Wineing

10 May

My nephews, all three since Chris is back from Ball State for the summer, came out to rack and bottle wine.  I must say, truckwreck grapes do not work well for wine.  Truckwreck is not a variety of grapes, but more a statement of how we acquired the grapes.  There was a semi in an accident about thirty miles from where we live.  I don’t know exactly how, but my dad ended up with about thirty pounds of grapes and told us we could use them to make wine.  We did.  I know all the books I read did not recommend using grapes from a store because they are picked before they are ripe and don’t have the sugar needed to make a good wine.  Well, they didn’t come from a store.  They came from a ditch in the highway.  We thought we’d try it.  We did just one plain batch of truckwreck grape.  We added strawberries to some.  We added raspberries to another batch.  I thought the added fruit might increase the sugar and flavor of the wine.  Well, tonight we racked (transferred from one container to another) the raspberry grape.  It kind of tastes like cough syrup.  I’m not sure there is much I can do to improve the flavor.  Maybe we should turn it into vinegar.  At least then I can add herbs to enhance the flavor.  I do know one thing:  we will never use truckwreck grapes to make wine ever again.

One Response to “Wineing”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Truckwreck Grape-Raspberry Wine « Eden Hills's Blog - October 11, 2010

    […] bottled the last of the wine last night.  Two different varieties of truckwreck grape and raspberry wine.  The first variety was more of a table wine.  It’s not bad.  The […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

