Just Another Sunday

30 May

I seem to have forgotten that this is a holiday weekend.  While everyone else is off boating and picnicking, I’m trying to get caught up on the farm.  Of course that will never happen but I’m trying.  I’ve been working on getting the garden planted.  I still have a ways to go, but it’s getting there.  I’ll try to get pictures up when I get everything planted.

I finally hauled the lawn mower back up to the orchard.  I have decided I need a lot bigger water bottle or a shade tree in the middle of the orchard.  It was horribly hot, but it is finally done, for now.

I am trying, dear John the weed commissioner, to leave the corn knife in my Ranger.  I stop every time I am out in the pasture to cut thistles.  I still have a few areas to do.  Again, for the first time because they are constantly growing back.  I’ll be happy when the goats make their way out there to help me keep the thistles cut down.

I decided to move Mabel from her pen in the barn.  That’s where she chose to have her babies, and it is one of the two places I usually lock them in to have babies.  After almost a week, she’s getting a bit stir crazy.  She’s feeling well enough that she wants to go out to pasture.  I’m not letting her out to pasture, but at least I can move her to the “Love Shack” so she and the kids can go outside for some fresh air.  Bud was quite the bouncy little boy when he got outside!  They are truly doing well, filling out, and growing.

I can’t keep up with cutting grass for her to eat.  She has a tub with hay all the time.  Every time I cut grass, she quits the hay and dives into the fresh green stuff.  Just as I was getting ready to make their evening bottle, I noticed this.

Sorry it’s fuzzy, but I didn’t want to disturb them.  I was trying to figure out how I was going to milk her out by myself with nobody but kids to help.  This is my first real hope that she will actually take them and I won’t be their only source of food.  That also means I would be able to do whatever I want with the milk I get once I wean kids.

As soon as school is out, I’m planning on milking Pam and Dolly, and I don’t think that will be a problem.  I might try to milk Meg and Lily.  That would be four nannies to fill my freezer in case of more bottle kids, can milk, make cheese, make yogurt, try some soap, and just drink it.

I noticed the first mallow flower of the season today.

I’m also beginning to think Minnie, my second milking nanny, is not going into retirement.  She was supposed to not get bred this year, but I believe Marley had other ideas.  Hopefully all will go well.  I really need to get my new shelter put up so I can be more certain about girls that retire.

I hope you have a wonderful Memorial Day and weekend.

Time is running out.  Please take a minute to leave a comment on the 100th Post Giveaway to enter the drawing.  There’s just a day left to enter!  This is blog entry #99.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

