Flowers and Buds

27 May

Here is a flower.  It is a beautiful rose from the bush that has been growing on my property for goodness knows how long.  It is a very old-fashioned rose bush.

This is another bud on the rose bush.  I think the bud is almost more beautiful than the fully opened flower.

Here is another Flower and Bud.  The little white girl is Flower.  Her big brother is Bud.  I believe they are both going to be polled.

I’ve given Mabel’s babies their names.  Flower Bud.  I think, just like the roses, they are beautiful.  Sometimes, beautiful things can be found from unexpected places.  This particular rose bush has had a rough time of it since I moved out here.  At first, it grew voraciously and was covered in tons of flowers.  Below, it has been pruned in places by the llama.

I just loved the bush, but my dad threatened it every time he mowed the yard.  One day when he was out there with his chain saw (that makes every tree, bush, and shrub shudder in fear), I consented to let him cut it off.  Oh, he enjoyed seeking revenge for all the scratches on his arms.  When he finished, it was cut to the ground.  Of course, because of the nature of this ancient rose, that was merely a nice pruning.  It grew back and was even more beautiful.  It just wasn’t quite so wild.  Now, it’s had a different pruning.  The goats got out and ate it.

Isn’t it incredible that this sad skeleton bush could produce those beautiful flowers?  This is the worst the goats have ever done to it.  I am amazed at how resilient this plant is.  After losing its leaves, necessary for photosynthesis and living, it somehow can recover.  This bush gives me hope that Mabel, a skeleton of a goat can also recover.  To pet her is like a braille lesson on the caprine spine.

She wasn’t able to eat hardly anything for a week or more before the babies arrived (They aren’t really that skinny.  It was taken just before their bottles.), so her rumen is not working properly.  I don’t think it was working at all for a couple of days.  She’s been getting pro-biotic paste to help remedy that problem.  If you aren’t familiar with a rumen, it’s one chamber of the stomach where food is stored until it is regurgitated as cud to be more thoroughly chewed.  Bacteria that live in the rumen help to break the food down to assist with digestion.  If the rumen isn’t working, the animal will starve to death because they won’t be able to get the nutrients from their food.  Pro-biotics can be given to add the healthy bacteria to their system.  Hopefully it works.  In Mabel’s case, I heard her stomach making noises and I saw her actually chew her cud again tonight.  That’s a good sign.  I’m a big believer in pro-biotics.  They can be given any time, but they are really important when an animal is under stress or taking antibiotics.

I am giving her antibiotics also because she has a history of mastitis.  With her milk only being partially there when the babies were born and them only nursing once or so each day to empty it out, she has a fibrous feel to the udder again.  She has daily shots of Naxcel  for another two days.

Obviously with this whole ordeal, she’s also tired and depressed.  I have her shut in so she isn’t wasting energy.  She has plenty of hay, but this is what she wants.

One of the best things I can do to help Mabel recover, is provide her with lots of green grass to eat.  That means I’m out there with my grass shears to trim around trees, fences, and anywhere else I’ve neglected to mow.  Luckily for Mabel, I have an almost unlimited supply.

Minnie seems to be a bit jealous.  That might be because she’s spoiled.  Mabel doesn’t even notice because she’s too busy eating.  When she regains her health, Mabel will retire.  I can’t promise the poor rose bush it won’t be eaten again.

Please take a minute to leave a comment on the 100th Post Giveaway to enter the drawing.  There’s just a few days left to enter!  This is blog entry #96.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

