it seems better to write about Memorial Day and write about the cake tomorrow.

I don’t have a lot of close family members that have served in the military, but I thought I would pay tribute to some of those that have served.  I looked and looked, but I can’t find my grandfather’s picture in his World War I uniform.  I’ll have to save that for another day.

Walker Smith, my great-uncle in his World War I uniform.

James H. Cowan, my great-great grandfather, served in the Union calvary during the Civil War.

His headstone denotes his rank of Corporeal in the 15th Missouri Calvary.

Peter F. Walker, my great-great-great-great uncle, served in the Civil War for the Union.  He was captured, escaped and later served as a spy.

Carl A. Milleson, my great-grandfather, served in World War I as a soldier from Jasper Co., Iowa.

Thanks to all those past, present, and future that have served our country to ensure and protect our freedoms.  Tomorrow I will post the winner of my 100th post giveaway.  Thanks to all who spread the word and entered the giveaway.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

