Watering

26 May

I went up to check on the orchard on Sunday, and it was really quite dry.  I decided to load up the buckets and water things.  This is another great job for the Ranger.

I used the old cat litter buckets and filled them with water.  They have the wonderful lids to keep the water from splashing all over.  They made the ride quite well.  Considering the steep hills, I was impressed.

We have some mixed success up in the orchard.  All of the blackberries and five of the six blueberries are looking great.  The one blueberry really never even looked alive.  Yes, I do still need to mow again terribly.

All twelve raspberries are doing great.  I’d like to add another dozen.  Basically, I love all things raspberry:  yogurt, pie, applesauce.  They are one of my favorites.

The grapes are not faring so well.  I knew the frost had touched the leaves a couple weeks ago, but the ones that hadn’t gotten any farther than having buds on them seem to have all died.  I would not have guessed them to be the ones most damaged from the cold.  All the Concord grapes are doing great.

I’m not sure one of the little apple trees is going to make it.  The last apple tree I planted is doing great.  I’m afraid I’m going to have to use some straps to get it growing straight.  I was kind of mudding it in quickly before another storm hit.  It’s a bit crooked.

It is getting a lot of leaves, and it has tons of blossoms.  I’m not so sure it needs to try making apples this year, but it is beautiful.

I’m certainly glad I have the Ranger.  I’m not sure I’d have been able to haul all those buckets without spilling them in anything else.

We’ve had another rain since this picture was taken, and it was even more fun to drive through.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

