Birds of a Feather

3 May

Maxine’s baby bull was not the only addition to the family on Sunday.  We gained birds also.  This was a hard winter on my birds.  I lost several chickens, and the most devastating loss was my pure white peacock.

He was always so beautiful when he would show his tail and dance for the girls.  He was so hard to photograph with all the shadows against his huge tail.

He truly was a sight to see.  With his death, I had no males and six females.  My neighbor down the road also has peafowl (where two of my hens came from), and he had a young male that his mature rooster was starting to chase and pick on.  Finally, he managed to corner him, and now he is happily settling in to life as the only guy with six girls.  He is still considered a juvenile, but his tail should be fully grown by next year.

We also had the first goose hatch babies.  She looks like she should take them on Sesame Street to see if we can pick out which one does not belong.

There are six total–one Chinese and five African.  They are adorable, but they have the world’s worst parents.

If anyone is in central Iowa and wants geese, let me know before they manage to lose them all.  Or wait until the next goose hatches babies in about another week.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

